We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell below their standard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bellmoor Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Bellmoor Inn and Spa to your Saves list
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Christian Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fell below their standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here on two previous occasions and have ALWAYS enjoyed the location and the ambiance. The breakfast was really diminished this stay, however. The normally delish hot foods were sub par. The egg casserole was dry and had nothing in it but eggs. The room was brimming with guests and when servers refreshed foods, they used tongs to replace items piece by piece, not full plate to replace empty ones. What a waste of time! The servers eyed the guests as they took items almost saying "are you seriously goin to make me go back and refill these danishes again!?" I wanted to tell them-if you would bring out more than 7 at a time with a FULL room, then you wouldn't have to work so hard. Plus the danishes were about the size of a half dollar. For $500 a night you better be prepared to serve more than this. The fruit was cut into tiny little pieces and placed in tiny bowls with a spoon for everyone to share. The yogurt was pre measured into juice glasses. The granola was about a 1/4 cup in a bowl for the entire room to share! This is a serious fault that must be remedied. The "afternoon treats" were cookies and were the same half dollar size joke. The "lemonade" was really ice water with lemons floating in it. Not what it used to be just a year ago. What happened? The Library is always a peaceful and relaxing spot, but the books are very outdated and in desperate need of rejuvenation. A solution would be to have guests sign out books to guarantee their return? The room was clean, except for tiny ants. They also need to clean the outside lights of bugs burned onto the cottage rooms. Gross. I hope our next stay sees an upgrade Inservice for the price we paid. I'd hate to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1bchlovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The family suite was a very good size. There was a decent sized fridge, and just enough space in the drawers for 6 days. Staff was really, really nice. Sharon and Alexa at the front desk did a great job regardless of the request.
The breakfast is mediocre at best. The average cost was $600 per night for my stay. Maybe I'm just a picky New Yorker, but the breads were not good, the meats were oily, and the eggs tasted powdered or something. The Sunday brunch was the same but with an omelette station.

Proximity to beach and main strip was great.

Room was cleaned very well on a daily basis. 3 bath towels for 4 guests until I remembered to ask for more. Still only 2 washclothes for 4 guests. Didn't want to make a big deal on vacation, this should be automatic.

Breakfast made them miss 5 stars, that's how close it was. I'd stay again at a lower rate.

Room Tip: Family suite wasn't huge, but it was adequate. The kids can go to bed separately, but a kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent four nights mid-week at the Bellmoor. The Gardner's Cottage was nicely decorated and very comfortable. The small kitchen served our needs. We also enjoyed the screened-in porch and dedicated parking in front of the cottage. Breakfast is good and plentiful. The adult pool is a nice touch. Garden area is nice and peaceful. Overall, it was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Gardener's Cottage - small kitchen, 1.5 baths, 2 bedrooms on 2 levels, screened-in porch, privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I am so glad that you & your friends were able to have a fabulous girls week at the beach. The Gardener's Cottage is one of our most popular room types & books way in advanced. It gives you all the comforts of home without all of the annoyance of having to cook breakfast, clean the room, etc. At The Bellmoor you can truly let go & relax. We hope that you are able to return to stay with us in the near future!

Best Wishes
-Chad Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillus, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We recently stayed here for four nights. It was excellent. The room was comfortable and spacious and extremely clean! The morning breakfast had something for everyone to enjoy. Even my picky 8 year old liked the breakfast. My kids enjoyed the family pool. It rained one day of our stay and umbrellas were made available so we could still walk to where we wanted to go. We got some excellent restaurant recommendations from the front desk staff. The Bellmoor made our trip to Rehoboth one of the best family vacations we have taken so far. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property. The Bellmoor strives to achieve excellence in everything that we do and want to make sure every guest has an enjoyable stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that your family enjoyed their vacation with us & that we were able to help make it even greater. Our breakfast buffet is made fresh every morning & offers a wide variety for everyone and I am glad to hear that your son found it to be delightful. We do hope you & your family will return to stay with us again soon. Best wishes from everyone at The Bellmoor.

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Class, elegance with professional manners. Really great service and great people!!!
Breakfast is the best, food is great and outdoor tables with trees and birds made your day start with a smile! Close to all the restaurants and walk distance to the beach. Hotel staff was very nice and always ready to help. Thank you!!!!!

Room Tip: Best Hotel in the area, close to all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlPaluzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & that you found The Bellmoor to be the outstanding hotel that we know it is. Like you said there is no better way to start the day than with our delicious breakfast in our Garden Courtyard. The beautiful flowers & trees make for the perfect ambiance in the morning & evenings. We hope to see you again soon!

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent two nights mid-week at The Bellmoor. The room was spacious, beautiful, and comfortable with a shady and private balcony. One of the nicest aspects of this inn is the quiet, shady and comfortable garden courtyard - perfect for the included buffet breakfast or a cup of coffee in the afternoon. Another plus was the protected underground parking with an elevator to the rooms. All if this was appreciated since the Bellmoor is only a few blocks from the beach--an area that is notably crowded and noisy. The only drawback is that the Bellmoor is expensive. However, I would spring for it again.

Room Tip: The main building has an elevator. The upper floor is limited to guest over 25.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountaintop
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Bellmoor for two nights. Our room was extremely clean and the atmosphere was very quaint. The garden is a great place to enjoy a coffee or breakfast...very peaceful. The breakfast was fair but is included with the price of the room. The location is GREAT. We parked our car and never had to move it again until we were ready to leave. Restaurants, shops, the boardwalk, and beach are all within walking distance. Wonderful stay and would definitely suggest this to anyone looking for a nice place in the Rehoboth area :)

Room Tip: We were in the Palmer House with the sitting area. Room is nice, clean, and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoreneMountaintop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rehoboth Beach
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#16 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Rehoboth Beach
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marrio...
#9 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#15 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bellmoor Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellmoor Inn and Spa

Address: 6 Christian Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bellmoor Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellmoor Inn, a seaside resort, a non-smoking hotel that has the look and feel of a modern stylish inn while offering the service and privacy of a small European hotel. A Rehoboth Beach Inn for decades, it has been reborn as the newest with the completion of 78 elegant rooms, suites, and luxurious amenities. A garden spot seemingly far removed from ocean resort activity, yet only a short walk to the beach and the town's renowned boutiques, restaurants, galleries and coffee houses. Offering you the coziness of a bed-and-breakfast with the service and luxury of a five star hotel. Nearby Airports* Salisbury Airport - 45 miles* Balltimore/Washington International (MD) - 100 miles* Philadelphia International (PA) - 100 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Bellmoor Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellmoor Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Bellmoor Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Bellmoor Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing