We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Not To Do to provide good customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Baltimore, MD
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What Not To Do to provide good customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2006

I just returned from a conference. We had great weather and a wonderful time. The location was great. The room was fine. The customer service, however, was a perfect example of what not to do. The clerks at the desk were almost consistent in not greeting people as they came in. They were very slow in their service, and since they didn't speak, we were not really sure they were still helping us. Later, a nun with a walker was trying to get through some very awkward entrance doors. As she was struggling within sight of the registration desk, no one came to her assistance. Outside and from a distance my companions and I could see her difficulty, and someone with me ran quickly across the parking lot and up the stairs to assist her. The clerks never acknowledged her struggle.

Lines formed at checkout most of the time. It took 3 of us 45 minutes to get through the process. That time included a 10 minute wait for the manager, Tim, to come and discuss our bill. The problem? We booked with a group and all had the exact same situation, but our bills differed greatly. The clerks figured and refigured. Since we needed a statement for reimbursement, we insisted on an accurate statement and one that was the same as everyone else's statement. We were unsuccessful in our efforts. Tim suggested that he could add more to the bills of two people who had already checked out! He said that one in fifty-one customes get lower bills. I never did get an accurate printed bill; my bill had an amount in ink written on it. The clerk insisted it was not possible to get a printed copy of the amount which was written in ink. The clerk emitted an audible sigh when I asked her for an accurate bill -- as if that was an unreasonable request. The quick check-out bill was $100 more than the bill should have been.

There was no one on the premises to help with luggage. The desk clerk pointed to a cart when asked about help. Two of us struggled with the cart to take our things to the 4th floor. The cart remained outside our room for two days.

The whole thing was very odd. We were there for a Cooperative Education Conference. If any of our students performed in their work study jobs as the employees at the front desk of the Atlantic Sands did, we would give our students a failing grade. Basic customer service, basic courtesy should not be unreasonable to expect. After we met Tim, we decided that he provided no role model for the people he supervised.

The weather was great and we had a wonderful time in spite of the bizarre behavior of the employees at the front desk.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cutomer service
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    72
    97
    62
    49
See reviews for
114
81
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Randallstown, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

First, let me say that after reading all of the bad reviews of the Atlantic Sands Hotel, I still took my chances and booked a room. I'm not sure why all of these other people had such horrible experiences. Maybe my good experience was a fluke.

We had called around to the few hotels on the boardwalk only a couple of weeks prior to our arrival and had hoped to reserve an oceanfront room. We figured the best we could get was some standard street view room. Luckily, the Atlantic Sands had an ocean-view Ambassador King suite at a reasonable price for the season. $200/$220 per night. I was told when we made the reservation that we could request an oceanfront room if there was availability at check-in.

So, when we arrived Wednesday evening, we were pleased to see that the hotel had parking spaces right in front of the hotel specifically for checking in. It's nice to not have to drag all of your luggage in when you first check in to a hotel. We had asked the front desk clerk if we could upgrade to an oceanfront room but the only one they had was on the first floor and was smaller than our originally booked room. We stuck with our original choice but was told it, too, was on the first floor. We asked if there was anything similar on a higher floor and she put us on the 3rd floor, same type of room.

Since I had read reviews that the halls were smelly and the rooms were old looking, we were expecting the worst. We were pleasantly surprised to see that our room was so much more than we expected, although the hall smelled a little like cat urine. We had a huge room with a big king bed, a small kitchenette area with a sink, fridge and microwave, a small dining table with 2 chairs, a desk, and a small sleeper sofa. The bathroom was GIGANTIC with a nice sink and lots of room for toiletries, a stand up shower and a HUGE jacuzzi tub with mirrors around it. The balcony was a "french balcony" and only had enough room for us to stand on it but the view was absolutely spectacular. We had a really great view of the ocean and the boardwalk (and the pool). I only wish it had been a sliding door or something so we could sleep with the door open. On one of the nights, there were a group of kids playing (very loud) in the pool (which was already closed) and their parents just sat on the patio outside of their room drinking beer and not doing anything. All it took was a call to the front desk and they sent someone out right away.

On our last night, we ordered room service and the food was DELICIOUS! Expensive but very tasty! Keep in mind that when you order room service, the portions are HUGE and gratuity is already included.

