We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, and maybe even worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avenue Inn & Spa
Save Saved
You added Avenue Inn & Spa to your Saves list
33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Hockessin, Delaware
2 reviews
“Expensive, and maybe even worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Avenue Inn might be the best hotel I've ever stayed in, and I've been in quite a few. The hotel is spotless, the employees are friendly and ready to serve, the "freebies" are a nice touch and the hotel is a block and a half from the beach. Of the freebies, there is a decent Continental breakfast in the morning, coffee and tea available all day and wine and cheese (spread) for happy hour. There are also beach towels, beach chairs and even transportation to and from the beach.
The only problem I have is the expense. My room had two queen beds and a sofa sitting area and cost $347 a night. One nice thing about the high price is that you know your fellow hotel mates are the right sort of people. ;)
The pool is on the second floor so avoid that unless you enjoy children running through the halls and a pervasive chlorine smell.
I did enjoy my stay; I've been there three times and I'm sure I'll go again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good but most are L-shaped. There is considerable light pollution around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    804
    191
    42
    9
    10
See reviews for
354
369
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mahopac
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed at Avenue Inn last year, was wonderful! Stayed at Avenue II this year and although very nice not Avenue Inn, especially after the wonderful renovations. WOW very impressive!!! The difference is very well disclosed by management, no tricks or slight of hand here. Was nice, clean and well maintained, although room faced parking lot with dumpster, hoping for better views next time.

Room Tip: If in Avenue Inn II ask for Rehoboth side of hotel. Avenue Inn WONDERFUL
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We usually stay at a condo but did five relaxing days at the Avenue Inn. The renovations are beautiful. We noticed many more small children this year who can be very noisy, especially at breakfast. The Inn does offer an adult room across the hall, but a bit inconvenient to the coffee and food.
The luxury king had two rooms with the living room near the balcony. The air conditioner was on that side of the space and made the inner bedroom kind of stuffy while the pull out couch area was cold.
The staff at the Inn are all gracious and kind and helpful. I like the new lounge that allows one to buy a decent glass of wine to share during the happy hour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were able to enjoy a four day get away and the Avenue Inn exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly and could not have been more accommodating. The rooms in the Avenue II were more than large enough for our family of 4, as well as spotless. Our one maintenance issue was handled quickly and efficiently. The hotel is convenient to both the beach and boardwalk, as well as the finer dining establishments in Rehoboth. I would recommend this hotel to friends, as well as book here again.

Room Tip: We were randomly a room overlooking the main street in the Avenue II. We loved people watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, great location, and excellent service! We booked a King room with balcony and loved it. The balcony overlooks Rehobeth Avenue and is a short walk to the beach (a block). They provide chairs and towels as well as transport via golf cart to the beach. Breakfast is yummy! The wine and cheese at 5:00 and the chocolate chip cookies at 8:00 are a nice touch!

Room Tip: We've only stayed in the King rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor. We found both to be pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikesville, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I have tried several hotels in the Rehoboth Beach area but find that the Avenue Inn is our favorite spot. We have now stayed here for many years and always request our favorite room (luxury jacuzzi suite). The staff is outstanding and the recently renovated lobby is perfect. The service and accommodations are consistently excellent and the amenities (wine/cheese, cookies, shuttle to the beach, etc) are extra added touches.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times in August. We have tried other hotels closer to the boardwalk and always end up regretting that we didn't just stay stay at Avenue Inn. The golf cart shuttle makes the few extra blocks walk to the beach less of
an issue anyway. Even if the golf cart is full, you can leave your heavy chairs for Lew to take back to the hotel (let him know). We love the homemade breakfast and the little perks like wine and cheese at 5 and cookies at 8. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Address: 33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.