We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific, elegant and classy - if only it were on the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bellmoor Inn and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Bellmoor Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Christian Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Terrific, elegant and classy - if only it were on the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I found this by accident. We were staying at the Boardwalk Plaza, and were out having drinks when we struck up a conversation with another couple who recommended the Bellmoor. It was a great recommendation. For some reason this place only rates 3 stars, but it should be a 4 star. The lobby and hotel grounds are spotless and beautiful. They have a beautiful library with a fireplace, a nice courtyard that is quiet and tree shaded, with a pond. The swimming pools (2 of them) are very nice, one is reserved for adults only. The hotel reserves the 4th floor as its concierge floor and limits it to adults 25 and older, no children. I would not call this a children friendly place really, it's too nice. The rooms are spacious and well decorated. We looked at several of their suites before choosing the Aspen Suite. Many of the suites have fireplaces, all have jacuzzi bathtubs and big showers. Love the extras on the concierge floor - soft drinks, private lounge, snacks, books, etc. We had a wonderful stay, the staff was very friendly and kind, and helpful too. And the price was a very pleasant surprise. It was about 2/3 the price of the Boardwalk Plaza, a much better deal in our minds. Also be aware there is no restaurant or bar, although they do serve a full breakfast in the mornings (included in the rate). Our only criticism of the hotel (and the reason for 4 stars and not 5) is that its location is a good 3 blocks from the beach and the views from the rooms are, well, not that attractive..... Not a problem for us, we can walk to the beach. But if you are mobility challenged or you insist on a place on the boardwalk or with a great view, then you should look at other hotels. But this is our new "go to" hotel in Rehoboth, we cannot recommend it more highly for quality, service, decor, and facilities (except the view).

Room Tip: If you can swing it, get a suite on the 4th floor, they are quiet, spacicous, have fireplaces, and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Bellmoor & that you enjoyed everything that our property has to offer. We strive for the very best in our accommodations and our 4th Floor suites truly highlights The Bellmoor's commitment to excellence. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Thank you once again for choosing The Bellmoor.

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    408
    109
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
106
308
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I can not say enough good things about the Bellmoor. It is an unexpected, lovely retreat with a Continental flare. A feel of a B&B with garden patio with water features, beautiful sun room for a wonderful breakfast, an English library for rainy days, and cozy guest rooms. Close to beach, but we spent more time on the garden patio than at the beach. Good for year-round get-away as well as summer. A romantic stay for couples.

Room Tip: We had a king garden room on the second floor; it overlooks the garden and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for choosing The Bellmoor for your stay. We greatly appreciate all of our guests feedback & it is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your retreat with us. I feel that our property has a unique feel compared to the other hotel offerings in the area. Our garden courtyard is the perfect escape from all of the hustle & bustle during the peak season. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Best wishes

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This is the 3rd stay here but I believe the first review. Walk in the lobby and to your left you will find the library. The rich wood veneer makes everything in the hotel feel rich! Room was a king with a sleep sofa which gave you extra space. The bathroom was sectioned off into tub/shower and sink/vanity. King bed was so nice and supportive. The topper was the hot breakfast which includes an omelet station on the weekend. The staff was very courteous and friendly. The little extra expense is well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us, we greatly appreciate your loyalty and for taking the time to review our property. It is always great to hear that our guests have had an amazing experience at The Bellmoor. Our full hot breakfast offers a wide variety and as you mentioned we have a made to order omelet station on the weekends. Our spacious guest rooms offer the perfect getaway during your stay in Rehoboth Beach. We look forward to your coming back for your 4th visit! Best wishes from all of your friends at The Bellmoor.

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We don't need a beach house, we have the Bellmoor! Whether it's an overnight business trip, week long stay during the summer, or a weekend getaway - it's the best location, accommodations and service!

Room Tip: Any rooms are nice, the suites are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
It is so great to hear that we are your home at the beach, it is something we strive to achieve with all of our guests. Each year we get to see all of our most favorite guests and we always look forward to your stay with us. We hope to be seeing you again in the near future. Best wishes!

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We needed to,get away to some place that would rejuvenate us. This elegant place hit the spot.
They provide a good breakfast buffet but not quite as good as other reviewers reported. No omelette bar. Steam trays that were OK. Breakfast in a beautiful sun room or garden. There Could not have been nicer spot. For dinner the front desk had excellent recommendations. My husband had trouble walking and the desk got us a driver who was very knowledgeable for restaurants further than block. The places they sent us to for dinner rival the best Washington has to offer. Our room was not great because of an overly noisy A/C and a very tiny bathroom but the bed was comfy and it was very quiet except for the A/C. We would definitely return but would do it off season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank your for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & found it to be a rejuvenating getaway. I want to apologize for the noise of the a/c unit in your room and do hope you brought it to our attention during your stay so we could have fixed any issues. Our front desk staff is very knowledgable about the area & knows all the best restaurants in town. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Best wishes.

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We travel a lot and usually try to stay in the most expensive place with the hope of also getting the best place. It is not uncommon to run into staff that is down trodden, but not at the Bellmoor. While waiting to place my omelette order someone walked by and the employee making the omelette spontaneously comments to the person in front of me " That is a very nice lady. She is good people." The person in front of me asked "Who is that?" He replied "owners wife". This was the most impressive single moment for me.

Stayed 3 nights and used the spa twice. Place is wonderful and well thought out.

Room Tip: Liked the courtyard because we didn't have to walk through lobby to get to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and want to thank you for taking the time to review our property. It makes me very proud to hear that The Bellmoor is among the best hotels that you have stayed at. We are one big family at The Bellmoor and have been that way since day one. My family & I are so proud of all of our staff and we thank you for recognizing their incredible work ethic. We all look forward to you returning to stay with us again. Best wishes.

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not a speck of sand to be found between the sheets, at the bottom of the bathtub or in the carpet! :-). Seriously, this is an upscale, very cozy place filled with persian rugs, books, lots of wood and old books. King room nice size and bedding comfortable. Sadly no balcony off the room. Pool area pretty nice but the lounge chairs are looking pretty worn. Free breakfast will do in a pinch but go to Gallery Espresso down the street for some real coffee!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property, we appreciate all of guests' feedback. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our property to clean and elegant. I am very proud of the housekeeping staff that we have here at The Bellmoor. They work round the clock to make sure that our guests have the best & most comfortable stay possible. On your next visit be sure to check out one of our suite style rooms which will feature a private balcony & fireplace. We look forward to you returning to stay with us in the near future. Best wishes.

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bellmoor Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellmoor Inn and Spa

Address: 6 Christian Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bellmoor Inn and Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellmoor Inn, a seaside resort, a non-smoking hotel that has the look and feel of a modern stylish inn while offering the service and privacy of a small European hotel. A Rehoboth Beach Inn for decades, it has been reborn as the newest with the completion of 78 elegant rooms, suites, and luxurious amenities. A garden spot seemingly far removed from ocean resort activity, yet only a short walk to the beach and the town's renowned boutiques, restaurants, galleries and coffee houses. Offering you the coziness of a bed-and-breakfast with the service and luxury of a five star hotel. Nearby Airports* Salisbury Airport - 45 miles* Balltimore/Washington International (MD) - 100 miles* Philadelphia International (PA) - 100 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Bellmoor Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellmoor Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Bellmoor Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Bellmoor Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.