We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best for Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

We stayed in a suite in the new part of the hotel. The bedroom had two double beds (too soft!), and the living room had a sofa bed. There was a balcony with a view of the ocean. The room had a small refrigerator and microwave. The best thing about the Atlantic Sands is the location. It's on the boardwalk, just one block north of Rehoboth Avenue, the main drag in town. Once you get there, you can park the car and walk everywhere. There are lots of good restaurants nearby. Our favorite was Dos Locos, a Mexican place currently on Wilmington Ave., which is moving soon to Rehoboth Ave.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Soft beds
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    82
    111
    66
    53
See reviews for
131
90
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2007

It was TOO soft! My husband and I booked a handicapped room at the Atlantic Sands while on a spur of the moment trip to Rehoboth Beach. The hotel is conveniently located, parking is adequate, at least in January, and is very clean. However, the handicapped room was a long walk from the elevator, and my husband was on crutches, plus the bed was a king size one with a pillow top mattress, and it was not comfortable at all! The sheets didn't fit properly and kept coming off. I guess we should have complained after the first night, but it would have been difficult for him to move again, so we toughed it out. If we stay there again, I will definitely try out the mattress before I sleep on it. Except for the mattress, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The room was very clean
  • Disliked — The bed was too soft, the sheets did not fit properly, and the shower was not really handicapped accessible.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2006

I had a wonderful room with a fabulous ocean view. But I felt guilty when I found out what my fellow travelers were putting up with. One woman had only a bed, a table and a TV. There was no other furniture in her room. She had to ask the desk to send up a lamp so she could read. Another woman had an exrtremely wet floor. It had just been cleaned. They had to use a dryer on the carpet after she complained. A male co-worker had booked a suite so we could have a meet and greet social the first night of our conference. We had to move the social because there was such a overpowering bad smell in his room -- it was not from cigarettes and we really couldn't identify it. But it was bad. Then another woman complained that she woke in the middle of the night to find that her bed was soaking wet with urine. And it was definitely not from her. It looked like someone had wet the bed and housekeeping either didn't know or ignored it, just putting clean bedding on top. The hotel management was completely unsympathetic and refused to give her a credit for that night's lodging. For myself I would return because the hotel is in a fabulous location right on the boardwalk but the problems of my co-workers left a lasting negative impression. If I went back, it might be me with the complaints!

  • Liked — The balcony right on the ocean
  • Disliked — My friends upset and complaints about their rooms.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, DE
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2006

As someone who has a background in hospitality & tourism, I really thought this was an above average place to stay for this area. The staff was very helpful with any little 'extras' we needed and the room was very clean and roomy. This hotel is also in a great location right on the boardwalk and next to many fine restaurants and shops. We stayed in an oceanview room which had a nice view of the beach and the microwave and fridge were a nice addition as well. We also enjoyed the lounge area right off of the lobby that had a TV and fireplace...it was very cozy for a cool November night! The coffee shop made for a nice pit stop for a morning coffee and homemade pastry...and at the end of our stay we were able to do express checkout which made it quick and easy. I will definitely be returning to this hotel for an extended weekend in the summer!

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing, just need to go back during the summer when everything is open!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Bernie, MD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

We haven’t stayed at the Atlantic Sands in almost seven years. I must confess that the renovations and additions to the hotel are remarkable. We stayed for the weekend for the Sea Witch Festival the rates are a little more reasonable at this time of year and there are still activities for the children as well at the stores are still open.

My husband and I arrived on Friday with our three children. We loved the friendly atmosphere; the staff members were extra nice. We reserved a little family suite. There was a small kitchen area with a microwave, fridge, and coffee pot. The room was very clean and cozy. There was a large balcony off the living room area where we sat and watched the ocean. Then there was a living room with a sofa that pulled out to a bed, with a T.V. This made it very convenient for the children since we spent most of our time in the room on Friday due to the heavy rain showers. But that did not ruin our weekend Saturday the sun came out and it became a beautiful day. There was a parade in town that day and there was also candy given out for the children that evening and coffee for the parents in the café at the hotel.

