We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can you choose?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Coffee House and Bake Shoppe

The Point Coffee House and Bake Shoppe
37140 Rehoboth Avenue, Intersection of Rt 1 and 1A, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-3196
+1 302-260-9734
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 231 restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Description: The Point Coffee House and Bake Shoppe offers a wide variety of house-roasted coffees, freshly baked items, soups, salads, sandwiches and more! Complimentary parking and WiFi, indoor and outdoor dining.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“How can you choose?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Besides the best selection of coffees at the beach, our favorite item is the strawberry short cake! I also really like the quiches, especially when they are first out of the oven. Tom and the staff are always friendly, and there is usually a really friendly crowd eating, drinking, and talking.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    47
    14
    10
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

delicious food - kind employees especially Tom and the coffee is addictive. Try the sticky buns walnut pecan or raisin - they are all good. The point blend coffee is the best.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Favorite spot for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We always come here when at the beach, huge selection of coffee! The best sticky buns and waffles. Price is a bit steep but worth a splurge once during vacation

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
580 reviews 580 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
1,092 helpful votes 1,092 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, but expensive $$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I stopped in here for breakfast the other morning. They have a large selection of baked goods (scones, cake, sticky buns, cannoli, lemon squares, donuts, muffins, breads, pies, eclairs, etc). They also have croissant sandwiches, quiche, oatmeal, bagels and belgian waffles. My husband decided on the blueberry belgian waffle and I decided to have the egg, ham and cheddar croissant. I selected one of the bottled apple juices out of the refrigerated case & my husband had one of their fresh cappuccinos. Our total was $22.84. We paid and then we had a seat outside at one of their outside dining patios. The counter help delivered our food to the table for us when it was ready.

The ham, egg and cheese croissant was pretty good. It was served up warm with some fresh seasonal fruit on the side. The fruit was also good. I would order it again. My husband loved the belgian waffle with fresh blueberries, but said the cream on top tasted like cool whip instead of freshly prepared cream. He said the cappuccino was good, but HOT.

We liked both of our meals so much that we decided to give their pastries a try. We went back inside and ordered a bavarian cream donut, cannoli and a regular sticky bun. The cream donut was rather good. The chocolate on top and the filling in the center were both very good...not too sweet! The cannoli however was terrible. It tasted like it was filled with cream cheese. I prefer the ricotta cheese filled cannolis like we get in NY & Philly. The large sticky bun was not bad, but not great. The icing on top was too sweet for me. For these 3 baked goods, we paid over $8.00.

Overall, we had a good dining experience at the Point. The counter help was fast and friendly. The breakfast food was all good. The pastries were mixed--some good, some ok and some terrible. The dining atmosphere was nice--both inside and out. The view could be better, but we didn't expect much being on the corner of an intersection. The prices are HIGH. Another downside is that the entrance is NOT wheelchair or stroller accessible. We will probably return, but not as often as we would like due to cost.


Note: In addition to breakfast, they also serve lunch. They serve salads and sandwiches in addition to ice cream sundaes, smoothies and frozen drinks. Birthday, Anniversary & Wedding cakes available by appointment (amazing examples on front counter).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“3 out of 3 mornings spent here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was a fantastic place. We sampled so many things over the three mornings that we dined here. Cute shop with so much variety it's crazy. The croissants, blueberry muffins, donuts, waffles, and cinnamon buns were all amazing!! The strawberry shortcake was delicious (tad too much icing but I'm guessing some people love that). One could easily eat breakfast here for a week and not grow bored. They also have lunch (salads and sandwiches) but we didn't get to try any. Also, there's outdoor seating available - not the best views but nice if you want to spend a few hours (I think wifi is available) and not take up limited inside space.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point Coffee House and Bake Shoppe also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to The Point Coffee House and Bake Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Coffee House and Bake Shoppe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.