We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avenue Inn & Spa
Save
You added Avenue Inn & Spa to your Saves list
33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
1 review
“Great Stay....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed at almost every hotel in Rehoboth Beach and this is certainly in the top three. My only complaint is I found the front desk personnel to be a bit rude and had an attitude of dont bother me. One person in particular... The others were exceptional. It was a bit of a turn off when checking in. But the rest of the stay was exceptional. Great amenities, housekeeping and location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    232
    48
    10
    10
See reviews for
424
456
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have stayed at many places in Rehoboth and Avenue, while it is a little pricey, is a great place to stay. They have parking available with the rooms and you can walk to everything near Rehoboth Ave. I wish they had a frequent customer program or something. I would probably come more!

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms are nice. The fireplaces are a very nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrettsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Although a bit costly, it is worth the value received. The wine, cheese, cookies and breakfast is just "tops" with us. The heated pool & hot tub are a real plus.

Other guests and hotel staff were all friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, NJ
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

In town for a local event this past October, we chose this place as first-time visitors to Rehoboth based on its location right in the center of town and its generally favorable reviews here on TA.

WHAT WAS GOOD: Exit the hotel on one side and you’re in the center of the village. On the other side is a quiet side street. The location here is excellent. You’re always just a short walk to everything including the boardwalk….Parking is in an on-site garage beneath the building. The elevator from the garage accesses each floor….There’s an indoor pool and a Jacuzzi in the adjacent outdoor space that forms a sundeck….From what I could tell rooms are individually furnished and contain several unique touches. This gives the place a little bit of a B&B feel and is a nice change from the cookie cutter hotel thing.

WHAT COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER: Breakfast featured a tasteless egg soufflé and heavy sweet baked French toast batter concoction. We thought both were really bad. Thankfully, there was also an assortment of some very ordinary bagels, breads and cereals….Maybe it was just timing on my part but it seemed like every time I walked past the front desk there was some type of conflict between management and guests. Not sure what the issues were but clearly something was off key here. We managed to avoid controversy but in our interactions found front desk personnel to be only mildly interested.

THINGS TO KNOW: Parking is included with the room rate….There’s an unlimited selection of dining, drinking and retail establishments within an easy walk. BTW, Henlopen City Oyster Company, a few steps from the hotel, is outstanding.

BOTTOM LINE: As other reviewers have noted the price tag is here is fairly hefty and this appears to be among the more expensive choices in Rehoboth. The location is great though and it’s clearly a step above the cramped Sixties-style properties that are common throughout Rehoboth. Definitely a reasonable choice but not particularly high on the value scale.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

In the middle of everything plus great amenities! The staff was very helpful and the room was very clean. Will definitely be staying here again! The only thing I would like to improve was the wifi...the service was very slow and kind of spotty. This isn't a huge issue because I was not there to surf the internet...I just use it to find the next place to go!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I visit the shore every year between Christmas and New Year's Eve. For the past 5 years, we have been staying at the Avenue Inn. We are never disappointed - it is the friendliest place in town! The staff is very welcoming, and we schedule our day around a full, hot breakfast, wine and cheese at 5, and fresh cookies in the evening. Wonderfully located within walking distance to the beach and great restaurants, this place is great.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Avenue Hotel and Spa the day after Christmas for 2 nights. What a warm and friendly atmosphere. The rooms was lovely and very clean. It is located in the heart of Rehobath Beach so you can walk everywhere. They serve a lovely breakfast each morning, wine and cheese each night and chocolate chips in the evening next to the cozy fireplace. We met many lovely people chatting over glasses of wine in the comfortable lobby. I would highly recommend this stay you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Address: 33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.