We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Ask For More” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avenue Inn & Spa
Save
You added Avenue Inn & Spa to your Saves list
33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chevy Chase, MD
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Couldn't Ask For More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I just returned from the Avenue Inn where I stayed with my mother for 4 nights. It was a great stay with wonderful beach accommodations, loads of extras and friendly helpful staff. It exceeded my expectations and I would stay here again next time I come to Rehoboth Beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for the great review, it and your choosing to stay with us is sincerely appreciated. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel so much, that is our goal with the intent to have you making the Avenue your choice when staying in Rehoboth Beach.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    207
    47
    9
    10
See reviews for
389
416
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I thought it was strange that none of the search engines revealed the Avenue Inn when I was searching for a hotel in Rehoboth Beach, with the exception of Trip Advisor. Now we know why - they don't need the advertisement! Once you stay here, you will return again. We've already booked a room for a fall trip.

Room Tip: We like the king with balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for the great headline of your review! As a family owned and operated hotel we take a great deal of pride in the hotel and how we present all facets of the hotel to our guests. We work with the intent to be the best in Rehoboth Beach so reading your review is very satisfying. Thanks for the kind words and for being our guests, we will look forward to seeing you in the fall. I am calling my web site optimizer to improve our visibilty, thanks for the heads up.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The staff are friendly and helpful. There's a decent (not just danishes and coffee) complimentary breakfast in the morning, plus wine and cheese in the evening, then cookies at night. The rooms are cozy, clean, and quiet. Only a block from the beach, and the hotel will loan you beach chairs. There are outdoor showers so you can wash off the sand before you return to your room. We love it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for the review and for staying with us at the Avenue. You covered all of the little things we do that set us apart from most hotels. We believe on top of our exceptionally clean rooms and our great service oriented staff that the little things we do for our guests makes your stay so much more relaxing and enjoyable. We understand how to deliver a great value and we will continue to do it as the highest rated hotel in rehoboth Beach. Glad all of the "chicks' had a great time.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & Coo
Avenue Inn / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This was a cery nice place to stay. We had the Luxury Jacuzzi room which was wonderful. It was a great experience. The hotel was like home, so peaceful and quiet. The staff was friendly and welcoming. We are thinking about going back in Aug or Sept. I will recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you, we luv having you as our guets! It is always a pleasure to read a review such as yours that describes the experience we work so hard to deliver to every guest. We are a family owned and operated hotel so we take a great deal of pride in the product we offer our guests. We recognize there are plenty of other choices but we know we offer a unique experience due to the friendliness and cleanliness we present in our hotels. Our goal is to make first time guests like you want to come back again and again so I am excited to hear you will be back soon. Looking forward to having you stay with us again.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Last summer, we booked directly on the hotel's website. After looking at TripAdvisor, I told my girlfriend that we were staying at "the #1 rated hotel in Rehoboth Beach." Little did I know that we were booked for Avenue Inn & Spa II down the street, the much lesser of the two hotels. We were not happy but the front desk clerk said, "Well, you booked at AI & S II." I felt like it was a bait and switch, although I should have seen it on the hotel website, and I wonder how many other people this has happened to.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
I would suggest a better understanding of what bait and switch means before labeling an experience this way as it certainly does not apply to what happened here. The following is exactly how the rooms are described on our web site when making an online reservation:

Spacious 1 King + Sofa Bed is AT OUR MOTEL at the Avenue II location. AVENUE II IS LOCATED 75 YARDS FROM THE AVENUE INN. The Avenue II is located next to the Purple Parrot Bar & Restaurant. This means the room could hear music and loud noises up till 1:00 a.m. Very spacious room that includes aTelevision, a microwave, and a refrigerator. The Avenue II has a walk around balcony, outside entrances to the rooms and no elevator. This is one room not to be confused with our 2 room suites at the Avenue Inn

