We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie but a goody” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oldie but a goody”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We first stayed here when we were dating, 30 years ago. The ocean front rooms are still part of the original hotel, though there are many rooms and a conference center in the new wing, which includes some rooms that are "ocean view". We found a deal on Priceline and got an ocean front room for $60, including taxes and fees! The rooms are old, the doors don't close properly, and the mattresses are soft....but that said we had a flat screen tv, a small fridge, a microwave, and an updated bathroom all for that price. Our room overlooked the boardwalk and the beach...lovely! We couldn't sleep in one bed because we rolled into the middle, but there were two double beds with lots of pillows so we two were comfortable. No way 4 people could stay in this room and get a good night's sleep. We walked on the boardwalk, ate Fisher's popcorn and Thrasher's fries, then played pinball in the arcade, just like 30 years ago.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We love the sentimental fact that you were here when you dated 30 years ago! Thanks for sharing that news! And congratulations! Many of our rooms will be new and fresh starting next month when the west wing renovations will be complete. And new bedding is arriving, too! Our remaining rooms are slated for renovations next winter. We hope you’ll come back to visit us again for not only the view but for the creature comforts we’re adding to make your stay more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    101
    121
    78
    57
See reviews for
155
103
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton Junction
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sands for one night. The location is spectacular, especially if you choose oceanfront. Our room was right on the boardwalk, so it was fun to sit on the balcony and watch the people and dogs trot the boardwalk or the beach. Check-in was pleasant and efficient. The room was nice, but quite small for the money. It was clean. The bed was comfortable, but not cushy like most hotels now. I was happy to have a regular blanket. My new pet peeve is the motels and hotels that only have the down-like comforters. They are too hot for me, so I either have to sweat (flash for you older women who understand) or freeze. For off season, the rate was fine. If you want to pay in the $300's for summer---ahhh----I guess if you want the prime location. We'd go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, found our staff pleasant and our hotel clean and comfortable, and that you plan to return! There are larger rooms and suites available if you would like to consider one for your next stay. Upgrades and renovations continue and we are pleased that so many of our guests appreciate the value we offer at our exceptional oceanfront location! We look forward to greeting you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Before stating any of the following we have been to this hotel many of times in the past. I must say we are highly dissappointed with the confusion we have been receiving even before we arrive. We originally booked an oceanfront room for ourselves back in January for this weekend. Our friends also have called to book thier rooms but asked for the rate we recieved for returning customers. In that ordeal, I have had two rooms now booked under my name, I have had my room charged to a credit card that I did not give them. They obviously used an old credit card that they had on file for incidentals in the past. We have made several attempts to speak directly to management but are constantly transferred to someone else or are forwarded into voice mail where nobody has returned our calls. I will again try to talk to the manager tomorrow just to make sure that everything is good before we arrive. We are people that travel often and have never encountered the negative customer service we are receiving for a simple two night stay at this hotel. A "weekend getaway" for our birthdays has become a nightmare wandering if we will even have our correct rooms we originally booked when we arrive and leaves us seriously questioning whether or not we will ever stay here again. Crossing our fingers, I will keep you posted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

First the good - We had an oceanfront room with a beautiful view of the ocean. The location on the boardwalk is great. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room. The staff were friendly and helpful. Free parking.

Then the bad - Wi-Fi was terrible and kept shutting down, which was very frustrating. The bathroom was tiny. The hotel is old and is in need of being updated. There were several lights out in the hallways. There weren't many amenities - no coffee in the lobby, no newspaper, only a tiny bottle of shampoo and conditioner. The rates were fairly high considering it was March.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanfront room on either the 3rd or 4th floor with a balcony you can sit out on, as many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Wi-fi service is available and working well in 95% of the hotel. A troublesome area was identified in one area on one floor recently and that issue is being researched so it may be addressed. We apologize for the inconvenience. We’re glad you enjoyed the fabulous view and the comfort of your room, as well as our friendly staff members. We hope you’ll enjoy the improvements our current renovations will provide on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early March. We knew to expect that most things would be closed, though we were unable to gather from the hotel's website if that included the hotel's own restaurants (it did; they were closed). Pros: clean room, great views, great location, free parking. Cons: The door to go the balcony was very hard to open, the water pressure and hot water were poor, and hallway noise was very loud. But for $100 a night off-season, I'm not complaining. However, I don't think I would pay in-season prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay and hope that you reported your concerns to the Front Desk so they could be addressed. We are completing many renovations now, including some to our restaurant, and we hope (and expect) that your next experience at the Atlantic Sands will be far better than average!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were happily surprised by our overall experience at the Sands. The rooms were nice and clean, and our basic room even had a juliet balcony with a side view of the ocean. The free parking is a bonus. The bed was super comfortable. It would be great to experience this hotel during high season.

We would definitely stay here again, we are huge fans of Rehoboth and the Sands is now on the list for future visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We’re happy that you enjoyed your stay and want to visit again! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Staff is very friendly and helpful. They know the area well and were able to inform us of good places to eat as well as attractions that were open during the off season. My wife and I like coming here for a winter getaway and we did so this year with another couple. Hotel is a little dated but overall it has good ammenties and is very clean. There is a spa at the hotel but we did not have time to use it. Most of our time at the hotel was spent standing on the balcony and watching the waves crash onto shore, something that I never tire of.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best choice over ocean view. The higher floors and rooms on either the Nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Our housekeeping staff appreciates your recognition of their hard work! We’re very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We enjoy assisting guests with recommendations and sharing our knowledge of the area and things to do here in Rehoboth Beach. Many couples enjoy massages at the Fusion Day Spa here at the Atlantic Sands and we hope you’ll be able to enjoy one too, on your next stay! Thank you, again. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Atlantic Sands Hotel. Check out our Facebook page for a video of the surf just posted there today!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#3 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#16 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#14 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.