Check out was simple and suitable for someone with three children and tons of luggages. We asked to keep our car in the parking lot for a few hours longer and the staff was pleasant enough to allow us to do so. This is a great place to spend a family vacation. We had a great stay and would not hesitate to go back again with our children since they loved it so much.

  • Liked — suits sizable rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — no
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2006

We have just returned from a great weekend at the Atlantic Sands Hotel. We arrived Saturday 10/7/06 and departed Monday 10/9/06. We must admit that after reading the reviews we wondered if this would be a good hotel for us to stay. The fears we had were pointless.

The front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. We arrived at 9:00am the room was not quite ready due to being sold out for the weekend which was understandable. We did not understand the check in time being so late (4:00pm). The clerk was kind enough to give us the first room that became available. While we waited for our room to become available we had coffee at the cute little coffee shop just outside the front desk entrance. When there was finally a room that became available to check in we were able to just pick up our keys, assuming because we had already filled out our registration. This made the check in extremely well organized.

The room was in a great location on the third floor over the pool. Ocean front with balcony and two chairs with sliding glass door. There were two double beds, a little small for two people, but the room was still very nice. The rooms were equipping with coffee maker, refrigerator, and microwave. Although there was no hair dryer or iron in the room I was impressed with everything else. Housekeeping comes to the room at convenient time of day; we were usually up and out at that time so we were not disturbed while sleeping. The freshness of the room was good. The bathroom was cleaned, we got new towels everyday and the beds were made and the floors were well vacuumed.

All in all this hotel was in a good location in central Rehoboth Beach where all the shops, boutiques, and restaurants were. The service was great, check in and check out was easy. There was an express check out. This was handy so you do not have to wait in the extremely long lines at check out time. Forget what you have read about this hotel in all those negative reviews. My experience at The Atlantic Sands was a great one and I will go back again.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2006

I just returned from a conference. We had great weather and a wonderful time. The location was great. The room was fine. The customer service, however, was a perfect example of what not to do. The clerks at the desk were almost consistent in not greeting people as they came in. They were very slow in their service, and since they didn't speak, we were not really sure they were still helping us. Later, a nun with a walker was trying to get through some very awkward entrance doors. As she was struggling within sight of the registration desk, no one came to her assistance. Outside and from a distance my companions and I could see her difficulty, and someone with me ran quickly across the parking lot and up the stairs to assist her. The clerks never acknowledged her struggle.

Lines formed at checkout most of the time. It took 3 of us 45 minutes to get through the process. That time included a 10 minute wait for the manager, Tim, to come and discuss our bill. The problem? We booked with a group and all had the exact same situation, but our bills differed greatly. The clerks figured and refigured. Since we needed a statement for reimbursement, we insisted on an accurate statement and one that was the same as everyone else's statement. We were unsuccessful in our efforts. Tim suggested that he could add more to the bills of two people who had already checked out! He said that one in fifty-one customes get lower bills. I never did get an accurate printed bill; my bill had an amount in ink written on it. The clerk insisted it was not possible to get a printed copy of the amount which was written in ink. The clerk emitted an audible sigh when I asked her for an accurate bill -- as if that was an unreasonable request. The quick check-out bill was $100 more than the bill should have been.

There was no one on the premises to help with luggage. The desk clerk pointed to a cart when asked about help. Two of us struggled with the cart to take our things to the 4th floor. The cart remained outside our room for two days.

The whole thing was very odd. We were there for a Cooperative Education Conference. If any of our students performed in their work study jobs as the employees at the front desk of the Atlantic Sands did, we would give our students a failing grade. Basic customer service, basic courtesy should not be unreasonable to expect. After we met Tim, we decided that he provided no role model for the people he supervised.

The weather was great and we had a wonderful time in spite of the bizarre behavior of the employees at the front desk.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cutomer service
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.