We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the view and location...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Come for the view and location...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at the sands for Jazz fest weekend. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The room itself looks like it mainly had cosmetic update rather than a full renovation. For example granite counter tops and sink in the bathroom yet the floor is still old grey tile that does not match the carpeting in the room nor the tan granite sinks. lLok up and you realize a major corner had been cut; the low drop ceiling had been painted and edges sealed where the metal meets the panel and is rusty near the shower. It does not end there, the main doer near the balcony and the surrounding window had an obvious issue that was not addressed. Every time you opened or closed the blinds a chunk of plaster came down on you or fell into the air conditioner. Edges of the room were dusty and so were the lampshades. The two beds have two different sheet patterns and a plain tan blanket had burn holes on it. The spread at the bottom was the only thing that looked nice. This looks like hell and needs to be addressed! The balcony had 3 different colors of paint on the cement and the chairs out there were cheap, old and stained. Basically this lack of attention in these areas is not expected at this price point. No complimentary breakfast or even coffee is provided as is common in many of the other hotels in Rehoboth. The view to the ocean however is excellent. We will probably stay again just for that but home these issues with the room will be addressed. Hope this review helps.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a full balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for mentioning our friendly and helpful staff members. We appreciate your comments and want you to know that more upgrades and improvements to rooms at the hotel are planned to begin in the next few weeks. Our efforts to improve the facility are ongoing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    71
    97
    62
    48
See reviews for
112
79
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Mold in bathroom and interior walls, nails/tacks sticking out of carpet cut our feet, electrical wiring hazard causing microwave to stop working, rude maintenance staff banging/hammering/drilling/yelling at 8am and loud ignorant housekeeping employees barging into our room TWO HOURS before check out time make your hotel a place we will never visit again. I will be sure to tell everyone in earshot of such details as well.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Our Housekeeping and Maintenance Director have been made aware of this review. We regret the problems reported by this guest and are investigating. Appropriate action will be taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just stayed during the long Columbus Day Holiday weekend. Sadly a small tropical storm was parked right off the coast of Delaware and made the beach community a little rainy and very windy. This of course made for the views, and the central location harder to appreciate but here goes our review.

The location is right on the boardwalk in Rehoboth Beach and an easy walking distance to all that Rehoboth Beach has to offer. Check in was simple with parking spots in front for those checking in and then self parking garage right at the site. Navigating the building is a little impaired as they only have signs and no commonly placed maps to help. This made things challenging when we checked out and I picked up one of the luggage dolly and got off on the 4th floor conference side and not the 4R for the hotel side so I had to go down a couple of steps. We had a limited view of the beach from our balcony and it was nice, and could only imagine it being better if the rain and wind had not prevented us from trying to sit out there.

The building itself is showings it age, older carpets, smaller elevators with musty smell and rooms could use a face lift. The price was acceptable for a holiday weekend in the off season but I imagine during the summer it is more pricey. They have a pool (which was closed) which is facing the ocean and there is a roof deck area too. We had to go out for breakfast as the café barely had anything other than coffee and standard eggs, cheese and pick your protein on a bagel sandwich. Remarkably though when comparing prices to places in town this was only $30 a night more expensive so having easy beach access was appreciated and does give this place value. Wish I had a better weekend to be able to actually experience and have a better perspective of the location.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a better view Don't forget Dogfish Head has a restaurant in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Sands for a conference and had a double room in the old section overlooking the water. Unfortuantely, it was a rainy weekend and we had just as much water leaking from the ceiling as there was falling outside. We toughed out the constant deluge the first night after calls and a visit to the front desk went unanswered. The second night we demanded a new room. As soon as we walked in, you could smell that it had the same problem - the mildew smell was overwhelming, the plaster had fallen off of the ceiling behind the curtains, the carpet under the window and sliding door was soaked and there was water on/in the air conditioner. We had to again ask for a new room and were finally moved to the new section of the hotel. These rooms are much more modern and relatively clean, which could not be said for the older section of the hotel. We also believed the web site that advertised the restaurant and amenities - none of which were open.
Our room was not worth the money - we will not be going back.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the new section. Don't expect food service. The old section of the hotel is run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Unfortunately, some of our rooms did incur unexpected water damage caused by 4 consecutive days of gale force winds when a severe nor’easter pounded the beach (and our hotel) with 7 inches of torrential rain this past weekend. Repairs, of course, could not be made until the rain and wind subsided. Some repairs have been completed and a few rooms were taken off market. The majority of our rooms sustained no damage and our front desk staff did their best to move guests, which was challenging given that the hotel was largely occupied. Our restaurants, as many in town do, have seasonal hours of operation. We apologize for the fact that the stormy weekend made this challenging for some.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This place looks like three holets that where joined together, the place is a maze to navigate if you r party is staying in more than one room. We stayed there for a wedding and asked for two rooms they said that would be no problem, when it was time to check in they put us in different buildings. One room had a nice view of the sea, was very spacious but the furniture and carpets were old and and crappy. the other room it seems was renovated but it was supper small and with a view to the next door house. Since we came here for a wedding and not necessarily for the view or the amenities it was ok. The price they charge is too much for what they offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Our hotel is in one building and has an east wing and a west wing. We are pleased that this guest rated us highly for sleep comfort, location and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to stay here for the on site restaurant, coffee shop, breakfast buffet...but none of that! The oven view that you pay extra for was nice, if you just want to sit in the chair or on the bed and look out the sliding glass door. No balcony to sit on like we expected. When we complained to the front desk lady, she was nice, but blamed it on the booking site we went to for the wrong information. I guess you should call Hotels.com and let them know they got the wrong info about your hotel. If we hadn't prepaid, we would have left. Not coming back here. Promise you that!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Unfortunately, we cannot always control what third party booking sites may suggest about our hotel; we do however provide accurate information to guests who call us to make reservations about the seasonal hours of our restaurant and the amenities of our hotel. Had the guest requested a room with a balcony prior to checking out, we might have been able to provide it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Township, PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This past weekend we stayed overnight at the Atlantic Sands Hotel while visiting Rehoboth Beach for a family wedding. The hotel was fairly nice but when we went down several hallways we noticed many of the rugs need to be replaced; they were dirty and worn. Our room was clean, but there weren't any extra blankets and barely enough towels for the two of us. We had no choice but to take a room with a jacuzzi that didn't work anyway! (The control knobs were sealed off. Nice!) The bathroom floor looked like it needed some work.

