We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel but not special enough for the high rates.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bellmoor Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Bellmoor Inn and Spa to your Saves list
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Christian Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Valentine's Getaway!!
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
West Hempstead, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A nice hotel but not special enough for the high rates.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed four nights in this hotel with my adult daughter and we had a pleasant enough experience. That said, at the rates that are being charged, I was hoping for something a bit more special. Small fitness center, one small pool, one REALLY small pool, and not much to speak of in the way of balconies unless you are paying even more and booking the fourth floor suites. The breakfast was perfectly adequate but again not special, although they had an omelet station on the weekend mornings that was nice. There was a fridge in the room, which was a pleasant surprise, since the hotel webpage did not make mention of this. There are some logistical issues with the coffee station, specifically there is not much room on the table to add cream and sugar. Bottom line: you will enjoy your stay if you temper your expectations somewhat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    119
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
119
331
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
garnet valley, pa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

My life partner & I stayed here for a short Honeymoon right after our wedding in June 2010. We booked The Carolina Suite for 2 nights and the Palmer House King With Balcony for the next 2 nights. We checked in very late at night, like 3am, and the front desk was very nice. We went to our room and The Carolina Suite was THE BEST! Separate living room and kitchen, and bedroom with a HUGE bathroom including a hydrotherapy tub and all granite sink. Fireplace in bedroom and livingroom too! The balcony was amazing as it was the highest balcony there (5th floor I think), no one could really see onto our balcony at all from any direction :) It overlooks the beautiful garden courtyard and you could see down the street to the beach, getting a glimpse of the ocean! If you want to splurge I would definitely book this room! The Palmer House was okay, it had a bigger deck atop 1 outside staircase, but the room itself was small and not worth the money (not fancy at all.) The deck was nice though, plenty of space to sit and relax or eat breakfast, not secluded at all though as it is seen clearly from the courtyard. The Inn provides a full breakfast everyday (I think) but the downside is that we are vegan - we could only eat fruit and toast, and they would not even get Soymilk when we requested it for coffee (for all guests to share, down where the coffee is)! For paying over $500/per night, I would think that is a reasonable request, and i'm sure other guests would have liked it as well as many people drink soymilk. I think they told us they would get some, but they didn't. Breakfast time was also very busy, lots of people in courtyard and inside the hotel eating. The pool was okay, kind of small/average for a pool at an Inn, but clean and relaxing - mostly older people in it / lounging. The courtyard was amazing- brick walkways, koi ponds, flowers and plants everywhere! Wooden tables and chairs scattered for guests. If I plan to spend this much money in Rehoboth again, I would love to stay here again in the Carolina Suite.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in the newer part of the hotel with our baby this month and really enjoyed it! The family pool was nice - plenty of shade and not too crowded. Our room was very clean. The breakfasts were nice - we found something in the sticky buns and the management addressed it promptly (it was a basting brush bristle)
They supplied a crib for the baby including a tight fitting clean crib sheet. A little pricey at $300+/night high season but the comfort is worth it. The outdoor space/garden was lovely too. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Spent two weekend nights at the Bellmoor recently. Place was packed as expected in late August. Some disappointsments: the walls and doors were paper thin and the screaming children in the next room destroyed any peace and quiet we expected. The shampoo, conditioner, lotion in the bathroom were appropriate for a Holiday Inn but not for a place that charges what the Bellmoor does, minimal offerings. They messed up our dinner reservation so we had to scramble to find a table on a busy Saturday night. Lots of help sitting around some helpful and friendly some not. On the plus side, the garden area was nice, breakfast was nice and the changing room available for early check in and late clean up before heading home were all nice. Inn tries to be a five star hotel and certainly charges the price but falls short. I would imagine one could do better by looking around or trying another beach town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We've visited Rehobeth in summers past but this was our first stay at the Bellmoor Inn. After our visit I can't imagine staying at any hotel other than the Bellmoor! The hotel is impeccably clean, inviting, and relaxing.

The hotel offers a full breakfast daily with eggs, meat (bacon or sausage) and either pancakes or french toast as well as pastries, cereal and fruit. The coffee/tea bar is available 24 hrs. On the weekend, we had made-to-order omelettes. Each afternoon the hotel offers a snack of cookies and tea.

We had a two-bed room that was more than big enough for our 3-person family. There were lots of families vacationing at the same time but overall the hotel was very quiet! We found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. One day during our visit, it was raining so the hotel opened up one of the meeting rooms to be used as a game room with Twister, Monopoly, etc. We found two tables with puzzles started and plenty of tables specially made for checkers and chess.

The hotel is perfectly located, close enough to the beach, restaurants, and stores but away from all the traffic. All in all, very relaxing and inviting with two pools (one adult only), sitting parlors, and a wonderful garden made for visiting with friends/family or just reading and relaxing.

We will certainly be returning to the Bellmoor the next time we visit Rehoboth!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Me and my wife had an opportunity to stay at the Belllmoor Inn on August 14,15,16, and 17th. We had a courtyard room 105, with a queen sized bed. The room and bathroom were very clean and opened up to a beautiful tree and fountain enclosed courtyard. We also were steps away from a small quaint adult only pool. There was a larger pool on the second floor of the main hotel (with a detached hot tub). Breakfast was included, and I must say that it was excellently displayed and choices included Scrambled eggs done up in a different way each day, as well as a meat of the day.Ther was also cereal, granola, oat meal and assorted muffins and breads available. On our stay the meat included sausage and bacon (nice quality, chef). The cofee was to die for, 5 types displayed on a 24 hour basis. Our favorite was the Kona coffee. A boxed selection of teas was also available for daily teatotaling (could use chamomile) to come down from coffee high... Water with lemon and lime was a nice feature at midday, as well as the 3 o'clock cookie fest.
The Bellmoor also featured a Spa on site, although we did not indulge during our stay.
All in all we loved the location (away from the crowds), but close to all the action. We would definitely come back to the Inn if afforded the opportunity.

Regards,

Paul K.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

the bellmoor is an impeccably clean, well-run hotel with wonderful service and a full-service spa onsite. we were happy to see that none of these elements had changed at all when we stayed there this month! there is really nothing else in rehoboth beach to compare to it (in fact, if the bellmoor did not exist, i would probably never go to rehoboth again). yes, it is on the pricey side... but the fact that the rates include breakfast helps us rationalize this a little bit! we enjoyed the quiet poolside chairs, the outside garden, and the interior parlor spaces. if i had to identify limitations, they would be these: 1) the fitness room is tiny and quite minimal, and 2) although breakfast and afternoon refreshments are served, there is no restaurant on site -- consequently, you must leave for lunch and dinner and there is no possibility of room service. In the end, these are minor considerations, because there are lots of restaurants nearby as well as gyms where you can buy day passes to work out. we will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bellmoor Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellmoor Inn and Spa

Address: 6 Christian Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bellmoor Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellmoor Inn, a seaside resort, a non-smoking hotel that has the look and feel of a modern stylish inn while offering the service and privacy of a small European hotel. A Rehoboth Beach Inn for decades, it has been reborn as the newest with the completion of 78 elegant rooms, suites, and luxurious amenities. A garden spot seemingly far removed from ocean resort activity, yet only a short walk to the beach and the town's renowned boutiques, restaurants, galleries and coffee houses. Offering you the coziness of a bed-and-breakfast with the service and luxury of a five star hotel. Nearby Airports* Salisbury Airport - 45 miles* Balltimore/Washington International (MD) - 100 miles* Philadelphia International (PA) - 100 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Bellmoor Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellmoor Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Bellmoor Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Bellmoor Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bellmoor Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.