We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avenue Inn & Spa
Save
You added Avenue Inn & Spa to your Saves list
33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Glenelg, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great location - a few blocks from the beach and right in in the middle of restaurants, shops, etc. Nice room. Excellent pool/hot tub/ steamroom. Great parking. Reasonable price. Couldnt really ask for more. We will hopefully be returning some time next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you Steve, I am grateful you chose to stay with us and I greatly appreciate your review. We will look forward to having you as our guest again.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    203
    47
    9
    10
See reviews for
385
402
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

First time for my family in Rehoboth, and we had a very enjoyable stay. The hotel is older but is beautifully kept up and in great shape, and is only a short block to the boardwalk and beach. Room was large and very clean. King size bed was extremely comfortable, and sofa sleeper was high quality for a pull out. The staff is extemely friendly and hospitable, making sure you have everything your party needs. Restaurant recommendations were spot on. The excercise room was small but adequate, and the indoor pool, hot tub, and sauna were all very nice. And the complimentary wine and cheese and then cookies in lobby each evening was a very nice touch. Breakfast was only okay though, and could use more hot item selections. Maybe some kind of a Make-your own waffles station like I've seen in other hotels. Omelettes made in muffin tins were so-so, and also no breakfast meat was served (ie. bacon, sausage, etc), which disappointed my kids.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Avenue. It sounds like only the breakfast was a disappointment so we are working on a fix. I can tell you with our new lobby and breakfast room renovations starting next mnonth that the future will hold some wonderful additions that I am sure your son wil enjoy. I hope you will have the opportunity to come back and see our renovation.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hadn't been back in a very long time so was hoping it would be as nice as it was 5 years ago because our friends from NH were joining us this time. All was well: the same friendly, efficient service, large rooms, comfy beds, very clean and roomy bathrooms, not to mention the convenient location . Our friends were very pleased with everything including the complimentary breakfast . They told us it was the best complimentary breakfast they had ever had. The wine and cheese and the chocolate chip cookies were also much appreciated. Thank you, Jim, for all your help. Thanks to the folks at the check in desk for dinner recommendations and the very nice woman in the breakfast room who went out of her way for us.All four of us really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We've stayed 3 times and all the rooms have been very nice. We especially like the balcony rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
I am so happy we fulfilled your expectatons again and that your friends enjoyed their stay as well. We promise to continue to always deliver a more enjoyable experience than the last so even if it is five years between visits you will always receive excellent service and a great hotel.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Avenue Inn & Spa is a charming place to stay. Conveniently located to everything. Walking distance to the beach, the Shops, the bars and all the restaurants! So ditch the car, let it rest in the parking garage!

I am happy to report that this place is super duper clean! The bed is comfy but the pillows are a bit limp, not fluffy. The bathroom to is clean but way to small. The sink is outside the bathroom with a large mirror. The thrown (toilet) and shower are in a narrow room. You are not getting two people in there! I'm not sure if this is in every room. We stayed in # 301 with the Jacuzzi and Fireplace. We were happy and all smiles.

They do have a nice and free breakfast, it's small but it does the job! Next, is the cheese and wine. Oh how relaxing. The wine is placed in carafes, and a dish of cheese bites and crackers. It's not fancy but I enjoyed it. We sat by the fireplace and sipped our wine and nibbled on the cheese. Then later in the evening are fresh baked cookies. I just want to go back!

We met Mary Lou, Jim and Marguerite and what a lovely staff!

I really am looking forward to my next stay at the Avenue Inn & Spa. They do a wonderful job and made our stay relaxing.

Stacie and John

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to share them on Tripadvisor. I am grateful for your business and will look forward to your next stay with us.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our family just returned from a short stay at the Avenue Inn. After reading the other reviews here, my expectations were on the high side, and Avenue Inn met, and then succeeded them. At check in we were greeted warmly in the welcoming lobby, fireplace blazing.

I had two criteria for a hotel this trip, that it have a comfortable room for relaxing, knowing that we would spend a greater amount of time in the room in fall weather...and we wanted an indoor pool.

Our room was a Deluxe Queen with a fireplace and balcony which over looked Rehoboth Ave. Perfection. Furnishings were in tip top shape, very clean. Not the typical bamboo whitewashed worn out beach furniture. The attention to detail showed down to having the time changed on the clocks for EST, which happened just hours before we checked in. Beds were comfortable with lots of pillows.

We used the indoor pool late afternoon on the second day of our stay and had the place to ourselves. It is a stainless steel pool. I've never seen one before. It was spotlessly clean. A wall of windows looks outside on a small sun deck and the hot tub, which were closed due to the weather. We were able to swim and watch the sunset. A sauna is off the pool area as well, though we did not use it.

Breakfast was served in a room off the lobby. (Good) Coffee, cocoa and tea selections, pastries, cereals, bagels, fruit and at least one egg muffin dish each morning. We saw the evening wine and cheese laid out, though we didn't partake. We were however around to grab a chocolate chip cookie in the evening.

Location is perfect. Staff friendly. We didn't have any specific requests or needs, but I feel confident that the staff here could handle just about anything.

A few small cons were the wifi, which I never could connect to in the room. I didn't necessarily "need" it, so I didn't ask the staff about it. I suspect it is better in the lobby.
Secondly the shower pressure was not strong.
Even though they serve coffee in the breakfast room, I would have loved a small coffee maker in the room. Some of us need coffee, to function to get more coffee...None of these were a deal breaker.

Now that we've found Avenue Inn, I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Rehoboth Beach. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
As the top rated hotel in Rehoboth now for nearly three years straight we recognize our wonderful reviews do indeed set expectations high for our new and past guests alike. We love being on top but our goal is to make every stay with us a truely unique experience that is fulfilling to all of our guests. As a small family owned and operated hotel group we take a great deal of pride in the overall product we deliver to our guests. This wonderful review makes me very proud of our staff and our hotel, thank you.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for girls weekend in November. The hotel is perfectly situated for shopping and going to the beach. The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly. We had six girls in two rooms that were separated by a joint door. The beds were comfortable as were linens and pillows. Plenty of room in the bathrooms. Pull out sofa beds were also comfortable. The free breakfast is very good and the cookies at night and wine and cheese for happy hour are a nice touch. Parking garage is very convenient. I did not get a chance to try out the spa, pool or the rooftop hot tub, but plan to return and try them all!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a wonderful place! For 3 years our church has come to The Avenue for our aunual women's retreat and we could not ask for a better place. The Inn has everything we could ask for the best part being the staff. They are so helpful and accommodating and truly care about the guest and their experience. The Inn is located about 1 block from the beach and is in the heart of the Beach shopping areas. Plenty to do and see.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Address: 33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.