We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bellmoor Inn and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Bellmoor Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Christian Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Labor Day Weekend Savings
Ranked #3 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very charming and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is really cute. The room was clean, the breakfast is OK - definitely not great, and the staff is helpful. We didn't use the pool or spa, but they seemed nice as well. I thought it was slightly overpriced for what we got, especially considering it is a few blocks from the beach. I will definitely be returning to the Bellmoor Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although we are located two short blocks from the beach, we are only 1/2 a block from Rehoboth Ave. & only a short walk to every attraction in Rehoboth Beach. We do run specials throughout the season, so be sure to check our website & Facebook for our latest lodging deal. We truly believe that we offer a great value to our guests & we work hard to ensure that every guest has a great stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes from all of us at The Bellmoor.

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    113
    31
    12
    4
See reviews for
115
313
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I just lost our dog of 14 years so we needed to get away and clear our heads. We were looking for some place nice yet quiet. The Bellmoor Inn was perfect. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were very clean and charming. However, the garden and the sitting rooms were ideal places to just sit and reflect with relaxing water features mixed in with the landscaping and planty of places to sit. The hot tub was nice too.

The hotel is located in a prime location. Barely, a two minute walk to the beach and less to places to eat and shop. The prices are a little higher than other places but it is well worth it. We will definitely be returning to The Bellmoor again for the true meaning of R&R.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your dog, its always hard to see them go. It warms my heart to hear that our property was able to help you relax & heal during your time of need. The garden courtyard is truly relaxing as you sit there listening to the quiet sounds of nature. On your next stay do try one of our spa services, they are sure to make your R&R visit that much more relaxing! We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes from all of your friends at The Bellmoor

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We travel through this area twice a year and had stayed in decent places until we discovered the Bellmoor. A little pricier but way worth it. We're hooked. First of all you feel welcome. Upon entering we notice the library - in the fall a fire burns and the lighting is warm. The front desk staff is relaxed, pleasant, and helpful. Off to our room where the sheets are soft and crisp, the down comforter perfect, and the room exceptionally clean. This spring the carpet (which was quite nice) had been replaced by a wood floor. Even nicer. Being able to open our windows at night is a priority for us so we have fresh air and sounds from the garden. Breakfast starts at 7:30 which is also important to us as we are passing through and like to get an early start. Breakfast is very good although not exceptional, except if you are there on the weekend and have a made-to-order omelet. Again the staff is outstanding. Area restaurants are within walking distance and we have eaten at three and all have been excellent. Thanks to the front desk for your recommendations. Wish we could take more advantage of the town and hotel offerings but looking forward to our stays at the Bellmoor extend our vacation and are highly enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your first visit with us & I am sure it won't be your last. Our property definitely has an unique feel to it in comparison to some of the other hotels in town. We offer a quiet & relaxing stay, while still being close to all that the town has to offer. Like you said our rooms are spacious & comfortable, perfect for any getaway. Our breakfast in the morning is something that all of our guests enjoy & when its warm out eating in our Garden Courtyard is the perfect way to wake up in the morning. We look forward to you returning to stay with us in the near future. Best wishes from all of us at The Bellmoor

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a 2 night stay at this amazing hotel. This was our 3rd stay at the hotel and we will definitely return again. We stayed in the Webster suite (and stayed in the Holloway Suite during a previous visit) located on the concierge floor (adults only).

What we love about the hotel and the room (both are mirror images of each other):
- Off the beaten path location but one block from the action on Rehoboth and 3 blocks from the boardwalk.
- Ample parking
- Warm and welcoming decor
- Old books and antiques everywhere....from the library off of the lobby and on the concierge floor as well as in the rooms
- The rooms are spotless!
- the sitting area, gas fireplace, marble shower, jacuzzi, amazing soaps in the suite
- complimentary wifi (whole hotel), beverages and snacks on the concierge floor
- the beautiful grounds
- awesome front desk staff...and all the staff we encountered were so friendly and helpful
- proximity to amazing restaurants and shops (walking distance)
- amazingly comfortable bed
- delicious complimentary breakfast with custom eggs, pastries, juices, coffees, other hot breakfast items, yogurt, fresh fruit, and ample newspapers

Things to be improve:
- our suite was missing a coffee table in fromt of the couch so we had no place to put our reading materials, snacks, becerages. We did not bring it up and I'm sure it would've been addressed had we brought it up.

This is our favorite place at Rehoboth Beach and we plan to return again very soon. This is indeed a hidden gem!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our adults on fourth floor, it is truly a getaway for couples. From the complimentary snacks to the beautiful suites, the fourth floor is my favorite floor of our property. I wanted to apologize for the lack of a coffee table in the room. Unfortunately that particular coffee table was damaged previously & we are in the process of having it repaired. We all look forward to you staying with us again in the near future. Best wishes from all of us at The Bellmoor.

