We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19953 Shuttle Road, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Boston, MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I'm not normally one to stay at Holiday Inns, but we were late in booking our stay and selection was extremely limited, so we did, I was pleasantly surprised during our brief two night stay. The hotel was very clean, rooms were spacious (2 queens for 3 of us), bathroom was big and very clean, and the bedding was comfortable. The breakfast was good with some hot items: eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits & gravy and even a DIY pancake machine that made delicious pancakes. Other items three were cereal, muffins, bagels, yogurt, etc. the only hing lacking was fresh fruit (only bananas), but we were happy with the selection otherwise.

The lady who checked us in was extremely nice and helpful. I knew absolutely nothing about the area so she very patiently answered questions I had and made suggestions. Unfortunately I didn't get her name.

The hotel is located a short distance away from the "heart" of Rehoboth beach, but not terribly far. It's a very busy area but noise was not a problem at the hotel. Shopping outlets located right across the street.

There is a bus service located right next door tot the hotel that came in very handy for us - Dart.. For $1 per person (one way) it would take us to the boardwalk. You could also buy all day passes for $2.10 I believe. The bus is a very short walk from the hotel and runs very frequently. There are other routes that will take you other places as well.

The pool was a little small and crowded, so we didn't partake in using it. Looked nice though.

Overall we were very happy with our stay. I will be more open to staying at Holiday Inn Express in the future in hopes that they are all like this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnHeck, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Good day Purplebook,
Thank you for taking the time to list such a detailed description of our property and nearby features.
I believe that any traveler who reads your review will be able to make a sound decision as to whether our hotel is a fit for their travel needs. You have offered such an array of information coupled with your personal experience.
We thank you for considering our hotel for your lodging partner during any futhre visits to our area.
Safe journeys!
Dawn Heck, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    76
    22
    10
    11
See reviews for
80
50
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I was one of five families who stayed at the hotel and it was great. I guess the rooms were newly renovated because they were new and clean. The free breakfast was a treat and it was conveniently located to the beach. We had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnHeck, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Happy July Daless,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our fellow travelers and hotel team members.
We realize you have many lodging choices when visiting the Rehoboth Beach area and wish to thank you for choosing our location.
We look forward to seeing you and your family during your next visit to our area.
Safe journeys!
Dawn Heck, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We choose this hotel for a number of reasons - location, ability to comfortably accommodate four adults, and complimentary breakfast, among other things. Upon check in, we were initially impressed by the property. Our room was very spacious - two Queen beds and a pullout - plenty of space for the four of us. The convenience of the wet bar area was a plus, especially the large mini fridge. However, our first impressions were quickly gone when we returned to our room the next evening to find that the maid hadn't touched our room. When I went to the front desk to address the issue, they couldn't find any notes from the maid as to why our room hadn't been cleaned. The only offers the manager made to remedy the situation was to empty our trash and provide us with clean towels. I realize this could have been a simply mistake, and I've had it happen before. When maid service has been skipped over at other hotels, I've been offered much more though, including the offer to have the manager him/herself clean the room and receiving additional hotel points for the inconvenience. (We are IHG members, and our number was used when making our reservation.) Neither of these options were given to us though. It almost felt as though management wasn't concerned with the maid's mistake and was willing to overlook it, and that they wanted to get me away from the front desk as quickly as possible.

Because we love Rehoboth Beach, we'll definitely return to the area. Will we stay here again though? That's very questionable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnHeck, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear KathrynT,

I apologize for the oversight on the part of our team member. Our team takes great pride in offering great service.
Indeed your statement is on the money, a member of a management team should be a part of the solution for a guest problem or concern.
It was a manager who cleaned your room. His understanding was that the your needs were fresh bath linen and trash removal. Since it appears he may have misunderstood your needs, we truly wish you would have felt comfortable enough to mentioned this to him at the time as he definitely would have provided full housekeeping room service.
This definitely was a missed opportunity on our part to provide you with the level of service you should expect from our team members.
When making your plans for your next visit to Rehoboth Beach, I hope you consider giving our property another opportunity to service your lodging needs. Please contact me directly for any potential future bookings or to further discuss this particular stay.
We wish you continued safe journeys!
Dawn Heck, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a Clean and friendly hotel with a better than expected breakfast. The beds were comfortable and our room with the two queen beds was large. The free internet in our room was an appreciated bonus. Good location close to the outlet mall and just a short drive from the beach. The children enjoyed the pool after a long day at the beach. I would definetly stay at this hotel again........................

