We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avenue Inn & Spa
Save
You added Avenue Inn & Spa to your Saves list
33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
DE
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Location, location, Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

enjoyed a long weekend in Rehoboth Beacb! Sitting out on our deck people watching was one of the highlights ! great coffee which was always available, nice perk!! very friendly staff, nice clean rooms and loved the location ! my only suggestion is to bring an egg crate to put on bed to make more comfortable for sleeping - that was little rough !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are looking into new bedding as I write so hopefully the next time you visit your sleep will be pleasurable.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    203
    47
    9
    10
See reviews for
385
402
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southeastern PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Avenue Inn and Spa. The room was clean and of a comfortable size. They serve complimentary wine, cheese and crackers from 5 - 7 PM in the lobby and then freshly baked cookies at 8 PM. Breakfast was a cut above the usual continental breakfast with better quality than we have experienced at other hotels.
The hotel is about 1 1/2 blocks from the beach.
The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.
We will be back.

Room Tip: We chose the cheapest room with 2 queens, no view. We actually appreciated not being on the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the Avenue. We work hard to deliver a different hotel experience and I am glad to hear that you received it. Thank you for the kind words and for choosing to stay with us while visiting Rehoboth. We will look forward to you becoming another repeat guest at the Avenue!
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

To be fair - I have stayed two other times at the Avenue Inn with my two granddaughters and daughter for an annual 'Spring' trip to Delaware. We always enjoyed it. The hotel is pleasant enough and my granddaughters liked the sauna, steam room and hot tub.

Unfortunately this time we were unable to book a room in the hotel and had to book a room in their 'annex'. The annex is nothing like the hotel. While they do make an effort to be honest about what the annex is ... I feel they should not even market their motel as a part of the Avenue Inn. It was way below the main hotel's standards and unless you are a college student on spring break I can't imagine you would want to stay there.

Another disappointment was the hot tub that was no longer there ... they had signs explaining they were in the process of improving it ... but it was completely gone and there was no new one in sight. I feel they should let you know about this on their web site.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the annex - find a different hotel if you can't stay in the Inn itself!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
All of our staff takes a great deal of pride in being the #1 rated hotel in Rehoboth. We have been #1 for over two years because we deliver the best hotel experience at a very good value. Our staff strives to perform their particular duty to the highest standards. It is always a major disappointment when we get a poor rating in a review. It is even more disappointing when the rating, in my opinion, isnt justified. I have to take issue with this review when it is admitted that the difference between the two buildings was explained and it is clearly visible on the web site in our pictures. A room of comparable size in the main buidling is $45 more expensive on a night in April. We have many guests that appreciate the less expensive rooms in a differnt environment enjoying the large walkways and easy access to Rehoboth and Wilmington Avenue. I understand it may not suit your needs but to give a below average rating is unfair. We notified all arriving guests about the hot tub situation, and I assure you we are replacing it as I was personally involved with getting it on the deck today. We had to remove the old tub to complete improvements to the equipment in preparing for the new tub. It is especially disappointing that as a repeat guest we were never given the opportunity to receive a nice review though you have stayed with us before but choose to hit us with a negative even though we are clear about what you will recieve at the Avenue II.
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I visit Rehoboth Beach quite often to be with family. Over the Easter holiday, I suggested that we treat ourselves to spa treatments. My cousin suggested The Avenue Spa. We both made reservations for a massage and pedicures. What outstanding treatments and service we had. I have decided that this will now become a tradition whenever we return to Rehoboth!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed the treatments you received at the spa. Thank you for coming in and for taking the time to place a review, it is sincerely appreciated. We will look forward to you making your visits a tradition as well.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The entire hotel is very up to date and extremely clean. I often see rooms (especially in beach locations) that are in dire need of updating. The minor details of the rooms from the carpet, tastefull decor, "California knockdown" drywall finish, fireplace, jacuzzi to the crown moldings make you want to remodel at least one room in your own home to similar standards. The breakfast, wine & cheese and cookies and hot beverages are nice extra benefits to take advantage of. Don't forget to recognize the cleaning staff with a tip for doing such an excellent job of keeping the hotel in top shape. We had a very good overall experience. The only thing to note is that sound from the third floor pool, hallways, stairways and rooms does travel. We happened to visit during a busy spring break week when the hotel occupancy was full. We shared our concerns with the staff who were more than happy to do what they could to make our stay more comfortable. They offered another room and transferred our luggage. Every staff member we encountered were very friendly and truly appeared to be happy to work in this nice hotel.

Room Tip: Consider requesting a room on the second floor away from the pool and stairs if sound outside of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for noticing the improvements we make to keep the Avenue fresh and inviting. We recognize the importance of always presenting an exceptionally clean and well furnished hotel and we want to show that we appreciate our customers by invcesting back in the hotel. Our goal is to be #1 on Tripadvisor so we work ahrd everyday to present the very best hotel experience in Rehoboth. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review the Avenue.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We have stayed here before. Loved it, so we went back again. The only thing I would change...is to make the last hour the pool is open for ADULTS ONLY!! Maybe even dim the lights a little. When we stayed there, we had gone out and had a wonderful dinner. Came back to our room, got changed and thought we would have a nice end to our evening with a glass (Plastic cup!) of wine, in the hot tub. Not so! There were 4 kids in the hot tub and pool..who took the place over!! Thier mothers sat there and did NOTHING. Not asking much----just the last hour!!!Oh well!......................We will go back again sometime soon I hope! Great location--we parked our car when we got there, and never moved it again till, we checked out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I took a weekend trip to rehoboth beach for our 10 year anniversary. I know nothing about this area aside from it being a really fun beach town. After poring through reviews upon reviews, Avenue Inn won me over.

The customer service at this hotel is wonderful. They are welcoming, helpful and down to earth. Our room was the king suite with balcony. It was a good size and it was nice to sit out and just read.

Breakfast was better than we had expected. Just trust me on this!

To add to the quaint vibe of the hotel, they have wine in the evenings followed by chocolate chip cookies, freshly baked. It was really nice to look forward to when we returned from our day out.

The pool was on our floor and was very, very clean. The jacuzzi however was a bit old, but it was outside so that was nice. If they get a brand new one, I'm sure it would be hard to get a spot. Also, the gym isn't the most high tech, if you're a runner like me, run outdoors.

I cannot wait to go back to Rehoboth Beach and definitely to stay here. It's the perfect location that truly feels like a home away from home.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Avenue while searching for a hotel in Rehoboth, I am happy you found us and grateful for your business and the kind words in your review. We are indeed replacing the hot tub and in fact it wont be as tough to get a spot as it is quite a bit larger. It went on the deck today and should be up and running by this weekend, I hope! Additionally we will be replacing some of the exercise equipment soon. Let us know what you think of the changes after your next visit which we hope will be soon.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Address: 33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.