We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Positives Trump The Negatives?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Harrisburg, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Do Positives Trump The Negatives?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I’m not sure how high or low to rate this property so as to be informative to the Trip Advisor inquirers. A listing of the positives will be somewhat countered by nagging little irritants never found at better lodgings. When thinking about the good points I suppose one could overlook the depleted batteries in the tv remote or the leaking toilet that flushes a top-up refill every five minutes or the free but erratic wi-fi. Could it be that these were concerns to my room only and will soon be remedied by hotel staff? An interior designer’s sample presentation board on display suggests major renovations are in the offing. Whether this would also translate into correcting the irritants by frequent battery replacement and new toilet flaps remains a question. The main positive is the hotel’s location on the boardwalk, allowing a short walk to the beach, shops, and fine restaurants; perhaps this alone is compelling enough to stay here. Covered parking beneath the hotel is another plus, avoiding the need to schlep luggage and beach gear long distances. When thinking about lodging for a beach vacation, one usually contemplates spending most of the time outside the room, so that all that is really necessary are clean sheets, clean towels, and a tv remote. I got two out of three.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your business trip and stay and apologize for the two minor concerns you mentioned. I hope you contacted our front desk to have the batteries in the tv remote replaced and the other annoyance eliminated while you were here. Our goal is to ensure that every aspect of your stay here is enjoyable. We hope you’ll find it so on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    74
    97
    62
    50
See reviews for
114
82
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Great location next to the boardwalk and beach - great staff - good food - good value. Not be passed up whether coming to Rehoboth for a vacation or a meeting. The facility for a meeting was terrific.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you! We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our meeting facilities, too. We value and appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel on the boardwalk is an exciting place to stay while visiting Rehoboth, but the upkeep needs some improvements. Having stayed at many properties at beach locations, they usually have some amount of sand and mold smells, however we found that the Atlantic Sands had more than should be present. Must admit the food was great, cocktails overlooking the ocean and the staff all off set any negatives we may have encountered. Will be sure to stop by again and see if they have improved on their service. All in all it was an average stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We appreciate your comments and will look into your concerns. Thank you for appreciating our staff and the food and beverages you enjoyed as well as our location! Do visit again! We continue to make improvements and hope you'll always enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed for one night in April and will certainly be back. The room looked newly renovated including the bathroom. The location right on the boardwalk was perfect for parking the car and walking to everything. The beds were very comfortable and plenty of pillows. We booked an ocean front and the balcony was large with 2 chairs. I know the rates increase by Summer season but we may consider booking due to our great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you, Diane! We strive to earn this type of feedback from our guests and are so pleased that the Atlantic Sands Hotel met your expectations! We hope you will visit us again and we look forward to warmly welcoming you when you do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We first stayed here when we were dating, 30 years ago. The ocean front rooms are still part of the original hotel, though there are many rooms and a conference center in the new wing, which includes some rooms that are "ocean view". We found a deal on Priceline and got an ocean front room for $60, including taxes and fees! The rooms are old, the doors don't close properly, and the mattresses are soft....but that said we had a flat screen tv, a small fridge, a microwave, and an updated bathroom all for that price. Our room overlooked the boardwalk and the beach...lovely! We couldn't sleep in one bed because we rolled into the middle, but there were two double beds with lots of pillows so we two were comfortable. No way 4 people could stay in this room and get a good night's sleep. We walked on the boardwalk, ate Fisher's popcorn and Thrasher's fries, then played pinball in the arcade, just like 30 years ago.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We love the sentimental fact that you were here when you dated 30 years ago! Thanks for sharing that news! And congratulations! Many of our rooms will be new and fresh starting next month when the west wing renovations will be complete. And new bedding is arriving, too! Our remaining rooms are slated for renovations next winter. We hope you’ll come back to visit us again for not only the view but for the creature comforts we’re adding to make your stay more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sands for one night. The location is spectacular, especially if you choose oceanfront. Our room was right on the boardwalk, so it was fun to sit on the balcony and watch the people and dogs trot the boardwalk or the beach. Check-in was pleasant and efficient. The room was nice, but quite small for the money. It was clean. The bed was comfortable, but not cushy like most hotels now. I was happy to have a regular blanket. My new pet peeve is the motels and hotels that only have the down-like comforters. They are too hot for me, so I either have to sweat (flash for you older women who understand) or freeze. For off season, the rate was fine. If you want to pay in the $300's for summer---ahhh----I guess if you want the prime location. We'd go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, found our staff pleasant and our hotel clean and comfortable, and that you plan to return! There are larger rooms and suites available if you would like to consider one for your next stay. Upgrades and renovations continue and we are pleased that so many of our guests appreciate the value we offer at our exceptional oceanfront location! We look forward to greeting you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Before stating any of the following we have been to this hotel many of times in the past. I must say we are highly dissappointed with the confusion we have been receiving even before we arrive. We originally booked an oceanfront room for ourselves back in January for this weekend. Our friends also have called to book thier rooms but asked for the rate we recieved for returning customers. In that ordeal, I have had two rooms now booked under my name, I have had my room charged to a credit card that I did not give them. They obviously used an old credit card that they had on file for incidentals in the past. We have made several attempts to speak directly to management but are constantly transferred to someone else or are forwarded into voice mail where nobody has returned our calls. I will again try to talk to the manager tomorrow just to make sure that everything is good before we arrive. We are people that travel often and have never encountered the negative customer service we are receiving for a simple two night stay at this hotel. A "weekend getaway" for our birthdays has become a nightmare wandering if we will even have our correct rooms we originally booked when we arrive and leaves us seriously questioning whether or not we will ever stay here again. Crossing our fingers, I will keep you posted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.