We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The vacation that was a nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Cleveland, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The vacation that was a nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Okay, I can understand things not being "perfect", but this hotel was totally unacceptable. No vent fan in bathroom so trying to dry hair and do makeup was uncomfortable. The only mirror
was above bathroom sink and no full length mirrors for dressing, etc. Room was "under construction" with a sink by the refrigerator and microwave that was not installed and sitting on the floor. "Closet" had no door and had been dry walled but not painted and dry wall dust got all over clothing. Tried to nap in afternoon and couldn't because renovations were taking place and drilling was going on in room above us. Maids were having a party in their lounge with the doors open and talking and laughing loudly. Closing doors loudly as they were going down the hall cleaning and talking loudly as well. Does staff not know a hotel is supposed to be QUIET? I notice breakfast is mentioned as an accommodation and it is not! The "coffee machine" in the room is a single cup brewer with one regular and one decaf packet and tastes terrible. Had to go to coffee shop next to hotel which is open for 4 hrs only from 7A-11A.
Ocean view is craning your neck around the corner of a balcony and a great view of parking lot and dumpsters. Air conditioning was loud, outdated and condensation was leaking on the floor. Spoke with manager and she never got back to us.
Save yourself a nightmare trip like ours and DON'T STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Don't stay here. There are many other hotels to choose from along the boardwalk. This is under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We sincerely regret that we were unable to satisfy you during your stay. The manager who spoke with you about your noise concerns at 3 p.m. that Saturday took immediate steps to rectify the situation and came back to your room to find the “do not disturb” sign on the door. Our hotel staff members do all that they can to provide guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay and we regret that you did not have the same experience as those in the same type of rooms around you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    74
    97
    62
    49
See reviews for
114
82
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is an OLD hotel with a dank, smelly, dated interior, and really, really, really BAD mattresses! We had to move the top mattress to the floor in order to sleep. Our room was listed as an "ocean view" which apparently means that if you lean your head out over the parking lot side balcony, you can see the ocean -- sort of. The staff was nice enough but NOT VERY HELPFUL. We were promised an upgrade to a king bed but was refused when we checked in. Stay some where else. Just saying.

Room Tip: don't stay here?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Our goal is to provide our guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We are sorry to learn that you were not among our satisfied guests, and regret that your concerns were not raised to management while you were still here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is our second time staying in this hotel. Somewhat dated in its decor, (hence not the 5 rating) but about to soon undergo an update. It doesn't matter, because the location can't be beat, the staff are very friendly and helpful and have always done their best to accomodate us. We have stayed in 3 different rooms, all of which were very clean, relaxing, and with a view of the ocean which is very important to us. This is absolutely our first choice hotel when staying in Rehoboth!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you sharing your wonderful photo of the rays of sun streaming from the clouds above the beach and ocean! It is a beautiful example of the views from our oceanfront rooms! We are so pleased to know that you favor our hotel over others here in Rehoboth and we hope you will visit again soon! We remain committed to earning your your praise and hope you will continue to enjoy our service and facility, time after time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stay here frequently and no matter what part of the hotel we are in the wireless works extremely poorly. If you need reliable Internet connectivity, don't stay here.

Otherwise, the rooms are fine. No frills, but you pay for proximity to the beach. Nice views from all rooms. Staff is generally friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We are pleased that you are a frequent guest and hope that you have seen and will enjoy again some of the renovations and improvements we have been making to our hotel. The wireless service at the hotel has been greatly improved over the last year and we continue to monitor and correct any issues with the service. From time to time, when the hotel (including the restaurant and café) is filled to near capacity and guests are using multiple devices, there are issues with access. The majority of the time our guests find our free wireless service meets their needs. Still, we continue to monitor and enhance the strength and capacity of our system. We appreciate your comments and hope that you will notify our front desk manager during your stay if you encounter a problem during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I’m not sure how high or low to rate this property so as to be informative to the Trip Advisor inquirers. A listing of the positives will be somewhat countered by nagging little irritants never found at better lodgings. When thinking about the good points I suppose one could overlook the depleted batteries in the tv remote or the leaking toilet that flushes a top-up refill every five minutes or the free but erratic wi-fi. Could it be that these were concerns to my room only and will soon be remedied by hotel staff? An interior designer’s sample presentation board on display suggests major renovations are in the offing. Whether this would also translate into correcting the irritants by frequent battery replacement and new toilet flaps remains a question. The main positive is the hotel’s location on the boardwalk, allowing a short walk to the beach, shops, and fine restaurants; perhaps this alone is compelling enough to stay here. Covered parking beneath the hotel is another plus, avoiding the need to schlep luggage and beach gear long distances. When thinking about lodging for a beach vacation, one usually contemplates spending most of the time outside the room, so that all that is really necessary are clean sheets, clean towels, and a tv remote. I got two out of three.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your business trip and stay and apologize for the two minor concerns you mentioned. I hope you contacted our front desk to have the batteries in the tv remote replaced and the other annoyance eliminated while you were here. Our goal is to ensure that every aspect of your stay here is enjoyable. We hope you’ll find it so on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Great location next to the boardwalk and beach - great staff - good food - good value. Not be passed up whether coming to Rehoboth for a vacation or a meeting. The facility for a meeting was terrific.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you! We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our meeting facilities, too. We value and appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel on the boardwalk is an exciting place to stay while visiting Rehoboth, but the upkeep needs some improvements. Having stayed at many properties at beach locations, they usually have some amount of sand and mold smells, however we found that the Atlantic Sands had more than should be present. Must admit the food was great, cocktails overlooking the ocean and the staff all off set any negatives we may have encountered. Will be sure to stop by again and see if they have improved on their service. All in all it was an average stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We appreciate your comments and will look into your concerns. Thank you for appreciating our staff and the food and beverages you enjoyed as well as our location! Do visit again! We continue to make improvements and hope you'll always enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.