We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shorebreak Lodge

Shorebreak Lodge
10 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE
302-227-1007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Shorebreak Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 234 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Atlantic Ocean
Description: 133 steps to the Atlantic...Blurring the boundary between a night in with friends, and an evening on the town, coastal gastropub cuisine, eclectic wine, handcrafted cocktails, cool beers, laid back livin'. We are locally owned and operated establishment. We start with what we call our kitchens mantra from Julia Child; "You don't have to cook fancy or complicated masterpieces, just good food from fresh ingredients." Our interpretation is too not get in the way of the food, let the ingredients speak for themselves. We mix this altogether with a nice selection of handcrafted cocktails (a must these days), craft brews, and wines, throw it all together in a relaxed beach cottage atmosphere, and try our best to provide you with the friendliest service we know how. There you have it: Shorebreak Lodge.
Washington DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

No crab cakes on the menu, I nearly wept...the menu changes frequently, depending on the freshest ingredients available. To console myself, I had the tilefish: incredibly fresh--succulent & melt-in-your-mouth tender, simply dressed to bring out the subtle flavor & sweetness. This rested on a bed of lentils in a light, tomato-based sauce that somehow managed to enhance it even more, elevating it to a swoon-provoking level. Hubs had he tuna, which may have been the best I have ever tasted. 12 year old daughter had the cheese plate, the tartness and mild sweetness of the olives & various ingredients perfectly balanced and complimented the richness & savoriness of the cheeses. She loved it so much she had the leftovers for breakfast the next a.m. John, the owner, is delightful and wonderful, we always enjoy talking to him. Ask for the herb/fruit infused water, we've had cucumber & basil as well as mint & something (can't remember). This is indescribably refreshing and tasty. They infuse the water with herbs grown in their own garden, we always ask for a bottle to take with us, & they always gladly obliged. Btw, one of the main reasons we went to Rehoboth was to dine here.
The only (mildly) negative aspect is the interior is a little cramped and dark & the outdoor seating is limited.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    21
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Noisy but delicious fare!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The reviews looked good so we gave it a try! A bit disappointing as the online menu was more varied than what was being served that day. I had the Grapefruit Crush - it wasn't bad, just wasn't sweet (not bitter though). Hubby had the 312 Urban Wheat Ale - which I also kept drinking his! We shared the pork belly served atop teriyaki green beans and topped with a poached egg. We both enjoyed this, but the pork was very small in portion. We then ordered 2 entrees to share: scallops and braised short ribs over risotto and the shrimp with tomato relish and grits. They were equally divine!! We shouldn't have ordered dessert: the strawberry rhubarb pie with vanilla ice cream was a miss!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best food spots in Rehoboth.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Fine dining food in a great laid back atmosphere. Bartender with curly hair is a lot of fun and is a part owner. The head chef is also a part owner and is the creator of the Eden restaurant in Rehoboth which is good too. Shorebreak is nestled in the first block of Wilmington Ave so you have to look for it but trust me you won't be disappointed when you find it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, DE
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Questioning the hype---”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Decided to try based on reviews-wanted to love it!! -I guess we hit an 'off night'! Service was friendly snd attentive but we even had to ask for the special herb infused water that others raved about.
Food prices were typical for Rehoboth. Portion sizes more than adequate. Food just so-so. Fried oysters were overdone and all one could taste was the heavy batter shell. The scallops entree was quite good but I have had a better crab cake at Salt Air down the block. We are willing to go again in hopes of a better experience.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Hands down the BEST restaurant in Rehoboth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We ended up going three nights of our weeklong vacation because the food was that good. Best arugula salad with creamy burrata, heirloom tomato salad, tuna collar (my husband adored it and ordered it all three times) and the octopus (They have it flown in from Spain.)
The chef is creative and the menu is eclectic and the owner remembered us and was on site every night.
The menu changes frequently depending on the season and I suppose the chef's mood.
Really good food. Last night I had the crabcakes which were the best I've ever eaten. Cheese plates were also yummy. We never had room for dessert. Oh, please get the watermelon gaspacho. A rainbow of flavors and textures.
Thanks Shorebreak, we'll be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shorebreak Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Shorebreak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shorebreak Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.