We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly average (for a winter visit)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Philadelphia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Exactly average (for a winter visit)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early March. We knew to expect that most things would be closed, though we were unable to gather from the hotel's website if that included the hotel's own restaurants (it did; they were closed). Pros: clean room, great views, great location, free parking. Cons: The door to go the balcony was very hard to open, the water pressure and hot water were poor, and hallway noise was very loud. But for $100 a night off-season, I'm not complaining. However, I don't think I would pay in-season prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay and hope that you reported your concerns to the Front Desk so they could be addressed. We are completing many renovations now, including some to our restaurant, and we hope (and expect) that your next experience at the Atlantic Sands will be far better than average!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    87
    112
    69
    55
See reviews for
135
96
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were happily surprised by our overall experience at the Sands. The rooms were nice and clean, and our basic room even had a juliet balcony with a side view of the ocean. The free parking is a bonus. The bed was super comfortable. It would be great to experience this hotel during high season.

We would definitely stay here again, we are huge fans of Rehoboth and the Sands is now on the list for future visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We’re happy that you enjoyed your stay and want to visit again! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Staff is very friendly and helpful. They know the area well and were able to inform us of good places to eat as well as attractions that were open during the off season. My wife and I like coming here for a winter getaway and we did so this year with another couple. Hotel is a little dated but overall it has good ammenties and is very clean. There is a spa at the hotel but we did not have time to use it. Most of our time at the hotel was spent standing on the balcony and watching the waves crash onto shore, something that I never tire of.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best choice over ocean view. The higher floors and rooms on either the Nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Our housekeeping staff appreciates your recognition of their hard work! We’re very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We enjoy assisting guests with recommendations and sharing our knowledge of the area and things to do here in Rehoboth Beach. Many couples enjoy massages at the Fusion Day Spa here at the Atlantic Sands and we hope you’ll be able to enjoy one too, on your next stay! Thank you, again. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Atlantic Sands Hotel. Check out our Facebook page for a video of the surf just posted there today!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, CT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a large, friendly and spacious room accommodation with the best view in town. If you step out of the door you are on a stretch of beach that must span a mile of the Atlantic ocean. The staff is friendly and caters to it's guest.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed our staff and your stay and that magnificent view, too! Our location is a fantastic one and we strive to provide our guests a very comfortable and enjoyable time in Rehoboth and the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you to the Atlantic Sands again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spent one night at the Atlantic Sands during Presidents Day weekend. The room had no heat. We had to call the desk twice, to no avail. So we tracked down a maintenance man and took him to the room. He got it working but then the heat would not shut off so it became very hot. There was so much condensation around the metal window frames that water was dripping down the wall behind the curtain. This place is a true dump. Stay away.

Room Tip: The only thing this place has going for it is location. It's right on the boardwalk. Other than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Please accept our apologies for any issues encountered during your stay. The majority of our guests find our facility to be comfortable and our staff welcoming. Renovations are underway at the hotel and they are intended to increase the enjoyment of all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

When we pulled up the hotel looked nice and the lobby was very inviting. We checked in and went to our room and had to turn on the heat and after two hours still had not warmed up. After two calls to the front desk we gave up on that.the shower was horrible! ! The water would go from hot to cold contantly and the shower head was so old the it hardly had and water coming through it. No tissues and a half roll of toilet paper. We were awakened by a security officer at 2:30 am telling us to turn our television down but it wasn't even on. For a hotel on the beach that charges $160.00 a nite you would think you wou get a better experience. As we were leaving we spoke to some other guests and they had even more to complain about than we did. Until they find someone to manage this hotel properly I will not return. Big waste of money in my opinion. Big thumbs down.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We appreciate your comments and concerns and wish you had advised management of them at the time of your stay. Our entire west wing of overnight accommodations is under major renovation now. In recent months we have received many compliments on the friendly and helpful attitude of our staff members, so we are surprised and offer an apology that you did not find this to be true. It is our hope that any guest who is dissatisfied with some aspect of their stay or any personnel on our staff will advise management of the problem when it occurs so that we may take the appropriate course of action based on the facts at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have stayed here several times for a regular event, and while it's not great, it is adequate for the need and reasonably priced. The rooms - yes small unless you upgrade and pay more - and hallways definitely need updating. Another disappointment with the room is that they previously had an upscale line of classy, scented toiletry products, but have switched to a common drugstore brand. It's a small thing, but I looked forward to them, and it definitely helped set the hotel apart. Points on the plus side are that the food is very good and the staff friendly, and you are right on the boards and close to downtown shops.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Renovations to update many of our rooms are taking place over the next few months. Your comments regarding the hotel and staff are appreciated, and those regarding toiletries will be shared with appropriate staff members for future consideration. We hope you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.