The only complaints I have about the hotel is that there are no lounging chairs on the actual pool level but there is a sundeck just above it. The weather was only nice on our last day anyway but we enjoyed it. The reviews about the shower temperature are right on. The shower temperature was never consistent. It would switch from hot to cold the whole time. Every once in a while, the shower would lose a little pressure and get really cold and then immediately would change to scalding hot water. Also, you might as well use the safe in the room because they'll charge you a $1.50/day anyway. We thought it was only if you used it so we never used the safe. We were charged anyway. Read the fine print!

We requested a late checkout but ended up getting out of the room by 11am anyway. They let us keep our car in the garage until 2pm though, which was very nice.

All in all, I would definitely stay there again, hopefully with better weather.

  • Liked — The location, the view
  • Disliked — the shower temperature
  • Tips/Secrets — Check out the spa....great massage...went by too fast!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2006

We booked weekend stay here this past weekend (sept. 9 & 10 2006) with a wedding. We have stayed here before without a problem but this time we had a problem with some of the staff here.
when we came to check in and stood at the front counter the woman checking us in did not even look up from the desk. First she could not find our reservation. when she finally did find it and finished the checking she was very curt -- no "thank you" or "enjoy your stay" . She acted like it was our fault she could not find our reservation.
When we went to our room we were very disappointed -- it had a really musty, foul odor; so we called the front desk and asked to be moved because we did not want to sleep there. We were told by the woman at the front desk (who practially shouted at us) that there was no possible way our request could be accommodated since the hotel was full, and basically, too bad, we were out of luck. we decided since it was getting late and we already paid for the room just to stay, and try to deal with it and hopefully talk to management in the morning.
That having been said, during the night when we visited the front desk for some stuff we needed and to ask some questions, the night manager (her name is Mimi) took care of us and she was absolutely delightful! i cannot understand how the hotel can have such rude people on one shift and such competent, friendly staff on another. they need to seriously rethink who they are hiring in that place.
In short... it's a nice hotel, but there are better places in town.

  • Liked — The night staff
  • Disliked — The day staff
  • Tips/Secrets — The hotel is right on the boardwalk, so the views and beach access are great.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UpstateNY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

To begin, I'll give credit where credit is due. The Atlantic Sands Hotel in Rehobeth Beach has an incredible location. The property is situated one street north of the picturesque town's main street, Rehobeth Avenue, and fronts the old-fashioned Boardwalk and beach. Beach access is less than a minute from the hotel's front doors. You can't ask to be situated more conveniently.

Unfortunately, many customer incoveniences occured during our five day stay in mid August. Frustrations began with booking directly with the hotel. I purchased a hotel/dinner/show package for two nights, and wished to add two additional nights. This involved a convoluted and long conversation resulting in two separate reservations, checking in and out during mid-stay, and much front desk confusion upon arrival. While in the hotel, we added one more day, which necessitated a room change, but that was no issue as it we knew the hotel may have booked our original room based on the original four night requests.

The rooms are not a good value. We stayed in a small ocean front room and an Ambassador King ocean front room and each room averaged $300 a night + taxes. Neither room had doors on the closets and most of the hangers were missing from the rod rings which are intended to prevent them from being, well... missing. No iron or ironing boards are provided for in the rooms and calling for one was not an option as the phone in the first room did not work. A cellphone call to the front desk informed me I could check in at any time after four. I explained I was already in the room and calling on my cell phone because the phone in the room did not work. This was met with, "Would you like maintenance to fix that?" Now, maybe it's me, but I thought that was a strange question from a hospitality professional regarding what is apparently the optional luxury of phone service in your own room. (See room price again.) In the end it doesn't much matter because no one was ever sent to fix that phone.

Bottom sheets in first room were fitted, but not to the bed. If you move at all during the night, the sheets slide off the satin finished mattress and ensnarl you. I'm guessing the blanket was made of the same material used for space shuttle heat shields. Bathrooms are small, underlit, and the Ambassador Room did not have a mirror save for the one over the bathroom sink. Overall furnishing quality and room condition is motel grade and is below par for the cost, despite the resort location.

