We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Great Place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Avenue Inn & Spa
Save Saved
You added Avenue Inn & Spa to your Saves list
33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Location and Great Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The desk personnel as well as all of their employees are very helpful and courteous. Hotel hosts a wine and cheese nightly for guests sitting around a fireplace which makes for meeting new people. Rooms, hotel common areas, exterior are all well maintained and kept spotless. We have been going here for years now and feel this is the place to be. Beach block from boardwalk and restaurants all within walking distance. Park the car and don't have to travel to get a bite to eat or enjoy a cocktail somewhere close.

Room Tip: King balcony over looking main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    197
    46
    9
    10
See reviews for
373
381
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here in the middle of January, so being on the beach wasn't an issue. The place is in the midst of a major renovation so finding the entrance, as well as the lobby, was a bit of a challenge. But once that was settled the service at the desk was friendly and professional. The suite we had was wonderful and included all the standard amenities, including off street parking - and a large sitting room with a fireplace. The bed was comfortable and clean and the room was generally very quiet, so long as you kept the window closed! Due to the constructions, they gave us vouchers for breakfast across the street at Sammy's. Sammy's was not impressive.
Easy walk to all the great restaurants Rehoboth has to offer, as well as to the boardwalk. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Avenue Inn is our off-season beach getaway. We love the well-appointed rooms with nice comfy funiture, a good size fridge, and the balcony over-looking the main street. They have good toiletries including make-up removal wipes for us ladies and lots of beautiful mirror options in our room (we counted 5). We're also big fans of the heated pool and sauna. And we love that you can grab a cup of coffee in the morning for your dip in the pool or walk along the beach. We're also big fans of the wine & cheese at 5 and warm cookies at 8. One thing we would ask is that they lose the big bulky comforters that seem a bit dated against the rest of the furnishings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed at almost every hotel in Rehoboth Beach and this is certainly in the top three. My only complaint is I found the front desk personnel to be a bit rude and had an attitude of dont bother me. One person in particular... The others were exceptional. It was a bit of a turn off when checking in. But the rest of the stay was exceptional. Great amenities, housekeeping and location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have stayed at many places in Rehoboth and Avenue, while it is a little pricey, is a great place to stay. They have parking available with the rooms and you can walk to everything near Rehoboth Ave. I wish they had a frequent customer program or something. I would probably come more!

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms are nice. The fireplaces are a very nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrettsville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Although a bit costly, it is worth the value received. The wine, cheese, cookies and breakfast is just "tops" with us. The heated pool & hot tub are a real plus.

Other guests and hotel staff were all friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, NJ
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

In town for a local event this past October, we chose this place as first-time visitors to Rehoboth based on its location right in the center of town and its generally favorable reviews here on TA.

WHAT WAS GOOD: Exit the hotel on one side and you’re in the center of the village. On the other side is a quiet side street. The location here is excellent. You’re always just a short walk to everything including the boardwalk….Parking is in an on-site garage beneath the building. The elevator from the garage accesses each floor….There’s an indoor pool and a Jacuzzi in the adjacent outdoor space that forms a sundeck….From what I could tell rooms are individually furnished and contain several unique touches. This gives the place a little bit of a B&B feel and is a nice change from the cookie cutter hotel thing.

WHAT COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER: Breakfast featured a tasteless egg soufflé and heavy sweet baked French toast batter concoction. We thought both were really bad. Thankfully, there was also an assortment of some very ordinary bagels, breads and cereals….Maybe it was just timing on my part but it seemed like every time I walked past the front desk there was some type of conflict between management and guests. Not sure what the issues were but clearly something was off key here. We managed to avoid controversy but in our interactions found front desk personnel to be only mildly interested.

THINGS TO KNOW: Parking is included with the room rate….There’s an unlimited selection of dining, drinking and retail establishments within an easy walk. BTW, Henlopen City Oyster Company, a few steps from the hotel, is outstanding.

BOTTOM LINE: As other reviewers have noted the price tag is here is fairly hefty and this appears to be among the more expensive choices in Rehoboth. The location is great though and it’s clearly a step above the cramped Sixties-style properties that are common throughout Rehoboth. Definitely a reasonable choice but not particularly high on the value scale.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Address: 33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;