We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Birthday Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bellmoor Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Bellmoor Inn and Spa to your Saves list
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Christian Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Fantastic Birthday Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I chose the Bellmoor Inn for the perfect beach weekend with my husband to celebrate my birthday and I could not have been happier with my choice. The service was exceptional and the room was lovely with a beautiful garden view. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning while overlooking the fountain and watching birds dipping and koi fish swimming. Just perfect! We are already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: We loved the garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Bellmoor for your Birthday Celebration, we greatly appreciate it! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Eating breakfast out in the garden is the perfect way to start your morning. From the fish in the koi pond to the sounds of the morning birds, it is truly tranquil. We can't wait to have you return to stay with us again. Best wishes from all of your friends at The Bellmoor.

Chad Moore
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    119
    33
    12
    3
See reviews for
119
328
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our second stay at the Bellmoor. We typically rent a house in Rehoboth but for shorter trips, this is a great option. Close proximity to the beach, restaurants, kiddie rides, shops, etc. makes it an excellent choice. There is not the gross "Ocean City" feel to this place that so many beach hotels in the area seem to host. The on site pool and parking is convenient. The property is well-maintained; the front desk staff is very friendly. Our main complaint this time stems from our room choice. We wanted more room for our family and booked the "Gardner's Cottage" which is like a mini two story cottage with a king bed on the upper floor and a powder room, main level has a queen bed, kitchenette, full bath and a sofa. I understand the aesthetic is not supposed to be slick and modern (this is, after all, the beach). But the Cottage felt worn and tired, rather dark and with a musty smell (it is operated by window unit air conditioning which may have had some effect on the poor air circulation). I thought the bed linens were updated but the bathrooms were sad as was the upholstery/furniture. The "main" bathroom (with shower) is tucked into the corner of the kitchen and feels like the size of a bathroom in an RV. Extremely claustrophobic. The powder room on the upper level was just that -- but you had to shower down in the "kitchen bathroom". No tub in which to bathe kids. The worst part about the Cottage was the screened porch. Whatever is covering the floor (indoor/outdoor material of some sort) is disgusting, soiled, perpetually damp and smelly. The entire outside area smelled of urine and mildew. Gross. While we liked the bedroom separation for putting kids to bed early, overall the size of bathrooms and condition of the cottage overall made me crave a guestroom in the main hotel. The one plus is that you have a dedicated parking spot right outside your door--convenient for loading and unloading. Overall, still a fan of the Bellmoor, but would skip the cottage.

Room Tip: I wouldn't rush to choose the Gardner's Cottage if you are picky about bathrooms, mildew sme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Thank you for a nice stay with you. Everything was pleasant and enjoyable. The cookie time could be extended or extras left out. We had returned by 4, but everything was cleaned up. We did make it one day and everyone enjoyed that. Nice that you vary the breakfasts, but keep some regular things as well. Beach chairs could be available, but not totally necessary. Pool and hot tub were clean and enjoyed by us. Maybe send a complimentary something to the guests in their room. I know you have the regular things like all hotels, but I do enjoy when the hotels give you just something else or a personal greeting with note. One time at a hotel i stayed at they sent daily notes. Also had chocolates at night. Just a thought! Thanks again. Hope to stay with you again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate the feedback from our guests. We are all pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Bellmoor & that you found our property to be perfect for your vacation. I appreciate your recommendations as we are always looking for ways to improve our service & amenities. We look forward to you returning to stay with us again soon.

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We loved our visit to the Bellmoor Inn, and are going to make it "our place!" The common areas are lovely, the rooms well appointed (and hurray for that bayberry soap!!), the breakfasts were just yummy. We especially enjoyed the location, which is just steps from the ocean and the shops and restaurants on Rehoboth Avenue! And when it was time to retire, our room was nice and quiet. Perfect place! :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & that you found our property to be the perfect place for your Rehoboth Beach vacation. We like to think it's the little things that make a difference & the bayberry soaps in the bathroom have been very popular with our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Best wishes from all your new friends at The Bellmoor.

Chad Moore
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

My lovely wife & I have been guest of the Bellmoor for the past 10yrs & we will continue to stay here for many years to come. The accommodations are always clean & well maintained, as well the gardens..The spa facility and staff are excellent..Breakfast is always a delight with many fresh options to choose from...the Inns staff is always excellent & accommodating...If i could change one or two things it would be to upgrade the adult pool area, which is worn and dated, it needs a complete over haul & a more welcoming appearance..definitely needs professional help along with that my wish list would be to somehow incorporate the lovely background music which is played inside the facility added to the garden area creating a wonderful experience both inside & out....very low volume of course..Overall this a hidden gem close to everthing!!! We love it..!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I want to personally thank you for your many years of devoted loyalty to The Bellmoor. We strive to achieve this will all of our guests & it is always heart warming to hear that people consider us to be their home away from home. At The Bellmoor we are always looking for ways to improve & rely on our guests for their honest feedback. We will take your recommendations into consideration & look forward to seeing you & your lovely wife again in the near future. Best wishes from all of your friends at The Bellmoor.

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Refused to honor commitment and was super rude about it. Snoooooty atmosphere. How uncool! In this day and age with transparency afforded by the Internet, this is completely wrong.Nice setting, though. Oh.... NO BEACH TOWELS OR CHAIRS. Good thinking for a beach town resort, eh?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We enjoyed a short but lovely stay at the Bellmoor Hotel in a beautiful suite with jetted tub and well appointed furnishings. The full breakfast was delicious and we will return!!! The staff waa very accommodating and also helped us to choose a wonderful dinner restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Bellmoor. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found our property to be ideal for your vacation. The staff at The Bellmoor is willing to help our guests in any way possible and we love to hear that we have succeeded in doing so. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bellmoor Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellmoor Inn and Spa

Address: 6 Christian Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bellmoor Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellmoor Inn, a seaside resort, a non-smoking hotel that has the look and feel of a modern stylish inn while offering the service and privacy of a small European hotel. A Rehoboth Beach Inn for decades, it has been reborn as the newest with the completion of 78 elegant rooms, suites, and luxurious amenities. A garden spot seemingly far removed from ocean resort activity, yet only a short walk to the beach and the town's renowned boutiques, restaurants, galleries and coffee houses. Offering you the coziness of a bed-and-breakfast with the service and luxury of a five star hotel. Nearby Airports* Salisbury Airport - 45 miles* Balltimore/Washington International (MD) - 100 miles* Philadelphia International (PA) - 100 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Bellmoor Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellmoor Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Bellmoor Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Bellmoor Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.