We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible guest relations!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avenue Inn & Spa
33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrible guest relations!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We check into the Jr jacuzzi room for what was supposed to be a 3 day getaway. The inn and room appeared to be nice except the bathroom which was extremely small.
After adjusting the air conditioning we began to unpack. We noted that the air conditioning was not working. The compressor was not turning on.
Here is where our horror began. We called maintenance,
and the supervisor told us that the air conditioning was working properly, that we were not patient and just wanted something for nothing.
The room temperature was 89.
Then a real maintenance worker Came and tested the unit.he determined that the unit was broke, they replace the entire unit with a new one.
We left the room for 3 hours to have it cool.( it was raining heavy and we were walking around because the room was intolerable)
When be returned the temperature was still 89.
we spoke to the manager Jim, who said we were doing nothing but complaining. He threatened to throw Us out of the hotel.
He rambled on the phone for 30 minutes till he agreed to send maintenance back. All this time without ever coming to the room.
When maintenance finally arrived they also determined that this new unit was not working either.
Jim finally apologized and agreed to put us up in another room. now we are re packing and moving to the new room.we finally got situated at 10 p.m.
exhausted, we decided to call it a night. The next morning we receive a message from Jim saying Old room was ready. We must move again. Obviously,this was not what we anticipated. We were ready to go to the beach. Now we have to move again.I requested he leave us where we were but he refused saying that the room was rented.
With with this news I decided to leave the hotel.. Gathered my belongings and went to the front desk. Jim adjusted my bill $00, but no further apologies nor consideration for what we've been through. Customer relations for this hotel Are in need of new staffing. They were horrible and we are not in good health. We are not teens trying to mess with the hotel or get something for free. just A couple in our golden years trying to enjoy a few days away on the beach.
I fully understand thaT units can break but accommodate your guests not torture them...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
This is not the first review that we have received that is meant to smear our excellent reputation and unfortunately it won't likely be the last. We have nearly 2,000 reviews between our four hotels, three are ranked #1 in their market and now the Avenue is knocked down to #2 due to this malicious review. Our staff works hard to be the #1 hotel in town. They take a great deal of pride in the product they deliver to our guest to achieve that goal. You don't get to be the best by treating guests the way this review suggests. I believe most people will read this review and recognize that this is not a true representation of what we deliver at the Avenue. The overwhelmingly positive reviews are a much clearer representation of the experience we deliver. A couple of items from this review that are important to make known. First, we will be more than happy to never have this type of guest stay with us again. Using foul language and cursing at my staff is not acceptable to me, no revenue is worth that to me. My staff works way too hard to put up with abuse from a guest especially when we are trying to rectify a problem. Second, you can not run your air conditioner in August at the beach (high humidity) with both the balcony door and room door open and expect it to cool your room. Third, it was clearly explained that the room move was for one night. Lastly, this guest was refunded every dollar of their stay and an apology was offered but not accepted by the guest. When you have been in the business as long as we have you want this type of guest to go away and never come back and giving them a full refund, even though we accommodated in a way any normal guest would feel completely satisfied, it is the beast way to handle the situation. Sometimes no matter how hard you try to make things right when things go wrong you just can’t satisfy certain people. Luckily the mass majority of the people that choose to stay with us are happy people when they arrive and when they leave.
Alex Moore
President
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    670
    169
    38
    8
    9
See reviews for
285
328
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have stayed at other hotels and rentals and this is the best hotel experience we have had so far in Rehobeth. The newly renovated Inn is definitely charming. The rooms were roomy except I wished we had a balcony in the deluxe queen suite. The kids really enjoyed the rides on the golf cart with Lou(?). He was very friendly and pleasant with his guests. It was not too far from the beach and near Funland for the kids. Our favorite restaruants and shops were nearby. My daughter asked before we left if we can return here next year. We will definitely stay here again and bring our extended families.

Room Tip: We stayed one night on the 3rd floor and is near the pool which is nice if you have kids. The deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review the hotel. Your time in placing the review and your business are sincerely appreciated. We hope you will abide by your daughters wishes and return again. :)
Cheers,
Alex Moore
president
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Great location, walking distance to the main strip and restaurants. The little extras like cookies, wine and cheese, breakfast, beach chairs and towels make the higher prices seem worthwhile. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Rooms are spacious. Will come again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for the review, your thoughts on your stay with us are greatly appreciated. We know we are not the least expensive hotel option in town but we do know we deliver the most to our guest for no additional fees. Thank you for choosing the Avenue, we hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Avenue II location at the Avenue Inn & Spa. I had previously stayed in the main hotel before the renovations and it was great. We went with the Avenue II this time since it was cheaper during peak season and is in a great location. The Avenue II is just steps away from the main property and you are able to use all the same amenities as you would at the main property. We were given real actual keys instead of key cards, which was a bit of a time warp, but was fine. The rooms all have cute rocking chairs outside so you can sit and enjoy the weather. The room was clean and comfortable. The location can't be beat and is right next door to the Purple Parrot. Parking is right on site next to the building. We had no issues and had a wonderful stay. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Avenue II and that you recognize the less expensive option we offer can deliver a great experience as well. I sincerely appreciate your continued business and for taking the time to review the hotel. We will look forward to showing off the improvements we will be making to the Avenue II for next season when you visit again.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Avenue Inn on 10 occasions (at least 3 nights each time) over the past six years. Jim the General Manager and his staff have it down to a science. The rooms are spacious and great for families. Breakfast is delicious with a wide array of choices for everyone, and the golf cart rides to the beach (with hotel beach chairs on board ) are an added bonus. The pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna are all great amenities, and kids and adults will love Funland just a block away. Always a relaxing, stress-free vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Avenue Inn was like a country cottage with all the extras. Warm, comfortable lobby, home made breakfast, cheese and wine, home made warm chocolate chip cookies daily. All the personal touches that made this Inn feel like a B&B but wasn't. Also provided wonderful bath products and a very nice courtesy shower facility to use after enjoying the beach on check out day!
In addition, my daughter left several items behind, some with sentimental value. The folks at Avenue Inn took the time to find all 3 items and ship to my home. Not sure you can get that kind of attention at a commercial hotel. Much appreciated!!

Room Tip: choose balcony if able
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerdale, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have been staying here for a few years now and every year it's quite enjoyable. The wine and cheese hour is always such a nice touch after being on the beach all day. The Inn was remodeled this year and it looks great; the breakfast area is much more spaceous. The only issue is the parking as there is not always enough space in the underground area and you may have to park on their lot on the street.

Room Tip: The King Rooms with balcony overlook Rehoboth Avenue. I would suggest the 2nd floor if you need to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach
Address: 33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Avenue Inn & Spa to your Saves list