We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff, Clean Hotel and Excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Dover, DE
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Helpful Staff, Clean Hotel and Excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2006

As someone who has a background in hospitality & tourism, I really thought this was an above average place to stay for this area. The staff was very helpful with any little 'extras' we needed and the room was very clean and roomy. This hotel is also in a great location right on the boardwalk and next to many fine restaurants and shops. We stayed in an oceanview room which had a nice view of the beach and the microwave and fridge were a nice addition as well. We also enjoyed the lounge area right off of the lobby that had a TV and fireplace...it was very cozy for a cool November night! The coffee shop made for a nice pit stop for a morning coffee and homemade pastry...and at the end of our stay we were able to do express checkout which made it quick and easy. I will definitely be returning to this hotel for an extended weekend in the summer!

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing, just need to go back during the summer when everything is open!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    74
    97
    62
    50
See reviews for
114
82
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Bernie, MD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

We haven’t stayed at the Atlantic Sands in almost seven years. I must confess that the renovations and additions to the hotel are remarkable. We stayed for the weekend for the Sea Witch Festival the rates are a little more reasonable at this time of year and there are still activities for the children as well at the stores are still open.

My husband and I arrived on Friday with our three children. We loved the friendly atmosphere; the staff members were extra nice. We reserved a little family suite. There was a small kitchen area with a microwave, fridge, and coffee pot. The room was very clean and cozy. There was a large balcony off the living room area where we sat and watched the ocean. Then there was a living room with a sofa that pulled out to a bed, with a T.V. This made it very convenient for the children since we spent most of our time in the room on Friday due to the heavy rain showers. But that did not ruin our weekend Saturday the sun came out and it became a beautiful day. There was a parade in town that day and there was also candy given out for the children that evening and coffee for the parents in the café at the hotel.

Check out was simple and suitable for someone with three children and tons of luggages. We asked to keep our car in the parking lot for a few hours longer and the staff was pleasant enough to allow us to do so. This is a great place to spend a family vacation. We had a great stay and would not hesitate to go back again with our children since they loved it so much.

  • Liked — suits sizable rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — no
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2006

We have just returned from a great weekend at the Atlantic Sands Hotel. We arrived Saturday 10/7/06 and departed Monday 10/9/06. We must admit that after reading the reviews we wondered if this would be a good hotel for us to stay. The fears we had were pointless.

The front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. We arrived at 9:00am the room was not quite ready due to being sold out for the weekend which was understandable. We did not understand the check in time being so late (4:00pm). The clerk was kind enough to give us the first room that became available. While we waited for our room to become available we had coffee at the cute little coffee shop just outside the front desk entrance. When there was finally a room that became available to check in we were able to just pick up our keys, assuming because we had already filled out our registration. This made the check in extremely well organized.

The room was in a great location on the third floor over the pool. Ocean front with balcony and two chairs with sliding glass door. There were two double beds, a little small for two people, but the room was still very nice. The rooms were equipping with coffee maker, refrigerator, and microwave. Although there was no hair dryer or iron in the room I was impressed with everything else. Housekeeping comes to the room at convenient time of day; we were usually up and out at that time so we were not disturbed while sleeping. The freshness of the room was good. The bathroom was cleaned, we got new towels everyday and the beds were made and the floors were well vacuumed.

All in all this hotel was in a good location in central Rehoboth Beach where all the shops, boutiques, and restaurants were. The service was great, check in and check out was easy. There was an express check out. This was handy so you do not have to wait in the extremely long lines at check out time. Forget what you have read about this hotel in all those negative reviews. My experience at The Atlantic Sands was a great one and I will go back again.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2006

I just returned from a conference. We had great weather and a wonderful time. The location was great. The room was fine. The customer service, however, was a perfect example of what not to do. The clerks at the desk were almost consistent in not greeting people as they came in. They were very slow in their service, and since they didn't speak, we were not really sure they were still helping us. Later, a nun with a walker was trying to get through some very awkward entrance doors. As she was struggling within sight of the registration desk, no one came to her assistance. Outside and from a distance my companions and I could see her difficulty, and someone with me ran quickly across the parking lot and up the stairs to assist her. The clerks never acknowledged her struggle.

Lines formed at checkout most of the time. It took 3 of us 45 minutes to get through the process. That time included a 10 minute wait for the manager, Tim, to come and discuss our bill. The problem? We booked with a group and all had the exact same situation, but our bills differed greatly. The clerks figured and refigured. Since we needed a statement for reimbursement, we insisted on an accurate statement and one that was the same as everyone else's statement. We were unsuccessful in our efforts. Tim suggested that he could add more to the bills of two people who had already checked out! He said that one in fifty-one customes get lower bills. I never did get an accurate printed bill; my bill had an amount in ink written on it. The clerk insisted it was not possible to get a printed copy of the amount which was written in ink. The clerk emitted an audible sigh when I asked her for an accurate bill -- as if that was an unreasonable request. The quick check-out bill was $100 more than the bill should have been.