As stated in another review, the gym is not noteworthy. The pool is also undersized, as also mentioned in the other review, for the size of the property. However, the most serious shortcoming of this hotel is the restaurant called the Atlantic Seafood Grill. Do not eat here. Entree prices range from low 20s to mid 30s for institutional grade offerings. Example: the Mediterranean Chicken was menued as chicken sauced with tomatoes, kalamata olives, and feta cheese. The kalamata olives were substituted with canned lindsey olives. The feta cheese, olives, and tomatoes were in a white sauce... a gross combination. No oregano or basil were used to highlight any Mediterranean appeal. The taste was sour and flat. The starch was french fries as they had run out of the "starch of the day" as well as the kalamata olives. The Grill apparently does not remove a dish they can't prepare as advertised... whatever's on hand goes onto the plate and the customer is expected to make do. (See entree prices again.)
Kudos must go to the bartender, however, who makes very tasty key lime martinis.

We actually went back for a second night to the restaurant for convenience as we had plans to attend a party immediately after dinner. Maybe the first night was bad luck. Nope. The person in the kitchen who heats food was consistent. An order for medium rare beef tenderloin medallions and lightly seared ahi tuna steaks were both way overdone, which was easy to due with 1/2 inch thick steaks, but there were two steaks of each offering on our plates. One one inch thick steak would have solved the problem. The pineapple wasabi sauce for the tuna lacked any discernable heat from the promised wasabi. This dining room appears to accomodate about 50 to 60 diners at a dinner sitting and had no more than eight people the second night we were there... during high season. What a waste of an extraordinary location and view from the dining room toward the ocean front. I truly felt bad for the courteous and attentive waitstaff who rely on tips to be able to live near this high priced area. A "family hotel" is allowed to present food which is thoughtfully prepared with flavor. Even middle Americans will appreciate the gesture. Trust me.

Essential for this hotel and all its amenities is a public presence, guidance, and oversight of dedicated adult professional hospitality management. While the scads of young folks who work here may be earnest with their summer temporary work visas, they lack the experience that visible supervisory staff can provide, which was never evident. Maybe they were in the back room counting the vacationers money.

As a guest, who spent over $1500 for 5 nights, I never felt special, or for that matter, welcomed here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of value for pricepoint.
  • Tips/Secrets — Many fine restaurants in immediate area so skip the hotel restaurant unless you like bland food.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2006

This place had so many problems, given the price and value, it was the second worst place we ever stayed. We payed for the Ocean Front room at $309 a night, but it overlooked the pool before the ocean, it really should have been called a pool front ocean view. I noticed that there were two parts of the hotel that had genuine ocean front rooms, and immediately I felt ripped off. That was my biggest problem, and the web site doesn't show this, it shows an actual ocean front room.

The pool was way too small for the amount of rooms and guests. It was full of kids throughout all of our stay, and when we did try, it was dirty, full of dead bugs and the water was opaque. It was the first time I didn't go in the pool on vacation.

Next, housekeeping came in during the night shift which was after 4:00p.m., we called for housekeeping not once, not twice, but three times, and when they finally came they left no coffee and forgot the iron and ironing board we requested. We didn't get that iron or ironing board at all throughout our vacation.

The "health club" was such a joke, it's falling appart and totally gross. The staff is less than helpful, and I never believed them when they said they would send something or take care of something "right away," they just ignored any of my requests.

We didn't want to try the restaurant or the spa because of its affiliation with the hotel, HOWEVER, the restaurant was great with beautiful views of the beach (we had dinner there on a rainy romantic night) and delicous food, my wife said the spa was the best she's ever been to, and the coffee shop is just okay, a bit too overpriced.

This hotel is not worth the money, the town is great, the beach is great, the bars and restaurants are really fun; the food is delicous and the drinks are well priced, just stay somewhere else. (Our worst was the Venetian at Las Vegas, price/value - you pay way too much for a room and get treated like [---] if you're not a gazillionaire).

