We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with my stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36012 Airport Road, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very happy with my stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of June. Upon arriving we noticed the building was freshly painted and the grounds were nicely landscaped. There was plenty of parking.
The lobby was very modern and smelled and looked very clean.
We did not use the pool.
The location was very quiet. You could not hear any traffic from the main road. The hotel looks like they just had a remodel. Our room was on the first floor. It was very clean, updated and modern. The bed was comfy too. We used the mini frig and I like having a safe in the room, so I do not have a problem paying the $1.50 fee per day for this convenience.
The air conditioner worked well. We were very comfortable. The staff was super friendly.
I had coffee and breakfast in the morning. I noticed that the breakfast area was constantly being restocked. The employees I encountered were keeping this area clean and spotless during and after the breakfast rush.
I would definitely stay here again. I did not have any unusual charges on my bill.
I had a very positive experience staying here. I'm hoping to return again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    70
    41
    13
    21
See reviews for
82
83
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have stayed at the AmericInn twice and recommended it to friends as an good budget (well, budget for the summer at the beach) option in Rehoboth. We had no qualms about making our annual reservation again this year.

We were pleasantly suprised to see that the lobby had been renovated when we checked in this year and were told that the hotel is under new management this year, hence the improvements. Unfortunately, our stay was downhill from there.

When we got to our room, it was a handicapped room. There was no lip to the shower, and the shower curtain hung six inches above the floor -- water during a shower would go everywhere during a shower. I returned to the front desk to ask why we'd been put in that room when we didn't reserve it only to be told that I had. I have no recollection of doing so; all I wanted was a room with a king-sized bed. The woman at the front desk said, however, that the guest who'd checked in right after us was unhappy about being given a room on the second floor (the motel has no elevator) and that she was ask her to switch with us. The woman agreed, and we were moved to the second floor.

Once we got in, my husband used the restroom and the toilet immediately overflowed when he flushed it. We ran back downstairs to alert the front desk, only to find out that the front desk attendants don't have ready access to either a toilet plunger or a mop. In the meantime, we discovered that we didn't have any bath towels in the room, so I was trying to sop up water from the carpet in front of the sink with wash cloths and hand towels. Finally, someone located the plunger and brought us towels, but the carpet remained sopping wet. We ended up putting one of the new bath towels on top of it.

The next day, we were on the beach when I got a call from the motel asking if we planned to stay there that night. Of course, that was what was on my original reservation. Apparently, when were moved to the other room, we were only transferred for one night, not the two of our reservation. We raced back to the hotel to make sure our belongings were secure since the hotel apparently thought we should have checked out, only to find that, of course, our keys didn't work. We were given new keys by the front desk, and only one of them worked.

We also discovered that, when the room was serviced, they took away the towels we used but didn't replace them, so we had just one bath towel between the two of us. And, the carpet in front of the sink was still wet and starting to mildew. At that point, we only had to get through one more night, so we went to the movies and came back late to go to sleep.

Other issues through out our stay -- the wifi wasn't working, there was a problem with their DirectTV feed and the channel selection was extremely limited, and instead of four pillows on the bed we had two pillows and two pillowcases filled with blankets.

Based on our experience this year, we will be giving serious thought to staying elsewhere when we travel to Rehoboth next summer.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground floor if you can't do stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belkins, RMC at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
I am sorry you were unhappy with your recent visit. We have made some changes to the property and always welcome feedback from our guests. The Front Office staff has been made aware of the reservation problem you encountered and we have addressed training issues.

Your review has been given to both Housekeeping and Maintenance and will followup on the issues you addressed.

We hope you will reconsider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Front office staff is a joke and are clueless. Cleaning crew didnt clean our room once in 2 days. Disgusting Bathroom gross smells like mold. And has brown mold on floor. Overall not good and i dont complain much

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belkins, RMC at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
I'm sorry you were unhappy with your recent stay. We are taking steps to improve training at the desk as most are new to the property. Housekeeping and Maintenance projects are ongoing as we do find different cleaning techniques are needed for a property close to the ocean.

We take our guest feedback serious, so we can address issues and alert our staff to build a better guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I needed to stay overnight on a quick last minute trip to Rehoboth......I was able to get a room at American. My husband and I use this hotel each time we come to town. Good location right on route 1....clean neat hotel....great staff to help with any needs. Haven't used the pool...or eaten breakfast, but they both looked great. You can also bring your dog, they have a nice area outside for dogs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We needed a last minute getaway to the beach so my friend found the reviews here on trip advisor. We read the reviews- both agreed it seemed to be hit or miss so we gave it a try.