There was no one on the premises to help with luggage. The desk clerk pointed to a cart when asked about help. Two of us struggled with the cart to take our things to the 4th floor. The cart remained outside our room for two days.

The whole thing was very odd. We were there for a Cooperative Education Conference. If any of our students performed in their work study jobs as the employees at the front desk of the Atlantic Sands did, we would give our students a failing grade. Basic customer service, basic courtesy should not be unreasonable to expect. After we met Tim, we decided that he provided no role model for the people he supervised.

The weather was great and we had a wonderful time in spite of the bizarre behavior of the employees at the front desk.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cutomer service
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randallstown, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

First, let me say that after reading all of the bad reviews of the Atlantic Sands Hotel, I still took my chances and booked a room. I'm not sure why all of these other people had such horrible experiences. Maybe my good experience was a fluke.

We had called around to the few hotels on the boardwalk only a couple of weeks prior to our arrival and had hoped to reserve an oceanfront room. We figured the best we could get was some standard street view room. Luckily, the Atlantic Sands had an ocean-view Ambassador King suite at a reasonable price for the season. $200/$220 per night. I was told when we made the reservation that we could request an oceanfront room if there was availability at check-in.

So, when we arrived Wednesday evening, we were pleased to see that the hotel had parking spaces right in front of the hotel specifically for checking in. It's nice to not have to drag all of your luggage in when you first check in to a hotel. We had asked the front desk clerk if we could upgrade to an oceanfront room but the only one they had was on the first floor and was smaller than our originally booked room. We stuck with our original choice but was told it, too, was on the first floor. We asked if there was anything similar on a higher floor and she put us on the 3rd floor, same type of room.

Since I had read reviews that the halls were smelly and the rooms were old looking, we were expecting the worst. We were pleasantly surprised to see that our room was so much more than we expected, although the hall smelled a little like cat urine. We had a huge room with a big king bed, a small kitchenette area with a sink, fridge and microwave, a small dining table with 2 chairs, a desk, and a small sleeper sofa. The bathroom was GIGANTIC with a nice sink and lots of room for toiletries, a stand up shower and a HUGE jacuzzi tub with mirrors around it. The balcony was a "french balcony" and only had enough room for us to stand on it but the view was absolutely spectacular. We had a really great view of the ocean and the boardwalk (and the pool). I only wish it had been a sliding door or something so we could sleep with the door open. On one of the nights, there were a group of kids playing (very loud) in the pool (which was already closed) and their parents just sat on the patio outside of their room drinking beer and not doing anything. All it took was a call to the front desk and they sent someone out right away.

On our last night, we ordered room service and the food was DELICIOUS! Expensive but very tasty! Keep in mind that when you order room service, the portions are HUGE and gratuity is already included.

The only complaints I have about the hotel is that there are no lounging chairs on the actual pool level but there is a sundeck just above it. The weather was only nice on our last day anyway but we enjoyed it. The reviews about the shower temperature are right on. The shower temperature was never consistent. It would switch from hot to cold the whole time. Every once in a while, the shower would lose a little pressure and get really cold and then immediately would change to scalding hot water. Also, you might as well use the safe in the room because they'll charge you a $1.50/day anyway. We thought it was only if you used it so we never used the safe. We were charged anyway. Read the fine print!

We requested a late checkout but ended up getting out of the room by 11am anyway. They let us keep our car in the garage until 2pm though, which was very nice.

All in all, I would definitely stay there again, hopefully with better weather.

  • Liked — The location, the view
  • Disliked — the shower temperature
  • Tips/Secrets — Check out the spa....great massage...went by too fast!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2006

We booked weekend stay here this past weekend (sept. 9 & 10 2006) with a wedding. We have stayed here before without a problem but this time we had a problem with some of the staff here.
when we came to check in and stood at the front counter the woman checking us in did not even look up from the desk. First she could not find our reservation. when she finally did find it and finished the checking she was very curt -- no "thank you" or "enjoy your stay" . She acted like it was our fault she could not find our reservation.
When we went to our room we were very disappointed -- it had a really musty, foul odor; so we called the front desk and asked to be moved because we did not want to sleep there. We were told by the woman at the front desk (who practially shouted at us) that there was no possible way our request could be accommodated since the hotel was full, and basically, too bad, we were out of luck. we decided since it was getting late and we already paid for the room just to stay, and try to deal with it and hopefully talk to management in the morning.
That having been said, during the night when we visited the front desk for some stuff we needed and to ask some questions, the night manager (her name is Mimi) took care of us and she was absolutely delightful! i cannot understand how the hotel can have such rude people on one shift and such competent, friendly staff on another. they need to seriously rethink who they are hiring in that place.
In short... it's a nice hotel, but there are better places in town.

