We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view but outdated and unfriendly.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice view but outdated and unfriendly.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

When we pulled up the hotel looked nice and the lobby was very inviting. We checked in and went to our room and had to turn on the heat and after two hours still had not warmed up. After two calls to the front desk we gave up on that.the shower was horrible! ! The water would go from hot to cold contantly and the shower head was so old the it hardly had and water coming through it. No tissues and a half roll of toilet paper. We were awakened by a security officer at 2:30 am telling us to turn our television down but it wasn't even on. For a hotel on the beach that charges $160.00 a nite you would think you wou get a better experience. As we were leaving we spoke to some other guests and they had even more to complain about than we did. Until they find someone to manage this hotel properly I will not return. Big waste of money in my opinion. Big thumbs down.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We appreciate your comments and concerns and wish you had advised management of them at the time of your stay. Our entire west wing of overnight accommodations is under major renovation now. In recent months we have received many compliments on the friendly and helpful attitude of our staff members, so we are surprised and offer an apology that you did not find this to be true. It is our hope that any guest who is dissatisfied with some aspect of their stay or any personnel on our staff will advise management of the problem when it occurs so that we may take the appropriate course of action based on the facts at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    106
    122
    78
    58
See reviews for
161
103
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have stayed here several times for a regular event, and while it's not great, it is adequate for the need and reasonably priced. The rooms - yes small unless you upgrade and pay more - and hallways definitely need updating. Another disappointment with the room is that they previously had an upscale line of classy, scented toiletry products, but have switched to a common drugstore brand. It's a small thing, but I looked forward to them, and it definitely helped set the hotel apart. Points on the plus side are that the food is very good and the staff friendly, and you are right on the boards and close to downtown shops.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Renovations to update many of our rooms are taking place over the next few months. Your comments regarding the hotel and staff are appreciated, and those regarding toiletries will be shared with appropriate staff members for future consideration. We hope you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for my husbands holiday party. The Swan Ballroom is great for a party. Food was fabulous. This is actually the 2nd time I have been here for a party and can't say enough good things about the food. Our room was very small, can't imagine staying there for a week with my family. BUT the room was very clean and we couldn't beat the views. Check in and out was very fast. All staff we came in contact with were very nice and accomadating. Would stay here again if just my husband and I. But with our family we would need a larger room or we would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here for the Rehoboth Beach Half & Full Marathon race. It was very conveniently located to the start of the race. The room was okay and consisent with beachside hotels; however, it was surprisingly larger than expected with a living room area separate from the bedroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a party in the hotel the second night we stayed there and the music was loud. Once it finally stopped, the room across the hall from us was having a party and the door was open so we could hear conversations word for word. We called the front desk since it was after midnight and they immediately sent security to ask them to close the door and be a little more quiet. Unfortunately the ice machines were out of order and almost every floor by Saturday at noon; this may be due to the hotel being full of runners who needed ice for ice baths. Unfortunately, the ice machines were not fixed by Sunday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
We apologize that the ice machines got such a workout that weekend! It was great to have so many marathon runners in the hotel! We applaud your commitment to run even in the drizzle, fog and rain we experienced that day! And we are happy to hear that you liked your room and that our front desk and security staff responded quickly to your noise concern. The Atlantic Sands tries to create a very comfortable environment for all guests and we hope to welcome you for the race again next year, and many times in between!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Pros- reasonably priced, clean oceanview rooms.

Cons - rooms are extremely small (e.g., can't use desk and desk chair because they are directly up against a bed).

- rooms are badly in need of updating (e.g., stained carpeting, entry door damaged and askew).

- bad plumbing (e.g., most shower water diverts to faucet, toilet tends to not flush).

- staff (e.g., housekeeping entered our room with a do not disturb sign hanging on the door).

- lack of amenities (e.g., no coffee or fixings in a public space, no real mugs for hot beverages).

All that being said, there's nothing like lying in bed and watching the ocean, so I'd probably do it again if the price was right.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Atlantic Sands two days prior to Hurricane Sandy, the location is perfect, right on the boardwalk, really close to the main street in Rehobeth Beach, the rooms are good, not great, but the staff went out of their way to help with things concerning the coming storm, which we were mandatorily evacuated, very happy with total stay and plan to go back very soon.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a "sitting" balcony, some of the lower floor suites do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Atlantic Sands! You’re right – our location can’t be beat and, as you’ve noted, our staff is friendly and helpful. Our hope, and what we strive to make certain, is that you will enjoy each and every visit and want to come back to stay with us time and again! We want you to know that we appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for an event the weekend before Hurricane Sandy. Our room (126 or 128) was very nice - huge bathroom with jacuzzi, mini kitchen, partial ocean view. The rooms was clean, staff was very nice.

The hotel was very full - news crews due to the hurricane as well as event participants. Staff was very efficient in spite of it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay as Hurricane Sandy approached! The staff and management enjoyed the events and participants, as well as the news and weather crews! We hope that you’ll be back to see us again, and soon! In the meantime, we’ll share your comments with our personnel. Thank you, again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#3 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 777 reviews
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#17 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#15 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.