We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded but Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rehoboth Beach

Rehoboth Beach
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A sandy public beach that offers various organized sports activities every evening during the summer plus special designated areas for surfing and surf fishing.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Crowded but Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

People sit really close to you on this beach. Like one morning there was a woman having a wedding and people gave her no space. They sat right in front of here tent. This is very strange because there tends to be plenty of space near the back so I dont know why people cram themselves near the front. But the water is clean and salty. The one thing people with kids should be aware of is that the deepness drops off quickly so watch your kids in the water. Unfortunately that Drop off also makes it hard for us adults to get submerged. The beach is surrounded by a boardwalk with food which is also nice. Much calmer and classier than OC.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    110
    41
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

i visited Rehoboth Beach on Labor Day 2013. Parking wasn't too hard to find but i had to pay in quarters. $1.50 per hour. Luckily, i had plenty of quarters in my car. If you don't have change there are change machines. I parked about 3 blocks from the beach. The beach itself was very nice. The sand wasn't very soft,but it wasn't terrible. The water was cold, as expected, but not unbearable. Rehoboth has a smaller boardwalk than others I've been too. It was very laid back and family friendly. There are plenty of showers right off the beach which was really nice. There are nice stores a few blocks from the beach/boardwalk too. I would maybe go back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Rehobeth beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Visited Rehobeth Beach to attend a three day wedding trip, unlike its beach neighbors to the south, Rehobeth Beach is not only crowded, it's overcrowded and traffic congested.
The town has limited parking which is meter controlled to half hr. increments , making it impossible to dine without the fear of parking enforcement staff.....my advice is simple...Bethany.Dewey or Ocean City, Md.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Parking Nightmare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great town and beach, but.... THE PARKING!!!! Could't even go to Church without looking for metered street parking! Bring QUARTERS only!! All parking meters in and around town take quarters only. No dollars, no dimes, However, there are change machines in town.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Crowded but fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved this beach for many reasons. Short walk to the water. Close proximity to showers, bathrooms, food & drinks. Parking is very difficult for those having to drive. And also be aware that the beach can get over-crowded by early afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rehoboth Beach also viewed

 

Been to Rehoboth Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rehoboth Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rehoboth Beach to your Saves list