We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time-Loved It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avenue Inn & Spa
Save
You added Avenue Inn & Spa to your Saves list
33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
IRWIN, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First Time-Loved It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Besides all the amenities..pool, hot tub, home made breakfast (fantastic, thanks ladies), the room was well kept. We've been in chain hotels were the chairs/couches were a little worse for the wear, but not here. The couches looked new, and asssuming that they get a lot of business in the summer, this shows a great attention to detail. The staff was exceptionally friendly and attentive. We would definitely stay here for the next Seawitch festival.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    215
    48
    9
    10
See reviews for
396
433
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was going to stay on the boardwalk so we could experience the beach. But the hotel was so expensive and no breakfast. The Avenue was perfect. It is in a great location just one block away from the beach. We were upgraded due to the mid week stay. They did not have to do that. The breakfast was very good. We also enjoyed the wine, crackers and warm cookies at night. We enjoyed the indoor pool and spa on the third floor. The whole place was very clean and friendly. They also have underground parking which is so important. You won't regret staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Rehobeth Ave. are great. We stayed on the third floor and it was quiet. The pool was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great location for close walk to shops, restaurants and beach. Quaint place to stay, little dated, breakfast area much to small, staff was friendly. Over all good experience, will stay there again, enjoyed the Halloween decorations !

Room Tip: don't stay in 313, over top a bar with huge exhaust fans blowing odors into your room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We recently spent the night here in rooms 302 & 303. The rooms were spacious w/nice balconies overlooking Wilmington Ave. At first I was worried that we would have noise from the hall since the pool & spa area was just down the hall from our rooms, but that did not bother us. Other reviews have listed the many marvelous amenities provided by this Inn...so true! The staff was very pleasant, underground parking was a perk, the lobby was all decorated for Halloween, the wine & cheese was fun & the warm cookie after dinner was great. Lots of selections for breakfast, although I didn't care for the egg casserole. The location is terrific...close to the beach & boardwalk, lots of nice shops & restaurants within easy walking distance. Our problem was the noise while trying to sleep. The HVAC units in the rooms LOUDLY cycle on & off all night. And even with the balcony door closed there is a lot of noise from the street late at night & then beginning about 5 AM the garbage & recycle trucks start in! Would I stay here again? Absolutely! But I would bring earplugs or leave on a radio to try to alleviate some of the noise at night.

Room Tip: Although lots of street noise it was nice to have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night on business after having stayed at Boardwalk Plaza on previous visits. Had I not read all the positive reviews here, I would have returned to the Boardwalk Plaza. Furthermore, after staying at so many chain hotels, I really appreciated the feel of a family run hotel. You sensed a bit more passion in everything they do. By staying mid-week, I benefited from a cheap rate for a 2 Queen Balcony room overlooking Wilmington Ave. Free parking and wifi was terrific. Room was very spacious, modern, and clean. Skipped the free breakfast, free wine and cheese but thoroughly enjoyed the cookies after 8pm. The balcony rooms have any advantage unlike a place like the Boardwalk Plaza so don't bother splurging on them. That being said, the location is absolutely prime. You can't get any closer to the action. I look forward to returning here again....a great place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hightstown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

After a 3 week trip in the late summer to MN, WI and a few other states we had some free time, decided to take a few days and go to Rehoboth Beach, again. Stayed at the Avenue Inn (also again). Same excellent staff, service, amenities etc. After 3 weeks of difficulty in obtaining wifi connects at the major hotel chains and resorts I could not believe the ease of connecting to their wifi with my iPad which had been extremely problematic on our MN/WI trip. The response time to the Internet was actually faster than that of my FIOS at home. The Avenue Inn also had posted drawings of their renovation which will increase the size of the breakfast area, create a guest lounge, increase the fitness area and probably a few other mprovements.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms facing Rehoboth Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Being our second time at the Avenue Inn we were kind of disappointed on the quality of the room and food. i do not understand why your establishment names the room we had Poolside King when it is neither by the pool or even on the same floor. The room was on the 2nd floor and the pool was on the 3rd.
I understood that this room was handicap accessible but the shower was more of a handicap.
I did not like the fact that the shower only had a hose connected shower head and the water pressure was poor.
Also did not like the pillows offered. They were bulky and uncomfortable.
As for the breakfast I did not appreciate the way all the items were presented as individual servings. I did not like my eggs with a crust.
Also did not appreciate the cups of fruit and the lack of variety.
In general the Avenue Inn is well run and love the amenities it offers.
In the future we will be more careful in the room we choose.
I do not mind spending more for quality but not when the quality has been changed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Address: 33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.