We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Driving Your Sports Car? Stay Here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avenue Inn & Spa
Save
You added Avenue Inn & Spa to your Saves list
33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
“Driving Your Sports Car? Stay Here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Probably the best place to stay in Rehoboth. Central to everything with an accomodating staff and some great amenities that keep us coming back. Comforting, secure parking for our sports car in a nice, underground, brightly lit garage. As automotive enthusiasts, this was important to us. Surely others will agree. Breakfast in the morning, wine and cheese in the early evening, then chocolate chip cookies later on. All complimentary. The lobby area is beautiful, the trim, floor, wall colors and furniture are all in nice muted tones that condone relaxation. We loved the lounge area off the elevators to just chill out and spend some time talking or browsing the internet on our iPads. They even have a cool little outdoor area off the lounge with comfy furniture and a propane fire pit.The room was spotless and well appointed. Nice balcony with 2 rocking chairs and a little table.
Okay, so the bad? Really wasn't any. Our room was strangely devoid of hooks to hang your towels after a shower and the HVAC was a little weird to get regulated, but we are sure those are isolated things. It did take them a little while to get our room tidied up. Not the fault of the maid staff. We suspect they might be a little understaffed since it was the off season. However, it wasn't until after 3pm that our room was finally done. The room was absolutely impeccably clean though when finished. Kudos to the maid staff for such excellent work. This might have something to do with the late time, I.e., they do such a thorough job.
Overall, this hotel is obviously run by people who put quite a bit of thought into their guest's stay. We will try to be back every year for sure. Stay here. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momof2Pittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My friends and I have been staying at the Avenue Inn during our annual three-day shopping spree at the outlets in Rehoboth Beach every November for the past several years. What a wonderful treat after staying at those motels on the highway! Hard to say which is best: the wine and cheese after a hard day of shopping, the fresh baked cookies and a cup of tea later in the evening, the indoor pool and hot tub, the excellent location just a few minutes from the stores and one block from the boardwalk (even in November it's a great place for a walk). And the staff is always warm and ready to help.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies; some have two rooms, with two queen beds in one and a pull-out sofa in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My family and I have been staying at the Avenue in for about 15 years. It has been our first choice for stays at Rehoboth Beach and amazingly it keeps getting better. There are just so many good things to say so I will try and list them,
1. It is immaculately clean.
2. The service is great. Everyone is accommodating and friendly.
3. Location, location, location. One block from the beach and in the center of town.
4. Wine and cheese at 5, chocolate chip cookies at 8. Yum.
5. A beautiful and unique stainless steel pool that is indoors and heated. Outdoor hot tub too!
6. Below ground parking garage.
7. 24 hour fitness club.
8. Beautiful, comfortable lobby . So inviting to gather or to just read your book or newspaper.
9. A very nice complimentary breakfast each morning with more than the usual bagels and cereal. Hot coffee and tea available all day,
10. Nice size rooms with comfortable beds. There has always been a sofa area in my choice of rooms which makes being in the room very homey.

I said that it keeps getting better and that is because a large renovation to the lobby and dining room was just completed. A bar was added too.
A nice newer feature is the golf cart transportation to the beach. They deliver and also pick you up..and provide beach chairs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenAllentown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have enjoyed the Avenue Inn and Spa for years. The wine and cheese hour is a relaxing time to wind down from the day, although they used to offer a 2-hour wine/cheese time. Cookies are great at 8 PM. The breakfast is always good and varied. Something for everyone, even kids. Jim has always been helpful; like letting us use the party room for a birthday celebration while we were there.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool on the third floor tend to be noisier, but with a family, it didn't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroltheteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at the Avenue Inn and Spa for the last 15 yrs. for the Sea Witch in October. There is absolutely no where else you want to stay. The renovations @ the Avenue are fantastic but they also kept some of their more quaint sun rooms as well. The feeling you get when you arrive is-YOU ARE IMPORTANT! The staff @ the Avenue are courteous and professional-Jim, the manager, is very personable and makes you feel comfortable right from the start. His right hand girl-Mary Lou is an angel and goes beyond to make your stay an enjoyable one. Lisa Marks, is the lady in charge of your hot delicious breakfast. If you are lucky, you will have a taste of her warm biscuits and sausage gravy. Her egg casserole is light enough to float.
You will not be disappointed or hungry after this breakfast. Amenities galore-complimentary wine and chess, hot chocolate cookies later in the evening, plus a beautiful indoor pool with outdoor hot tub.
The Avenue Inn and Spa is centrally located in Rehoboth to the best seafood restaurants and sports bars. The rooms facing the ocean on Rehoboth Ave. offer the best view of the ocean and very busy yearly events. This Inn has been awarded the 2013 Trip Advisor Award of the Year. Life is short so enjoy this beautiful Inn and all it has to offer. You have tried the rest, now stay @ the Best!!!

Room Tip: King room with a balcony facing Rehoboth Avenue is what you want to ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greinerca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Avenue II during SeaWitch Weekend. I actually thought I booked at the Atlantis (like we had in the past which is 1/2 block away) but learned when we arrived that we booked Ave II instead. The first floor and reception area of the Avenue part of the hotel was recently done and beautiful. The wine and cheese reception (for which we could still partake) was a nice gesture, however, it was awkward since they just put out a bowl of potted cheese with no utensil or plate to put it on to dip the crackers into it (after you open the crackers). The breakfast was awesome - love the egg bakes and all the goodies, as well as quality teas and coffees, fruit, etc. The downside to being at the Avenue II was that it is right next door to the Purple Parrot (loud, noisy) bar! So it wasn't conducive for restful sleep. The beds were supposed to be queen size but there is no way they were bigger than a double bed and a little uncomfortable. The room was large, the bathrooms really clean. Had a small microwave and frig - which was convenient. Was right on the main drag so no need to drive anywhere once you were there.

Room Tip: I would ask for room on the side opposite the Purple Parrot and not ground level. Better yet, stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

As first time guests we found the Inn to be a perfect getaway retreat in the off- season! We had a King Suite on the Avenue side of the building (best to request that side of the Inn) and although the bathroom was a bit small the main room was large, decorated nicely and clean!

The hotel staff was extremely accommodating and the location of the Inn on the main street provides easy access to shopping, dining and the beach.

A special shout out to Lew, the shuttle driver, who was so much fun! Playing the oldies while shuttling guests (their chairs and beach bags) back and forth to the beach was a wonderful guest service.

Although I spent most of my summers in Avalon, I am now a Rehoboth Beach convert. The restaurants are excellent and with so many choices we must return. And we will be staying at the Avenue Inn!

Room Tip: Request a room on the Avenue side and in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HalliePhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#16 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#7 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#15 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Rehoboth Beach
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marrio...
#10 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Address: 33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing