We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainy weekend prevented the ability for hotel to shine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rainy weekend prevented the ability for hotel to shine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just stayed during the long Columbus Day Holiday weekend. Sadly a small tropical storm was parked right off the coast of Delaware and made the beach community a little rainy and very windy. This of course made for the views, and the central location harder to appreciate but here goes our review.

The location is right on the boardwalk in Rehoboth Beach and an easy walking distance to all that Rehoboth Beach has to offer. Check in was simple with parking spots in front for those checking in and then self parking garage right at the site. Navigating the building is a little impaired as they only have signs and no commonly placed maps to help. This made things challenging when we checked out and I picked up one of the luggage dolly and got off on the 4th floor conference side and not the 4R for the hotel side so I had to go down a couple of steps. We had a limited view of the beach from our balcony and it was nice, and could only imagine it being better if the rain and wind had not prevented us from trying to sit out there.

The building itself is showings it age, older carpets, smaller elevators with musty smell and rooms could use a face lift. The price was acceptable for a holiday weekend in the off season but I imagine during the summer it is more pricey. They have a pool (which was closed) which is facing the ocean and there is a roof deck area too. We had to go out for breakfast as the café barely had anything other than coffee and standard eggs, cheese and pick your protein on a bagel sandwich. Remarkably though when comparing prices to places in town this was only $30 a night more expensive so having easy beach access was appreciated and does give this place value. Wish I had a better weekend to be able to actually experience and have a better perspective of the location.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a better view Don't forget Dogfish Head has a restaurant in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    107
    123
    78
    58
See reviews for
162
104
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Sands for a conference and had a double room in the old section overlooking the water. Unfortuantely, it was a rainy weekend and we had just as much water leaking from the ceiling as there was falling outside. We toughed out the constant deluge the first night after calls and a visit to the front desk went unanswered. The second night we demanded a new room. As soon as we walked in, you could smell that it had the same problem - the mildew smell was overwhelming, the plaster had fallen off of the ceiling behind the curtains, the carpet under the window and sliding door was soaked and there was water on/in the air conditioner. We had to again ask for a new room and were finally moved to the new section of the hotel. These rooms are much more modern and relatively clean, which could not be said for the older section of the hotel. We also believed the web site that advertised the restaurant and amenities - none of which were open.
Our room was not worth the money - we will not be going back.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the new section. Don't expect food service. The old section of the hotel is run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Unfortunately, some of our rooms did incur unexpected water damage caused by 4 consecutive days of gale force winds when a severe nor’easter pounded the beach (and our hotel) with 7 inches of torrential rain this past weekend. Repairs, of course, could not be made until the rain and wind subsided. Some repairs have been completed and a few rooms were taken off market. The majority of our rooms sustained no damage and our front desk staff did their best to move guests, which was challenging given that the hotel was largely occupied. Our restaurants, as many in town do, have seasonal hours of operation. We apologize for the fact that the stormy weekend made this challenging for some.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to stay here for the on site restaurant, coffee shop, breakfast buffet...but none of that! The oven view that you pay extra for was nice, if you just want to sit in the chair or on the bed and look out the sliding glass door. No balcony to sit on like we expected. When we complained to the front desk lady, she was nice, but blamed it on the booking site we went to for the wrong information. I guess you should call Hotels.com and let them know they got the wrong info about your hotel. If we hadn't prepaid, we would have left. Not coming back here. Promise you that!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Unfortunately, we cannot always control what third party booking sites may suggest about our hotel; we do however provide accurate information to guests who call us to make reservations about the seasonal hours of our restaurant and the amenities of our hotel. Had the guest requested a room with a balcony prior to checking out, we might have been able to provide it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Township, PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This past weekend we stayed overnight at the Atlantic Sands Hotel while visiting Rehoboth Beach for a family wedding. The hotel was fairly nice but when we went down several hallways we noticed many of the rugs need to be replaced; they were dirty and worn. Our room was clean, but there weren't any extra blankets and barely enough towels for the two of us. We had no choice but to take a room with a jacuzzi that didn't work anyway! (The control knobs were sealed off. Nice!) The bathroom floor looked like it needed some work.

Several issues arose which put a damper on our stay. We had called for an early check-in so that we could unpack, change, and get ready to board the shuttle bus which was taking us to the wedding ceremony. The desk clerk assured my husband that "the room will be ready by 12:00."
We arrived at 1:00 -- tired after 5 hours of driving and anxious to get in our room and get ready.
Well, the room still wasn't ready and we had to hang around in the lobby with our luggage for over an hour until they hurried the staff to clean our room. We just barely made it in time for the shuttle. What should have been a relaxing time turned out to be very stressful.

To make matters worse, there was a discrepancy over the price; this dispute still hasn't been resolved and we're not sure of the outcome. When we arrived and began talking to other family members, we discovered that we were charged $100.00 more than anyone else! We complained, but to no avail. The desk clerk claimed there wasn't anything she could do about it.
She wouldn't even consider deducting anything for our inconvenience. Before we departed, we spoke to a member of the wedding party about this matter, so it's possible that he may have interceded on our behalf.

The staff wasn't very friendly and at times they were even a bit surly. However, the housekeeping and maintenance staff with whom we spoke were the nicest, friendliest people in the hotel. As we made our way to our room, a nice young man who was setting up tables went out of his way to show us to the nearest elevator and then he helped us with our luggage rack, which had to be lifted over a small set of stairs. He was genuinely friendly, helpful, and polite. He refused a tip, but I insisted that he take it. I could tell he would have helped us, whether or not he got a tip.

The following morning wasn't much better. In our room there was a tiny coffeemaker and only one small pack of coffee. When we made it, there was barely a cup for the two of us to share. My husband took a walk to the lobby where one of the employees encouraged him to "go next door, to our coffee shop." (Many hotels offer free coffee in the lobby for guests.) When he went there, he discovered that there was coffee, at $2.00 a cup and not "free" as the employee implied. It might not be a big deal, but there's something so wrong about that -- it seems very chintzy on the part of the hotel and just another way to gouge the guests. We've traveled quite a bit and I know that these little amenities are things that travelers have come to expect from the smallest motel to the grandest hotel.

About the only good thing I can say is that the hotel was located close to the beach, which was beautiful. Because of the quality and the service, in our opinion the Atlantic Sands is overpriced and overrated. We plan to visit Delaware next year, but we'll never stay at this hotel again, nor will we recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
This guest arrived at noon to prepare for an early-mid afternoon wedding event the same day, and became upset that early check in was not immediately possible. We believe it is reasonable to expect that more than 1 hour is required for even a large housekeeping staff to prepare up to 180 rooms for new arrivals. Some guests of the wedding party became irate when they arrived at noon and were unable to access their rooms. Some became abusive to our front desk staff. We are not aware of, nor did an inspection reveal that, any of our Jacuzzi tubs have sealed off or inoperable controls; however some operate via pushbutton rather than turning of knobs. A simple call to the front desk might have quickly allowed the guest to enjoy the Jacuzzi tub or obtain more complimentary coffee for their room. A review also revealed that all guests of the wedding party were billed correctly for the type and location of the rooms they reserved. As is customary, not all suites and rooms are available at the same rate. While this guest may not have been billed the same rate as another guest in a different room type, this guest was billed the correct amount for their stay. We are pleased that the guest found our housekeeping and maintenance staff to be friendly and our oceanfront location in town to be wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Mills, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We just got back from staying at the Atlantic Sands Hotel. It was just okay, outdated, but clean. The personal were friendly and helpful. There were no extra towel, pillows, or blankets in the room as there usually are in most hotels. We were lucky enough to have a balcony you could sit on and a great view of the ocean. The King size beds were huge. There was nowhere in the hotel to eat breakfast, but we went to the local IHop.We also lucked out with a fabulous October weekend that was very hot and more like summer, so we made good use of the beach, We were actually there for a family wedding, so this was a plus! Anyway, not a bad hotel, but it certainly could use some improvement. Oh, also the safe did not work in our room. I used it anyway. Luckliy nothing was stolen.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny and have balonies you can sit on. If you need another bed, you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Our staff members are friendly and we’re happy that you enjoyed them, our oceanfront location and our comfortable beds! We hope that you called our front desk staff to request more towels. Upgrades and improvements to the entire facility will continue. We sincerely hope that you’ll visit for another enjoyable stay. And we wish the newly married couple a long and happy life together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Outstanding service provided by Mins,Debbie& Holly! Carpets need serious attention. Overall room very clean & location of hotel is outstanding! I look forward to the improvements! Again, carpets need replacing & bathroom floor need major work.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for complimenting staff members on the service you received. We appreciate your comments and want to assure you that our improvements and upgrades to the facility are on-going. Not resting on the fact that we have an exceptional oceanfront location, the management and staffs of the Atlantic Sands are committed to providing excellent service while continually making changes to enhance the comfort and convenience of our valued guests. We hope you’ll visit again to enjoy the changes made each year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

First trip to Rehoboth...We stayed in a double room...the beds were barely full size beds, and not very comfortable at that. The room smelled of having had an air freshener of some kind to cover up a smell. The room was very dated. Did have a view of the ocean, which was a plus...but no balcony. However, the proximity to the ocean was the only thing positive. The hotel seemed like some sort of a maze, trying to get from one area to another. Then there were the prices....geez....$380 for two nights in late september is akin to highway robbery....especially for a hotel room that would rival a Motel 6 if not on the ocean...very dissatisfied...would never stay there again for those prices....and that was with a "special" wedding block rate....oh my....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We understand that some of those unfamiliar with the area find Rehoboth rates to be higher than that to which they may be accustomed. Our rates are very competitive in the Rehoboth Beach market where our location, as a beachfront hotel, and our history of serving our guests in clean and comfortable rooms for over 50 years, makes us a highly sought after hotel. While we were pleased to be selected as the hotel of choice by the wedding party, we are sorry to hear that you found our large hotel difficult to navigate. Our front desk personnel would have happily provided a map to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#3 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#16 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#15 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.