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talleyville, Delaware
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The location of the Bellmoor is a block from Rehoboth Avenue, which means it's quiet but still close to shopping and many excellent restaurants. There is ample parking for the inn, both on street and in their garage. The decor in the main inn is very tasteful and well done, more like a New England inn that a beach hotel. That attention to detail carries into the guest rooms as well. The small garden terrace and pond provide a peaceful and scenic oasis from the busy crowds on the boardwalk.

The breakfast is home made and offers a wide assortment of hot and cold choices. The staff is dedicated to making your stay a memorable one. We had some issues with a newly renovated room in one of the garden rooms but they were resolved to our satisfaction.

The mattress was much firmer than we like but that is a personal choice. We thought that our garden room was a little small for a week at the beach but OK for a long weekend.

Room Tip: Try the second floor if you are in a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property, thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & enjoyed our delicious morning breakfasts. Our garden area is beautiful this time of the year & offers a peaceful & relaxing atmosphere. On your next visit I recommend looking at one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites if you are interested in a more spacious room. Also thank you so much for the pictures you took of our Garden Area, they came out great! We all look forward to you returning to stay with us in the near future. Best wishes from all of us at The Bellmoor.

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were looking for a very last minute get-away. Wanted a beach and a spa located in a walking town. Fortunately, our web search brought us to the Bellmoor Inn website. It had all the ingredients we were looking for but candidly, we had never even heard of Rehoboth Beach. After speaking with JB on the phone, we were willing to take a gamble. Well, we won!!!

There are so many great aspects of this hotel that I'm having trouble organizing my review!! Let's start with clean spacious room with kitchenette, amazingly comfortable bed, and balcony. Our room (the Roanoke Suite) was on the 4th floor (which is a private floor requiring key access in the elevator) that had a library that was stocked with complimentary snacks and soft drinks for the guests. A full breakfast and afternoon tea is included! Two outdoor pools (one adults only) and an indoor hot tub. Numerous beautifully decorated sitting areas throughout the hotel for relaxing with a book or newspaper. There is a daily summary sheet posted with the day's weather and the daily specials at a few of the local restaurants. The hotel is situated a short stroll from the main street and beach making it the perfect location. There is free parking under the building which I hear is a big asset during the summer season.

I've read some TA reviews commenting about the service fee. The service fee was not a surprise - it was clearly included on the reservation confirmation and on the agreement at check-in. Personally, I'd rather have a service fee than tip the staff individually. I was also glad that this friendly and attentive staff was being taken care of automatically. Honestly, I tipped a few exceptional staffers anyway (but that's a personal choice).

The Bellmoor Inn is a beautifully appointed hotel that stands out far ahead of others in the area. Friendly staff, spacious clean room, and a clear attention to customer service made this a great stay.

We will definitely be back to Rehoboth Beach and will DEFINITELY stay at the Bellmoor Inn.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 4th floor (private).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgmtthebellmoor, Owner at The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this thorough & wonderful review, we greatly appreciate your feedback. Thanks as well for taking a chance on The Bellmoor & allowing us to win you over during your stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean, spacious rooms & found our beds to be extremely comfortable. My staff works hard to ensure that every guest's stay with us is the best that it can be. For them, reading reviews such as yours is truly delightful & reminds them why they work as hard as they do. We look forward to seeing you for many more visits in the near future! Best wishes from all of your new friends here at The Bellmoor!

Chad Moore
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend getaway at the BellMoor Inn. The location is perfect! Within 2 short blocks of main drive for shopping and only a few more blocks to the beach. The spa treatments we had were excellent. A big shout out to Scott for a super soothing massage. Only comments since they advertise as a luxury inn would be that the room fixtures and bath hardware need tended to a bit. Lampshades wobbly and a bit beat up, hooks pulling out of the walls in the bath area. Breakfast was very nice with an egg and omelet station, but the pastries were stale and at least a day old. The treatment rooms in the spa are right next to the reception area. It was distracting to hear conversations just outside the door while getting a massage and facial meant to be peaceful and relaxing. It’s the attention to the minutest details that make an inn a luxury inn.

Room Tip: Request room overlooking pool and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bellmoor Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellmoor Inn and Spa

Address: 6 Christian Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bellmoor Inn and Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellmoor Inn, a seaside resort, a non-smoking hotel that has the look and feel of a modern stylish inn while offering the service and privacy of a small European hotel. A Rehoboth Beach Inn for decades, it has been reborn as the newest with the completion of 78 elegant rooms, suites, and luxurious amenities. A garden spot seemingly far removed from ocean resort activity, yet only a short walk to the beach and the town's renowned boutiques, restaurants, galleries and coffee houses. Offering you the coziness of a bed-and-breakfast with the service and luxury of a five star hotel. Nearby Airports* Salisbury Airport - 45 miles* Balltimore/Washington International (MD) - 100 miles* Philadelphia International (PA) - 100 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Bellmoor Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellmoor Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Bellmoor Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Bellmoor Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.