Oh MY, What a MISS!. Pictures will accompany this review. Stayed in room 113 for reference purposes.
After checking in through the front lobby, we brought our bags through the side/back door just off the parking lot. First red flag should have been that the door is propped open with a metal bar- it seems as though the Smokers and Dog walkers use this entrance as there is a nice picnic table and green area for the pups. No issue with it BUT- the trash cans that are placed right by this door were overflowing with trash. What attracts to TRASH- FLIES! And there were plenty of Flies inside of the Hotel and IN OUR room (because the maids leave the doors open while they 'clean' your room. Picture included of overflowing trash cans and fly in the room.
EASY fix for this problem is that the Hotel should fix the door so that the Keys actually work in that side door- then the guests don't prop the door open next to the overflowing trash cans.

We never used the in-room microwave- because when we opened the door we found it dirty. Picture included. Some have stated that their rooms were renovated and nice- I'm including a picture of our running water sink to show that our room was not renovated and the water dripped 24/7 during our stay. I can attest to the TV quality being poor/fuzzy.

So- lets talk about the cleanliness. Have you ever left a tip in the envelope of the room and come back later in the evening to find the tip still there and your room has been serviced? Well, first time that has ever happened to us. Attention to detail? Microwave remained dirty throughout our stay- in fact, we saw a cheerio laying outside of the room across the hall on the floor and placed bets on whether it would be there when we got back. It remained there- and probably still is there.
The back/side door area off the parking lot- picture included, blood spatter on the wall and droplets on the floor. No telling how long that had been there but I did go to the front desk and tell the staff about it. It remained there for another day and a half.

Also, if you are on the first floor, you might hear the drip of the second floors a/c unit dripping down onto your unit throughout the evening- happy sleeping!

Lastly, 1.50 per day charge for a safe? really?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I found this looking on line for a short get away with my wife. The hotel was newly renovated and it looked almost new inside. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. I liked that it was just a block or so off the main highway, but very easy lighted access to Rt 1. Nice location between Cape Henlopen State Park beaches and Rehoboth/Dewey. We had a king room with whirlpool. The whirlpool was not the strongest but it still felt nice. The jacuzzi by the indoor pool is very nice. Room was exceptionally clean, the HVAC was easy to use, just set the temp...no guess work. It was quiet. The bed was comfortable. The hotel is quiet. It's not a real big hotel. No elevator to 2nd floor, but staff carried my bags upstairs!! Breakfast was adequate, not great, but then I didn't pay a lot. Breakfast = cereals, bagels, muffins, donuts,microwave egg sandwiches, fruit. Basic. Coffee bar had assorted flavors. The breakfast lobby was very spacious, neat and clean. We were happy and would return and have recommended to some friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel since one of the couples in our group needed a pet-friendly place. The green shingles looked new but since the hotel was off the beaten path, at first I was not sure how the interior would be. It was a nice surprise to enter the lobby and see the bright and clean decor with muted colors - perfect after a day at the beach. The staff was friendly and the rooms were great. We could hear folks in another room through the walls, but it was only when they were laughing loudly. We didn't partake of the breakfast, but it looked great and plenty of people were enjoying it.

Room Tip: Our second floor room had a jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#3 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 721 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Bea...
#13 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
#17 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
2.4 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#15 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach

Address: 36012 Airport Road, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn of Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, located off RT 1, just 1.5 miles from the Atlantic Ocean in Rehoboth Beach. Our nonsmoking hotel has 48 rooms including double queens, king, whirlpool-fireplace rooms and two room suites. Enjoy our large recreation area complete with indoor pool and spa, as well as a full size pool table. The Double Queen rooms are dog friendly, accepting small dogs for a 25.00 USD fee per night. For your convenience, we have coin operated guest laundry facilities. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 30 people for a business meeting or special occasion gathering. Relax with a cup of coffee, tea or hot chocolate in our spacious two-story lobby with fireplace and cozy conversation areas. Stay connected to home or the office with free high-speed Internet access. In the morning, wake up to a complimentary, hot AmericInn Perk breakfast with fresh waffles, fresh fruit, pastries, coffee, juice and more. You are sure to enjoy this impeccably clean hotel that offers all the amenities and friendly staff expected of a high quality hotel. The AmericInn of Rehoboth is near area attractions including Rehoboth Beach Boardwalk, Tanger Outlets - three tax free outlet shopping centers, fishing, boating, Historical Lewes, DE, Jungle Jim’s Water Park and plenty of restaurants to suit many different tastes. Extra quiet rooms, built with AmericInn Sound Guard construction, assure you a peaceful stay. We provide the things you want most after a busy day of travel. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests. For more information become our fan on Facebook - AmericInn of Rehoboth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, AmericInn Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Rehoboth Beach
Americinn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Americinn Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.