Several issues arose which put a damper on our stay. We had called for an early check-in so that we could unpack, change, and get ready to board the shuttle bus which was taking us to the wedding ceremony. The desk clerk assured my husband that "the room will be ready by 12:00."
We arrived at 1:00 -- tired after 5 hours of driving and anxious to get in our room and get ready.
Well, the room still wasn't ready and we had to hang around in the lobby with our luggage for over an hour until they hurried the staff to clean our room. We just barely made it in time for the shuttle. What should have been a relaxing time turned out to be very stressful.

To make matters worse, there was a discrepancy over the price; this dispute still hasn't been resolved and we're not sure of the outcome. When we arrived and began talking to other family members, we discovered that we were charged $100.00 more than anyone else! We complained, but to no avail. The desk clerk claimed there wasn't anything she could do about it.
She wouldn't even consider deducting anything for our inconvenience. Before we departed, we spoke to a member of the wedding party about this matter, so it's possible that he may have interceded on our behalf.

The staff wasn't very friendly and at times they were even a bit surly. However, the housekeeping and maintenance staff with whom we spoke were the nicest, friendliest people in the hotel. As we made our way to our room, a nice young man who was setting up tables went out of his way to show us to the nearest elevator and then he helped us with our luggage rack, which had to be lifted over a small set of stairs. He was genuinely friendly, helpful, and polite. He refused a tip, but I insisted that he take it. I could tell he would have helped us, whether or not he got a tip.

The following morning wasn't much better. In our room there was a tiny coffeemaker and only one small pack of coffee. When we made it, there was barely a cup for the two of us to share. My husband took a walk to the lobby where one of the employees encouraged him to "go next door, to our coffee shop." (Many hotels offer free coffee in the lobby for guests.) When he went there, he discovered that there was coffee, at $2.00 a cup and not "free" as the employee implied. It might not be a big deal, but there's something so wrong about that -- it seems very chintzy on the part of the hotel and just another way to gouge the guests. We've traveled quite a bit and I know that these little amenities are things that travelers have come to expect from the smallest motel to the grandest hotel.

About the only good thing I can say is that the hotel was located close to the beach, which was beautiful. Because of the quality and the service, in our opinion the Atlantic Sands is overpriced and overrated. We plan to visit Delaware next year, but we'll never stay at this hotel again, nor will we recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
This guest arrived at noon to prepare for an early-mid afternoon wedding event the same day, and became upset that early check in was not immediately possible. We believe it is reasonable to expect that more than 1 hour is required for even a large housekeeping staff to prepare up to 180 rooms for new arrivals. Some guests of the wedding party became irate when they arrived at noon and were unable to access their rooms. Some became abusive to our front desk staff. We are not aware of, nor did an inspection reveal that, any of our Jacuzzi tubs have sealed off or inoperable controls; however some operate via pushbutton rather than turning of knobs. A simple call to the front desk might have quickly allowed the guest to enjoy the Jacuzzi tub or obtain more complimentary coffee for their room. A review also revealed that all guests of the wedding party were billed correctly for the type and location of the rooms they reserved. As is customary, not all suites and rooms are available at the same rate. While this guest may not have been billed the same rate as another guest in a different room type, this guest was billed the correct amount for their stay. We are pleased that the guest found our housekeeping and maintenance staff to be friendly and our oceanfront location in town to be wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.