We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chinatown Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #160 of 234 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Surprisingly very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Chinese buffets are frequently filled with poorly cooked, salty, oily food. Not the case here. The variety here was exceptional, price was very reasonable and the quality of the food was very good. I would definitely go back. Much better than expected.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and plenty of variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This fun buffet is a favorite for any visitor, with lots of choices, a nice price for the all-you-care-to-eat diner, and a fine a la carte menu. Fresh, tasty food at a reasonable price!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very Good Overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have visited this establishment on three occasions and with the exception of the last visit, the food was exceptional, the service was fine (it's a self serve buffet) and the environment was comfortable and clean. On our first two visits the three main serving stations were filled with a fresh, still-steaming variety of mostly asian/chinese dishes. So far I have sampled the pepper steak the goyoza and dim-sum the sauteed string beans, the peel away shrimp, the pork with scallions, the peanut chicken, general "chows" chicken, honey chicken, the sushi, the baked (stuffed) shrimp, and on and on. Everything was consistently authentic, fresh and well prepared. I never expect restaurant quality food at a Chinese Buffet, but this place delivers just that. The only minor negative was our last visit, which was memorial day. The quality of the offerings was up to par, but the serving trays were not as swiftly re-filled and the food not as fresh and hot as I grown used to. All in all, the chinatown buffet and grill is a fine place to satisfy that urge for chinese food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeville, Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

surprising decor, large eating space. large variety of dishes and food was hot. Flavors were spiced really well. Staff was very friendly. definitely will be a regular customer.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

No complaints at all about this buffett.
Tremendous selection - from Dim Sum to pizza. Friendly, attentive staff. Priced right.
It's about a 20-mile drive from my home in Ocean City, so we couple it with a shopping spree in tax-free Delaware, and have our lunch there. This place is so good that we plan on going back for their dinner sometime, just to see how good they do that meal!
One of the better Chinese buffets you'll encounter in the Mid-Atlantic region.
One more thing: The bathroom was spotless.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Chinatown Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinatown Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.