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandshotel, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2006
We thank our guest for the feedback regarding the stay at our hotel. We appreciate the positive remarks on our oceanfront restaurant and mentioning our spa as one of the best anywhere. Also, for listing us on the same level as the Venetian Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas.
We regret that our guest was not satisfied with his guest room. As a seashore convention hotel we serve approximately 60,000 guests yearly. We are proud to say that our customer satisfaction rate is very high, which leads to returning customers who choose us as their destination year after year.
The guest was upset because his room did not have a panoramic view. Panoramic views are almost impossible to obtain at seashore hotels. Most hotels offer ocean front views, which means a direct view of the ocean (see our website for pictures of the rooms and of the view you get from the room).
During the summer our pool is extremely busy. We are a family hotel, that’s why we have so many families and their children in the pool and around the pool area. The pH level and the amount of chemicals in the water are monitored by a state of the art computer system, and should the chemicals not be up to the required levels, they are automatically adjusted. We also receive instant notice of any problems occurring with the pool water. During the month of July, no such notices were received.
We are sorry if there was confusion with Housekeeping. Normally, all our rooms are ready and cleaned by 4 p.m.
We acknowledge that the fitness room does not meet the expectations of all our guests, and plans are on their way to completely remodel and update the equipment in the fitness room. We are constantly trying to upgrade our product and service and we are usually able to satisfy all requests.







Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

I would recommend this hotel, but recommend you ask to stay in the "new section" of the hotel. We wanted to splurge a little and have an ocean front room with a full balcony we could sit on in the early mornings and late evenings. We have a young son and we thought it would be nice for us parents to relax on the balcony while he slept. During the reservations she did not tell me it was a partial balcony on the 1st floor that you could not sit on. Oh well, we decided it wasn't a big deal once we walked into the room. The room was ok, but obviously well used and a little worn out. The bottom of the furniture and the balcony doors had water damage as though it had sat in water. The room cost around $260, had a very small bathroom, the shower temp kept switching from cold to hot which is dangerous. I was cringing inside realizing I was paying so much for this room. I really thought at $260 a night an ocean front room would be nicer. The first night after we returned from a late dinner we realized the air conditioner had leaked all over the carpet. We asked to be moved to another room and they quickly gave us a room in what the desk clerk referred to as the "new section". The clerk was very apologetic and listened to all our complaints. I sure hope they get that shower temp fixed! Yikes.

We quickly moved all our belongings to the new room and were VERY pleased and surprised at how it was much nicer, newer and cleaner. It was not oceanfront and didn't have a balcony, but it had a nice view of a lush green backyard and that was fine with me. The next day we realized the fridge didn't work so we called the desk who sent someone up within a few minutes to fix it. The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job each day and our room was cleaned before lunch time each day. Each day the maid set up my son's stuffed animals on the bed. My son loved that & looked forward to seeing what she did when we returned from the beach. That was a nice touch!

The day we checked out I noticed the room rate was listed as $260. I asked if it should have been adjusted considering we switched rooms. At first the clerk said no, but a manager nearby quickly stepped in and corrected her and apologized for this not being adjusted the night we changed rooms. I think the new rate was around $189?

We didn't try the restaurant, however, we really enjoyed the pool. It was a nice sized pool, clean and had plenty of deck chairs and pool towels.

All and all we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would go back again. I will be certain to ask for a room in the "new section".

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2006

From the moment we checked in, the Atlantic Sands was an unpleasant experience. The front desk staff was suprisingly rude and unaccomodating. Our ocean front room was dirty, stained sheets, smelled, broken TV, and damp. The bathroom was also dirty, short curly hairs on the floor, and stained towels. The best thing about the hotel is the location and the view from the ocean front rooms. Otherwise, it's low rent, with high rent prices. Would never stay here again. The fact that the management attempts to defend itself on every bad review here is part of the problem. It seems they honestly do not think they have any issues, which is very unfortunate. I wish they would simply fix things and make this hotel a better place to stay. For a few more bucks we'll sping for the Boarwalk Plaza or Bellmoor next time.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandshotel, general manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2006
We, as Management, feel that it is our responsibility to respond to every comment regarding our hotel. Many of our guests use this website as a useful tool to make their decision when choosing a hotel. We feel that our side of the story needs to be expressed as well, and that the customer has the right to know our opinion, too.
Our rooms are thoroughly inspected by the Housekeeping inspection team. There is no way a broken TV, dirty bathrooms or stained sheets or towels could have not been noticed by the inspectors. We feel there is a bit of exaggeration on our guest’s part and we would have liked the opportunity to address and correct any problems while the guest was still on site.





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
Boutique, Beach...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#4 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#3 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
Free Parking, I...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#15 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Bea...
#13 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#16 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.