We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, OK Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
New Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location, OK Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at the Atlantic Sands several times. I go back because the location is awesome. The rooms on the other hand, well have alot to be desired. You have to be careful as to where they put you, this past time we were there was 2 weeks ago as Rehoboth was getting ready for "Sandy". We stayed in room 114. The room was ok..very small. Bathroom was not the best, broken tiles on the floor under the sneak, the toilet not bolted down correctly and the tub had a nasty drain in it, the carpets needed a good shampooing. Bed linens were clean. We once had a room that was absolutely filthy, dark and dingy..we complained and they moved us to a suite which was much better. The staff was great. Like I said if I find something better I probably will say goodbye to Atlantic Sands, it's the location that keeps bringing me back.

Room Tip: Definitely Ocean front. It seemed whenever they gave us a street room it was filthy..with the excep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are happy that you found your room to be clean however we apologize that you were not totally satisfied with its condition. Renovations are planned to begin this winter.

Should you ever find a room’s condition not up to par, please notify our Front Desk Manager. It is our goal to continually improve our service to our guests and we sincerely hope that you will visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    101
    122
    78
    57
See reviews for
156
103
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here the weekend Hurricane Sandy headed for town. Located right on the boardwalk and one block from the main street in town. The rooms are various sizes and get some hard wear, but it is generally well kept and clean. The staff are hard working and responsive to requests. Breakfast buffet is very good (I don't know if it's a regular feature.) The ballroom is very nice with a wall of windows that overlook the boardwalk/beach. Chairs seem kind of low to ground and bathroom lights are veryl slow to warm up and get bright.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
The management and staff of the Atlantic Sands appreciate your comments. We take pride in our hotel, value our guests and strive each and every day to create a clean, comfortable and friendly environment for each and every one. From our overnight accommodations to our banquet facilities, and our restaurants to our front desk operations, we do our best to ensure that every guest enjoys their stay. We value constructive comments like these and make regular improvements to our facility and the way in which we do business, with every action and employee focused on helping our guests to have a pleasant and stress-free experience. It is our hope that you will stay with us again, and often. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Horrible rooms; dirty carpeting; mold in bathroom; heat/air not uniform; uncomfortable beds! So disappointed. Was not able to move to another hotel so had to endure. An expensive hotel disaster for us.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsStaff, General Manager at Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Our housekeeping staff takes great effort to make sure all our guests enjoy a clean and comfortable room, as other reviewers have recently and favorably noted. Renovations are about to begin on portions of the hotel however and these efforts are expected to enhance even the most discriminating guests’ experience here at the Sands. We hope that you’ll visit us again as so many of our satisfied guests do, year after year. Our goal is to consistently improve our standards and to satisfy each of our guests. We sincerely regret that your expectations were not met on this visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My Mom and I went for a night last weekend. The room was really nice and clean, but it could use a little updating. The mattresses need to be replaced, and for a hotel like the Sands, I expected the commercial grade Keurig machines, not the cheap flimsy coffee makers they had. I was also surprised that they did not have a small continental breakfast included with the stay. Not even tiny boxes of cereal :(

Overall, it was a pleasant stay for one evening, and I would stay again. Cleanliness of the room is a huge factor for me, and the Sands met that expectation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

In our first room, we had 2 full size beds; no big deal. However, both mattresses were completely worn out and should have been replaced at least 5 or 6 years ago. The bathroom sink drained so slowly that the sink almost overflowed each time we went to use it. The room became very cold so I decided to turn on the furnace; NO HEAT! Called the front desk; was informed the heat had just been turned on and to wait about 30 minutes; 30 minutes came and went, still no heat. Called front desk; said a maintenance man would be sent up. Maintenance man arrived about 11:00 PM. Said he did not know how to fix the problem and that he was getting ready to go home. Call the desk; they offered to change our room. I declined due to the late hour and my wife had already went to bed. Desk called back and said we could leave our belongings is our room and sleep in a different room. Great! Things are looking up!

Not so fast. The mattress on the one and only king-size bed in the second room was worse that the first room. While the wife tried to sleep in the bed, I tried to sleep on the couch. No luck; couch was too short and there were no extra blankets ( I am only 5'9" tall). The furnace short-cycled turning on every 2 minutes and only running for 30 seconds. Hot water? only after running the water for about 5 minutes. Another slow draining bathroom sink; must be the heavy water!

This is my story and I am sticking to it! I would not stay at this hotel if they offered me to stay free.

Don't say you have not been forewarned. Book at your own risk.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a great experience with Debbie at the front desk. I wanted to extend my stay for another day and she managed to get me into another great ocean view room. She spent time doing this as the hotel is very popular and very booked most of the year. My hat is off to her and I will be returning next year for sure because of her wonderful service.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Beds were old & uncomfortable ! Room was very small & not well maintained! Location is great! No beach service was provided,beach chairs were awful! Front desk was helpful in suggesting restaurants & sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#3 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 721 reviews
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#15 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#14 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Hotel And Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.