We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, old hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great location, old hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Nothing 'new' here. Top notch location, but suites are small, a family of four will just have enough space to move around in a Suite. Room quality was average at best with our refrigerator broken and the ceiling cracked. Surprisingly the Hotel suffers from a shortage of pillows, yes, pillows! Our room was equipped with couch pillows for sleeping.
On the plus side, pool is clean, and there is outdoor bar on premises so you can self medicate yourself to prepare for a restless night of sleep on you throw pillow.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We realize that not all guests may be familiar with European style square pillows that are used in many fine hotels now and wish you had asked our front desk or housekeeping staff for traditional pillows, as we would have been happy to provide them. There’s no shortage of pillows here and our staff is happy to address any concerns or questions a guest may have about pillows, refrigerators or any of the amenities provided in our guest rooms. We’re proud of our heritage as a landmark oceanfront hotel in Rehoboth Beach and the many renovations and upgrades we have made in the past two years as well as our ongoing projects to beautify our property and make it more enjoyable for all of our guests. We’re happy you enjoyed our brand new pool and Sandcrab beach bar, as well as our fantastic location on the beach and boardwalk and we invite you to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    86
    112
    69
    55
See reviews for
134
96
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just spent the weekend at the best kept secret in Rehoboth Beach Delaware. This hotel was very reasonably priced, amazingly clean with the perfect location. It sits right on the Boardwalk, within easy walking distance of the main shopping/dining avenue. We were lucky to have Tommy and Paige as our poolside servers both days we were there. These two employees worked long hours and when we saw them early into their shift their smiles, efficiency, and great personalities were the same ten hours later as their shift ended. They helped make our Atlantic Sands stay a PERFECT weekend get-away. Every member of the staff was helpful, pleasant and very knowledgeable about the area, dining spots, and shopping venues. The pool overlooking the ocean was peaceful and relaxing - the towels and beach chairs were like new.. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I had read a review about it being loud at night on the weekends and am very glad I overlooked that possibility. After 9pm on both Friday and Saturday night, we heard nothing that I would have considered noisy or aggravating. EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT choice!

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room and could see and hear the ocean from our balcony ----it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Bette, your review sure made us proud today! The buttons on Tommy and Paige’s shirts may pop off, in fact! Our entire staff works hard to make sure guests like you enjoy every minute and aspect of their stay here at the Atlantic Sands Hotel! When we receive glowing reviews like yours we try even harder! We, frankly, cannot add much to your comments except a big THANK YOU! We appreciate you and your comments and sure look forward to the chance to “wow” you with our service again soon! We’ll continue to do our best! Thanks, again for the nod of approval! It means a great deal to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

This is our second year here and likely our last. The first year I liked most everything except the "kitchen" which is really just a leaky mini fridge, a cabinet, a small sink and a microwave. However, it got me off the hook for any food preparation and we adapted to the small quarters and the kids loved the pool and location. My husbands complaint was the noise at night. When I called to make reservations for this year, I mentioned the noise concern and was assured that the mandatory quiet at 9pm was enforced. Let me tell you, it's not. As I right this, I have already called the front desk twice and it's done no good. Doors slamming, kids screaming, adults/kids laughing and talking loudly and kids running up and down the halls at 10:15pm. Between that and the pool not working the first two days we got here, I don't think it's worth the high price of almost $300 per night...so we won't be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
June is a very popular month for wedding parties and youth sports teams on weekends and we regret that occasionally some of our guests are not respectful of others in the hotel. Our advertised “quiet time” is later than 9 p.m. however and our security team is generally able to quiet noisy children and overly excited guests. We are very sorry that you were disturbed. The Atlantic Sands Hotel does not have, or advertise, kitchens but does provide a microwave, coffee maker and mini-fridge in all rooms for the convenience of guests. Some suites also feature granite countertops and cabinets with a small sink in the hospitality area of the rooms. We are sorry you may not plan to vacation with us in the future, despite how much your children enjoy our pool, but appreciate the fact that you rated our location and cleanliness so highly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern VA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Was at the Sands ( wasn't that a famous Las Vegas haunt? ) in early June. I'll mention the only real negative 1st. At the last minute, after having been promised otherwise, we find that the new pool and tiki bar would not be open. I imagine they waited to the last minute to let us know to make it difficult to change plans and go elsewhere....which we probably would have. A chintzy 10% discount was all they offered.