  • Liked — The night staff
  • Disliked — The day staff
  • Tips/Secrets — The hotel is right on the boardwalk, so the views and beach access are great.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UpstateNY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

To begin, I'll give credit where credit is due. The Atlantic Sands Hotel in Rehobeth Beach has an incredible location. The property is situated one street north of the picturesque town's main street, Rehobeth Avenue, and fronts the old-fashioned Boardwalk and beach. Beach access is less than a minute from the hotel's front doors. You can't ask to be situated more conveniently.

Unfortunately, many customer incoveniences occured during our five day stay in mid August. Frustrations began with booking directly with the hotel. I purchased a hotel/dinner/show package for two nights, and wished to add two additional nights. This involved a convoluted and long conversation resulting in two separate reservations, checking in and out during mid-stay, and much front desk confusion upon arrival. While in the hotel, we added one more day, which necessitated a room change, but that was no issue as it we knew the hotel may have booked our original room based on the original four night requests.

The rooms are not a good value. We stayed in a small ocean front room and an Ambassador King ocean front room and each room averaged $300 a night + taxes. Neither room had doors on the closets and most of the hangers were missing from the rod rings which are intended to prevent them from being, well... missing. No iron or ironing boards are provided for in the rooms and calling for one was not an option as the phone in the first room did not work. A cellphone call to the front desk informed me I could check in at any time after four. I explained I was already in the room and calling on my cell phone because the phone in the room did not work. This was met with, "Would you like maintenance to fix that?" Now, maybe it's me, but I thought that was a strange question from a hospitality professional regarding what is apparently the optional luxury of phone service in your own room. (See room price again.) In the end it doesn't much matter because no one was ever sent to fix that phone.

Bottom sheets in first room were fitted, but not to the bed. If you move at all during the night, the sheets slide off the satin finished mattress and ensnarl you. I'm guessing the blanket was made of the same material used for space shuttle heat shields. Bathrooms are small, underlit, and the Ambassador Room did not have a mirror save for the one over the bathroom sink. Overall furnishing quality and room condition is motel grade and is below par for the cost, despite the resort location.

As stated in another review, the gym is not noteworthy. The pool is also undersized, as also mentioned in the other review, for the size of the property. However, the most serious shortcoming of this hotel is the restaurant called the Atlantic Seafood Grill. Do not eat here. Entree prices range from low 20s to mid 30s for institutional grade offerings. Example: the Mediterranean Chicken was menued as chicken sauced with tomatoes, kalamata olives, and feta cheese. The kalamata olives were substituted with canned lindsey olives. The feta cheese, olives, and tomatoes were in a white sauce... a gross combination. No oregano or basil were used to highlight any Mediterranean appeal. The taste was sour and flat. The starch was french fries as they had run out of the "starch of the day" as well as the kalamata olives. The Grill apparently does not remove a dish they can't prepare as advertised... whatever's on hand goes onto the plate and the customer is expected to make do. (See entree prices again.)
Kudos must go to the bartender, however, who makes very tasty key lime martinis.

We actually went back for a second night to the restaurant for convenience as we had plans to attend a party immediately after dinner. Maybe the first night was bad luck. Nope. The person in the kitchen who heats food was consistent. An order for medium rare beef tenderloin medallions and lightly seared ahi tuna steaks were both way overdone, which was easy to due with 1/2 inch thick steaks, but there were two steaks of each offering on our plates. One one inch thick steak would have solved the problem. The pineapple wasabi sauce for the tuna lacked any discernable heat from the promised wasabi. This dining room appears to accomodate about 50 to 60 diners at a dinner sitting and had no more than eight people the second night we were there... during high season. What a waste of an extraordinary location and view from the dining room toward the ocean front. I truly felt bad for the courteous and attentive waitstaff who rely on tips to be able to live near this high priced area. A "family hotel" is allowed to present food which is thoughtfully prepared with flavor. Even middle Americans will appreciate the gesture. Trust me.

Essential for this hotel and all its amenities is a public presence, guidance, and oversight of dedicated adult professional hospitality management. While the scads of young folks who work here may be earnest with their summer temporary work visas, they lack the experience that visible supervisory staff can provide, which was never evident. Maybe they were in the back room counting the vacationers money.

As a guest, who spent over $1500 for 5 nights, I never felt special, or for that matter, welcomed here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of value for pricepoint.
  • Tips/Secrets — Many fine restaurants in immediate area so skip the hotel restaurant unless you like bland food.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;