We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little getaway...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bellmoor Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Bellmoor Inn and Spa to your Saves list
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Christian Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Getaway Package!
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Mclean, Virginia
1 review
“Perfect little getaway...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

Found this hotel based on other reviews on this site - and I was so pleased with the recommendation that I wanted to add my wonderful experience into the mix. We only stayed one night in one of the Garden rooms, but it was absolutely lovely. The lobby rooms of the hotel were so comfy and welcoming, the guest room that we stayed in was beachy, but in the manner of a classy and cozy beach cottage. The complimentary breakfast was nice and above and beyond anything you'd expect when you read "breakfast included", they also gave a great recommendation for a restaurant for dinner, and the staff was just as nice as all of the reviews said they would be.

I travel every week for work to hotels all over the place - so I see a lot of variety in conveniences, service, ambience - I think this is a great mix of all of those - with high marks for ambience. I did read some people thought the rooms were overpriced - but compared to the generic ambience of some of the other hotels we drove by and that I have stayed at before at the beach - this was well worth a little extra money - character makes a hotel. Overall I really liked this hotel and would recommend it to anyone going to Rehoboth for a short or a long trip, in particular for a romantic and relaxing weekend.

  • Liked — Ambience, Service
  • Disliked — Didn't stay long enough to find anything :)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    119
    33
    12
    3
See reviews for
119
329
15
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

My girlfriend and I just returned from a weekend stay at the Bellmoor (April 4-7th). I had been to the Bellmoor a few years earlier, and was eager to return. We stayed on the Club Suites Level (Adults Only), and found it extremely quiet and well kept. The entire staff were always friendly and helpful, especially "Dave" at the front desk. When I called and requested some extra pillows, he was at our room within five minutes. The decor in the "lounges/sitting rooms" is nothing less than exquisite. The lounge for "club level" guests was always stocked with snacks, sodas and water, which came in quite handy if you get the midnight munchies. The fireplace was always lit, and since it was a real woodburning fireplace, gave off a great aroma in the sitting room.

The breakfast was always superb, and like a previous reviewer stated, the Omelette station cook was very accomodating and friendly, and even delivered my order to our table. The afternoon French Tea was excellent and "Jim" was very informative and friendly.

The location is excellent, just a block from the beach and main thoroughfare through Rehoboth Beach. Parking was plentiful and covered, which is rare at the beach.

My commendations to the owners/staff of the Bellmoor. I can't wait to return and enjoy their Inn and hospitality.

  • Liked — Decor, Location, Service, Comfort
  • Disliked — Price per room.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

My husand and I recently stayed at the Bellmoor and found it to be an excellent hotel and, in particular, unlike many "beach hotel" we have stayed at. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the accomodations were luxurious and quiet (we stayed in the Jackson Suite on the adults-only floor), and the location was superb. Unlike a previous reviewer, we found the breakfast to be quite acceptable; eggs any style (including omelettes) were freshly made in front of you by a very accomodating woman who genuinely seemed to want to please. We particularly liked the afternoon tea which featured some wonderful cookies and tarts. It was the perfect way to hold us over until dinner. We will definitely return to the Belmoor and, in fact, I would now be very reluctant to stay anywhere else in Rehoboth Beach.

  • Liked — Quality of the room accomodations and the hotel common rooms
  • Disliked — Price is pretty steep (and worse in summer I understand)
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

This is a beautiful hotel, extremely comfortable, very nice service, and absolutely lovely rooms (we stayed in a Bellmoor mid-priced room), terrific location. We will certainly return but was quite disappointed in the "full" breakfast they provided during our stay (Sunday, March 16).

1) Coffee was definitely on the weak side (front desk clerk said "yes, they have heard that before and suggested I contact the catering service). Apparently hearing that and effecting change are two different things for Bellmoor staff and management for this area of service

Breakfast content: fresh fruit, yoghurt, standard boxes of cold cereal, some pastries, bagels, a steam table with sorry looking scrambled eggs, greasy bacon, and unappetizing (to me) fat grey sausages. Also french toast slices in another steam table. This was a Hampton Inn style "full" breakfast. I like Hampton Inns, but hardly go there for the breakfast.

How about some platters of fish / cheese / jams, vegetables. How about an omelet station. How about a quiche. How about an espresso machine. How about some decent bran muffins or high fiber cereals. How about about some hot cereals. And really, what is with that weak coffee. As I said, I would return -- but what a disappointment that the "full breakfast" comprised four steam trays and some breads, and cold cereal / fruit.

Bellmoor: Either call it a continental breakfast with a few hot items or show some imagination and spend a few more dollars on that part of the experience.

If we were staying more days, this really would have been a drag.

Otherwise, a great place in all respects.

I thought the cookie assortment they provided for “afternoon tea” was perfect.

  • Liked — Lovely rooms, nice staff, great location
  • Disliked — Full breakfast was really continental breakfast with a few steam trays. Weak coffee!!!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

The location of the Bellmoor is ideal. A couple of blocks from the beach and shopping but tucked away enough to provide a quiet experience.
The entire hotel is decorated elegantly with dark wood walls and colorful Asian inspired pottery. The staff is all smiles and charm and so helpful.
We had a luxurious experience in theJackson Suite with the fireplace and spa tub. We enjoyed the hot tub as well.
If you are going to Rehoboth, I highly recommend staying at the Bellmoor

  • Liked — Service, decor, location
  • Disliked — nothing negative to say
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2007

We spent a couple of days at the Bellmoor and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff was amazingly responsive to any request. Rooms were very tastefully decorated. Facilities were clean and very pleasant. Trust them on restaurant recommendations - they know what they are talking about.

  • Liked — Staff was exceptionally friendly & helpful
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

The Bellmoor is on the site of the old Dinner Bell Inn and restaurant. It is a wonderful addition to hotels in Rehoboth. It is not beachfront, but is within walking distance of the beach, shops and restaurants. I find this makes for a quiet retreat away from the crowds. The rooms are detailed nicely and the bathrooms are large. The hotel also offers a range of nice package deals throughout the year. I look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bellmoor Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellmoor Inn and Spa

Address: 6 Christian Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bellmoor Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellmoor Inn, a seaside resort, a non-smoking hotel that has the look and feel of a modern stylish inn while offering the service and privacy of a small European hotel. A Rehoboth Beach Inn for decades, it has been reborn as the newest with the completion of 78 elegant rooms, suites, and luxurious amenities. A garden spot seemingly far removed from ocean resort activity, yet only a short walk to the beach and the town's renowned boutiques, restaurants, galleries and coffee houses. Offering you the coziness of a bed-and-breakfast with the service and luxury of a five star hotel. Nearby Airports* Salisbury Airport - 45 miles* Balltimore/Washington International (MD) - 100 miles* Philadelphia International (PA) - 100 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Bellmoor Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellmoor Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Bellmoor Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Bellmoor Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.