We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not great...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Purcellville, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not great...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

When my family and I travel, we usually stay at higher end chaing hotels, so after reading reviews we were a bit apprehensive... We stayed 2 nights June 7/8th.

Yes, the hotel is a bit dated, we stayed in a 2 room suite on south side. We had a balcony, but no chairs, unlike most other rooms on our 2nd level. It was an ocean view, but barely. Room was fine, refrigerator was a little rusty. From the outside, sitting at the pool, the ocean front balconies look like they needed a lot of work. Cleaning staff was prompt and did a good job.

As for Internet, first night was pleasantly surprised, very fast, next day noticed the router in the hallway near our room. Second night, unable to connect to network. So call it a wash.

Security could be an issue, elevator in parking lot to hotel floors allows anyone off the street to go into the hotel, would be nice if it required a hotel key to operate.

Location was great, I think that is the selling point if you want to stay here. Pool was nice. If vacationing in Rehoboth again, I would consider staying here again in regards to price/amenities vs other motels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We hope that the renovations and enhancements we continue to make will make your already enjoyable stays with us even more enjoyable in the future. We are committed to improving the comfort, safety and oceanfront experience for all of our guests, and are pleased that you plan to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    101
    122
    78
    57
See reviews for
155
103
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A bit time-worn, but clean, large rooms with King beds. Only real complaint was unruly guests making lots of noise and ruckus and the hallways at all hours. A big plus - right on the Rehoboth Beach boardwalk and very close to some great restaurants/bars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This place has a great location for families staying at the beach. Walking distance to everything! Our room was very standard no frills overlooking the pool and beach. A little expensive at $280, but worth it for the view and the fact that we could walk everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The location is great; however the room and staff are mediocre. We had an ocean view which was lovely. The hotel needs to be updated. Our room was not made up one morning; when I advised the staff at the desk she asked me if I had the Do Not Disturb sign out. I said yes but it was removed around 10:30; she then told me that is why. So she is basically telling me they don't clean up rooms after 10:30. Needlesss to say there will be no tip. And to top it off there was no apology.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Please accept our apologies. We’re pleased that you enjoyed your room and truly hope you’ll stay with us again. We expect every guest room to be cleaned unless otherwise requested and apologize that yours was not prepared soon after your “do not disturb” sign was removed. We will address your concerns with our staff members immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
211 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The location is great. Just one block over from Rehoboth Ave. and on the beach. The hotel is showing its age. Everything is outdated. The lobby is not very welcoming. The rooms are decent in size. Fridge and microwave are a bonus. We ran out of hot water (!?!) one morning.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor. Our first floor room was not good - too much street noise, people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Our hotel continues to be a landmark in Rehoboth and we continue to renovate and update the facility. We are happy that you enjoyed our location and amenities and will strive to make our lobby more inviting. We hope you'll agree that our front desk staff were welcoming and friendly, and that your room was clean and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My daughter was married this past Saturday. We had a Sunday brunch (also happened to be Mother's Day) at the Atlantic Sands Hotel for our 50 guests. The food was excellent. The staff was great. Lindsay Odenwelder was our event coordinator from Atlantic Sands. She was great to work with. She was very accommodating to our needs. It was a beautiful location, right on the boardwalk. We received many compliments from our guests. I can't say enough about our beautiful experience.
Thank you,
Cindy Stigler

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review. Every staff member of the Atlantic Sands Hotel appreciates the recognition of their efforts to provide excellent service and a memorable occasion for each and every guest. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the experience and took the time to write this review. We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you, again, for your comments and praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Okay, I can understand things not being "perfect", but this hotel was totally unacceptable. No vent fan in bathroom so trying to dry hair and do makeup was uncomfortable. The only mirror
was above bathroom sink and no full length mirrors for dressing, etc. Room was "under construction" with a sink by the refrigerator and microwave that was not installed and sitting on the floor. "Closet" had no door and had been dry walled but not painted and dry wall dust got all over clothing. Tried to nap in afternoon and couldn't because renovations were taking place and drilling was going on in room above us. Maids were having a party in their lounge with the doors open and talking and laughing loudly. Closing doors loudly as they were going down the hall cleaning and talking loudly as well. Does staff not know a hotel is supposed to be QUIET? I notice breakfast is mentioned as an accommodation and it is not! The "coffee machine" in the room is a single cup brewer with one regular and one decaf packet and tastes terrible. Had to go to coffee shop next to hotel which is open for 4 hrs only from 7A-11A.
Ocean view is craning your neck around the corner of a balcony and a great view of parking lot and dumpsters. Air conditioning was loud, outdated and condensation was leaking on the floor. Spoke with manager and she never got back to us.
Save yourself a nightmare trip like ours and DON'T STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Don't stay here. There are many other hotels to choose from along the boardwalk. This is under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We sincerely regret that we were unable to satisfy you during your stay. The manager who spoke with you about your noise concerns at 3 p.m. that Saturday took immediate steps to rectify the situation and came back to your room to find the “do not disturb” sign on the door. Our hotel staff members do all that they can to provide guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay and we regret that you did not have the same experience as those in the same type of rooms around you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#3 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#16 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#14 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.