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnHeck, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Carine A,
Thank you for choosing our location for your accommodation needs. Traveler reviews assist hotel teams with ensuring we are providing the service our guests should expect during their stay with us. They can also provide a wealth of information to other travelers when they are making their decision as to what lodging facitility best suits their needs. Thank you for sharing your experience!
We are delighted to read how much your enjoyed your stay with our property.
We look forward to seeing you and your family again!
Safe journeys!
Dawn Heck, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our second summer visit to this hotel, and we were very happy once again. We had fourth floor rooms that were very quiet, and as always spacious and very clean. Our three rooms were in close proximity to each other as requested, and we even were granted an early check-in. This was a blessing because we were travelling with a toddler and eleven month old! The pool was lovely, and the close proximity to the beach made this a wonderful choice for a hotel. The breakfast choices were nice. We will definitely be back again next year!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnHeck, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear DebobNewJersey,
Yay! So great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! Try as we may, unfortunately during our peak season there are times when we cannot get our guests settled into their rooms early than 3pm. We're tickled to know that our housekeeping and front desk team members were able to accommodate your families needs.
We look forward to seeing you again and we wish you continued safe journeys!
Dawn Heck, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the boardwalk and the waterpark and outlets. The hotels closer to the boardwalk are extremely pricey so I opted to stay about 1 mile form the boardwalk at this HI Express. it was right in between the Jungle Jim's water park and a Tanger Outlet center. It was a 3 minute drive to the boardwalk area and all the shops and restaurants. The hotel was clean, had a nice pool and served hot breakfast every day. Although one of the days we went down to eat a little later in the morning and the selection was not so good. So I went over to The Fractured Prune which serves the best hand dipped donuts I have ever had and then we went across the street to The Point for some gourmet coffees and lattes. I asked the hotel staff for some information about local attractions and eateries but they were not too knowledgeable ( were sending me the wrong way to Cape Henlopen...thank goodness for GPS and when we went to eat at the Purple Parrot as per their recommendation we did not find it to be child friendly at all...but the food was good). They were very pleasant to deal with though. All in all a good choice if trying to save a few dollars when visiting the Delaware beaches.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnHeck, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear jnp62,
Thank you for choosing to stay at our location during your visit to Rehoboth Beach, DE.
I will bring your breakfast bar concern to the attention of our team so we can assure all of our guests that the products being served are available for the times we specify.
Thank you for sharing your concern as this allows us more opportunity to see through the eyes of our guests.
We wish you continued safe journeys!
Dawn Heck, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

First of all, let me say that we originally had reservations at another hotel in Rehoboth Beach, but after much consideration, we changed due to pricing. I am happy that we did! While the other hotel was on the beach, this hotel had an easy to get DART shuttle right behind the hotel. FYI the shuttle is only $2.10 per day per person - so much cheaper and easier than finding a spot at the beach. The staff was friendly, the room was large, and the breakfast was good.

We only stayed two nights but had an enjoyable time. Everyone was very gracious as we dealt with our 2 1/2 year old toddler. We used the pool and found it clean and convenient. The hotel did a good job attempting to renovate an older structure. The room was clean and everything was very nice! I am very picky about cleanliness and this hotel was great for me!

Some advice on Rehoboth Beach in general....this was our first visit to the area. We enjoyed the people, the beautiful beach, the food, and the area in general. We found everyone to be very friendly. The hotel is not exactly close to the beach, but again, the shuttle is excellent. There is no real parking near the boardwalk. It is all thirty minute metered parking except for spaces which are pretty far away. Those are also meter but have 12 hour spans on them. If you are going for a few days, staying away from the beach is not a problem. However, if I were going to go for any bit longer, I would definitely stay closer.

Again, this is a great hotel that delivers all that it promises! We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnHeck, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear rhodac8,
You truly did hit many highlights about our area and our property. I believe fellow travlers can gain a good feel as to our location and some of our features when they read your review.
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to share such a wealth of information and for choosing to stay with our property during your visit to our area.
We wish you and yours a safe and fun-filled Summer!
Dawn Heck, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach

Address: 19953 Shuttle Road, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh from a complete renovation, the Holiday Inn Express provides modern accommodations and well-appointed amenities sure to fulfill your every need! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Holiday Inn Rehoboth Beach
Rehoboth Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.