Other than that, all else great. Fabulous location on boardwalk and beach...everything you could possibly want within walking distance. Free beach chairs and towels provided. Ocean was polar cold but I still loved it! Nice showers coming off the beach. The wedding event cocktail party on roof of hotel was spectacular, awesome views. Also the reception hall on the 3rd floor had great views of the beach with floor to ceiling glass panels.
Unless you have to have it, don't spend extra for ocean front rooms....ocean view rooms have big balconies with excellent view of the water. We had a roomy suite, nice having two TV's in different rooms. My wife complained that the AC wasn't doing the job.....I didn't really notice. She was also miffed at having only one mirror in entire suite. All staff was friendly. Mojo cafe had good java and bagels.......lady cashier super friendly. On site parking garage was decent....one elevator was broken. All in all a pretty spiffy place. No 1# amenity is location!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Happy to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed our hotel, our location, our coffee shop and the views! Our cafe and pool were closed, temporarily (they are open now), and we certainly weren't planning on or happy about disappointing any of our guests with that news!
Everything is open and we hope you'll be back to enjoy a stay with us again. Your review will be shared with department leaders and we appreciate your comments. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were very shocked at how clean our rooms were (we had 2). The pool was suppose to be open but was closed for inspection. We were a little disappointed but they did take a fair amount of money of each room each night. They also gave us the option to go somewhere else and we would be refunded.
I left a very Special article of clothing behind ( my daughters very expensive hoodie, her favorite) On our way back to pittsburgh I realized I left it. I spoke to two gentlemen who were not very helpful, but then I spoke to Nina who was wonderful! I received my hoodie today via UPS. We will definitely stay again! We also were able to check in early, which is such a blessing with little ones.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
While we aren’t able to guarantee check in before 4 p.m., we do try to allow guests to check in early if their room is ready. We’re happy that you were able to check in early and that you enjoyed your stay. Our pool was unexpectedly closed, temporarily, and nobody was more upset about that than we were! It’s brand new so we want all our guests to enjoy it and we sure are happy that it is open again now! Thanks for mentioning how honest our Housekeeping staff members are and what a great job they do to keep our hotel clean. Returning the personal item was our pleasure. Nina and others here at the Atlantic Sands understand how much it means to have a treasured item returned. Thank you for your comments! Take care of that hoodie and please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This beachfront hotel has a great location on the beach only a block from the center. The hotel provides free chairs and beach umbrellas for guests - a
nice amenity. The bathroom left something to be desired - small with one mirror and low water pressure. There were no other mirrors in the room! What's up with that!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Donna, we will take your comments regarding the need for additional mirrors into consideration; thank you for providing constructive feedback regarding your stay. Our maintenance manager has also been advised of your room number so that he can check water pressure there. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and our location and amenities and hope that you’ll find your next visit even more enjoyable than your most recent one. We are serious about providing our guests a nice place to have a good time each and every time they visit and stay with us and hope you’ll continue to find that to be true each time you stay with us. Changes and improvements are ongoing throughout our property as many of our long-time guests have witnessed down through the many years they have chosen to stay here at the Atlantic Sands Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure to stay at the hotel for from May 27 through June 1st and found it extremely pleasurable. We had a Suite in the Conference Wing (Room 450), and it had a great size sleeping room with 2 double beds, a good-sized dresser, television and a safe in the sleeping quarters. There was a wet bar located next to the bathroom between the sleeping room and the living room which had another television, large dresser, computer table, coffee table, comfy chair, a pull-out couch and a large balcony. We found it very clean, comfortable and affordable. The two women at the front desk that work the week days were simply lovely. They gave us tips on various things. This hotel has a breakfast, lunch & dinner restaurant located on the ground floor which is directly on the boardwalk. They had just finished construction on their new pool area and an area for good summer food and drinks adjacent to the pool. This does close at 9:00 pm, as not to disrupt the guests that are trying to enjoy a peaceful time while in their rooms. We have stayed at this hotel since 1987 when we go to Rehoboth Beach and love it. We have stayed elsewhere and found that this was the best bang for our bucks and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great stay at the beach. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The rooms in the Conference side are quieter and great for singles or couples. The suites on the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Debra, thank you! We will eagerly await the opportunity to welcome you back to the Atlantic Sands! It is so nice to hear that you found our front desk personnel to be friendly and helpful! We also appreciate knowing that, when compared with other local hotels, you find a stay at the Atlantic Sands to be your preferred spot for an overnight stay or retreat! Please let us know when you plan to come back to enjoy our new pool and restaurants again! We promise to welcome you again with a smile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.