We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to Date and Very Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avenue Inn & Spa
33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Elkton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Up to Date and Very Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The entire hotel is very up to date and extremely clean. I often see rooms (especially in beach locations) that are in dire need of updating. The minor details of the rooms from the carpet, tastefull decor, "California knockdown" drywall finish, fireplace, jacuzzi to the crown moldings make you want to remodel at least one room in your own home to similar standards. The breakfast, wine & cheese and cookies and hot beverages are nice extra benefits to take advantage of. Don't forget to recognize the cleaning staff with a tip for doing such an excellent job of keeping the hotel in top shape. We had a very good overall experience. The only thing to note is that sound from the third floor pool, hallways, stairways and rooms does travel. We happened to visit during a busy spring break week when the hotel occupancy was full. We shared our concerns with the staff who were more than happy to do what they could to make our stay more comfortable. They offered another room and transferred our luggage. Every staff member we encountered were very friendly and truly appeared to be happy to work in this nice hotel.

Room Tip: Consider requesting a room on the second floor away from the pool and stairs if sound outside of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for noticing the improvements we make to keep the Avenue fresh and inviting. We recognize the importance of always presenting an exceptionally clean and well furnished hotel and we want to show that we appreciate our customers by invcesting back in the hotel. Our goal is to be #1 on Tripadvisor so we work ahrd everyday to present the very best hotel experience in Rehoboth. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review the Avenue.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    764
    182
    40
    9
    10
See reviews for
325
358
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We have stayed here before. Loved it, so we went back again. The only thing I would change...is to make the last hour the pool is open for ADULTS ONLY!! Maybe even dim the lights a little. When we stayed there, we had gone out and had a wonderful dinner. Came back to our room, got changed and thought we would have a nice end to our evening with a glass (Plastic cup!) of wine, in the hot tub. Not so! There were 4 kids in the hot tub and pool..who took the place over!! Thier mothers sat there and did NOTHING. Not asking much----just the last hour!!!Oh well!......................We will go back again sometime soon I hope! Great location--we parked our car when we got there, and never moved it again till, we checked out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I took a weekend trip to rehoboth beach for our 10 year anniversary. I know nothing about this area aside from it being a really fun beach town. After poring through reviews upon reviews, Avenue Inn won me over.

The customer service at this hotel is wonderful. They are welcoming, helpful and down to earth. Our room was the king suite with balcony. It was a good size and it was nice to sit out and just read.

Breakfast was better than we had expected. Just trust me on this!

To add to the quaint vibe of the hotel, they have wine in the evenings followed by chocolate chip cookies, freshly baked. It was really nice to look forward to when we returned from our day out.

The pool was on our floor and was very, very clean. The jacuzzi however was a bit old, but it was outside so that was nice. If they get a brand new one, I'm sure it would be hard to get a spot. Also, the gym isn't the most high tech, if you're a runner like me, run outdoors.

I cannot wait to go back to Rehoboth Beach and definitely to stay here. It's the perfect location that truly feels like a home away from home.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Avenue while searching for a hotel in Rehoboth, I am happy you found us and grateful for your business and the kind words in your review. We are indeed replacing the hot tub and in fact it wont be as tough to get a spot as it is quite a bit larger. It went on the deck today and should be up and running by this weekend, I hope! Additionally we will be replacing some of the exercise equipment soon. Let us know what you think of the changes after your next visit which we hope will be soon.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I love staying at Avenue Inn. The staff is friendly, helpful and efficient. The rooms and lobby are beautiful and comfortable. I first stayed here because I was looking for a place in Rehobeth in the off season that had an indoor pool, and the Avenue did. It also has an outdoor hot tub on a relatively secluded deck off the pool room. The pool room is the one place I would say is a little shabby, but it's still refreshing to go for a dip in the evening before bed. The 5-o-clock wine hour is a great segway to dinner at one of the many restaurants that are within easy walking distance. In fact, everything worth seeing is within easy walking distance of the Avenue. I will definitely stay here again when in Rehoboth.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
We are grateful for your continued business when visiting Rehoboth and for letting others know about your experiences while staying with us. We are currently replacing our hot tub and a pool area renovation is next on the list. I apologize for letting it get to the state where it was noticeably ready for freshening up. Thank you for being a loyal guest at the Avenue, we will look forward to your next stay with us.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I've been in many hotels around the US and none...I repeat none are as clean and well kept as this one....The staff is so helpful and attentive...Safe and close to beach, restaurants...no need to use a car...Great breakfast and wine & cheese at nite

Room Tip: Every room I've been in for many years has been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
We are grateful for your review and for noting how clean we maintain the Avenue. We pride ourselves on the level of cleanliness we present to our guests as we recognize friendliness and cleanliness are the key components to any succcesful hotel no matter the number of stars it may achieve. Thank you for staying with us while visiting Rehoboth and for taking the time to review the Avenue, it is most sincerely appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed one night, 3/9/12. I was travelling with 3 tween girls. We checked in late and check in was easy and quick. I had to move to an underground parking lot directly under the hotel. The only problem I had with this is that the lot can be accessed by anyone and there is an elevator that is in garage that goes directly to all floors in hotel. No emergencies, however, since I was travelling alone without my husband, and 3 girls, I was more hyper vigillant and wasn't thrilled that the hotel floors could be accessed by anyone.
The room was very spacious and clean. The beds were very comfortable and I had no problem sleeping. Our room(208) was right across from the ice/vending machine and it was never a noise issue which was great! The three girls loved the indoor pool and it was open until 11pm. The pool, pool deck and bath were all very clean.
The complementary breakfast was very nice. That was another major plus. The staff I encountered were very professional and polite. We are considering staying here in the summer. Hotel is close to everything. Fast walk to beach and boardwalk. Very enjoyable time and I wished I had booked two nights instead of just one!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
It is great to read about your stay with us and that you will consider staying with us again this summer. We are grateful for your choice to stay at the Avenue and for sharing your experience with others on Tripadvisor. We hope you will have the opportunity to come down this summer and get the full feel of Rehoboth in season.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I booked the Luxury Jacuzzi Suite room 306 for my husband’s 30th birthday. I asked them to put chocolate covered strawberries in the room and upon arrival they were there courteously of the hotel very nice. The Jacuzzi was nice and relaxing and we loved the cozy fireplace. The only negative about this room was the fact that it is right next to the pool. So if you are planning on getting to sleep in past 8 in the morning forget it the noise was so loud from the kids using the pool it was impossible. The staff was very friendly hotel was nice and clean and well kept. Location was great walking distance to shops restaurants and in the summer it would be nice and close to the beach and boardwalk. Overall we had an awesome time. Restaurant advice absolutely try Fins it was awesome! The oysters were amazing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Glad to hear all went well during your birthday celebration, sorry to hear that there were loud kids in the pool though the pool doesn't open until 9am which I understand may be too early for one liking to sleep in. We sincerely appreciate your business and your time in placing a review of the Avenue. We hope to have you as our guest again.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Address: 33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Avenue Inn & Spa to your Saves list