We have gone as far as to note any items that may be a problem for potential new guests in the description as our goal is for our guests enjoy their stay and want to come back again and again as many do for both buildings. We have no reason to want to trick someone, we run at 99% occupancy during our summer season in both buildings. I am sorry you did not read all of the information available as I am sure this would have alleviated the mistake you made. As you did not have any issues with the property outside of your error I would invite you back to stay at the main building as you origianlly wished but didnt book due to your mistake. Call the hotel the next time and we will be certain to get you in the room that will best suit you.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Royal, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We have been coming to the Avenue Inn since it opened years ago its our yearly family trip for the past 10 years every summer. The Inn is clean and feels like home. The staff is friendly and feel like family. The breakfast is great. The pool and hot tube is so relaxing. I love to shop all the little stores around the Avenue Inn. We usually get 2 rooms due to my large family. Can't wait for our trip this year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
It is hard to express in a response to a review how much your continuing loyalty to our hotel means to me and our staff. I say it over and over again in my responses how important guests like yourself are to our businesswe as we have built our hotel group success on making first time stays the first of many to come. We want to make every single guest that walks through our doors to recognize that we appreciate them choosing to stay with us and we want to show it by giving them a great value in our product coupled with great customer service. Thank you so much for staying with us again. I am grateful for your continued business and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for others to read when deciding on a hotel in Rehoboth Beach. Looking forward to having you as our guest again.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I've been vacationing in Rehoboth Beach all my life and have stayed at Avenue Inn since they opened their doors. Until we own a beach house someday, Avenue Inn will be our "home away from home."

I'll start with the hotel amenities: You enter the lobby and it feels like you are walking into an inviting living room. Comfy leather furniture, coffee tables, all arranged nicely, a fireplace, a computer, a game table with chess and checkers. Just past the front desk is the dining room, where you will enjoy an extensive complimentary breakfast: french toast and egg casseroles, fruit, pastries, hot and cold cereal, bagels, juices, coffee, hot chocolate.

Other lobby amenities are complimentary happy hour from 5-7pm daily, wine and cheese/crackers, nice experience! Also freshly baked chocolate chip cookies are served at 8pm each night.

Past the dining room is the Avenue Spa--FIRST CLASS experience is all that needs to be said!

There's an indoor stainless steel pool on the second floor, more than adequate seating around the pool and beautiful murals on the walls. Steps away are a sauna and steam room. One long wall of the pool enclosure is glass doors that open to a nice pool deck in the summer. One one side is a nice sized hot tub available for use 12 months/year.

Jim, the hotel manager, is a no-nonsense guy, but VERY warm and as accommodating as possible! Every single staff person that I've encountered through the years has been warm and friendly and unfailingly helpful. They seem lijke a cohesive "family."

The hotel rooms are always clean and many steps above what you would expect at a beach hotel. The cleaning staff is friendly and accommodating and does a fabulous job keeping the public areas sparkling clean as well as the rooms.

The rooms have different amenties but all have a fridge and microwave which is useful for beverages and snacks. Our family loves the suites with pocket doors. Our daughter can bring a friend and they have a queen sofa to open at night and their own TV and privacy.

On our most recent visit (returned home yesterday) it was wonderful to borrow the sand chairs and towels for the beach and not have to pack these items from home.

There is an underground parking garage with adequate space. We generally park our car upon arrival and never need it again until the day we depart. The general location of Avenue Inn couldn't be more ideal. You are literally steps away from anything you could possibly want or need, beach, boardwalk, shops, restaurants.

You will not regret choosing Avenue Inn! It's an oasis of tranquility 12 months a year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Avenue Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again at the Avenue Inn and thank you for sharing your experience. We work hard to make our guests feel appreciated and relaxed when staying with us so that they do feel like we offer a "home away from home" feel. When you come to the beach your visit should be an enjoyable and memorable time and it starts with your choice of hotel. We have been in the hospitality business since 1978 and our years of experience in beach resorts have taught us what our guests want and expect. The basics are the same, a clean room at a good price with a friendly staff. It is the extra steps we take that set us apart. Thanks again for your kind words, it is sincerely appreciated.
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn & Spa

Address: 33 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top rated hotel in Rehoboth for ten years, the staff at The Avenue continues to deliver the best hotel experience in Rehoboth Beach. With our newly renovated lobby, breakfast room, fitness room, business center, and spa in addition to our brand new lounge, no other hotel in Rehoboth offers as much at such a great value. Stay at The Avenue and see why our guests come back again and again making the hotel their own beach house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn And Spa
Avenue Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Avenue Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.