We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum at Delaware Seashore State Park
25039 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
(302) 227-6991
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum is a historic site located within Delaware Seashore State Park. Self-guided tours of the museum are offered year round and provide visitors with the opportunity to learn about the history of the United States Life-Saving Service, precursor to the current day U.S. Coast Guard.Not only is the Indian River Life-Saving Station open for tours, it also acts as the "hub" for all educational and recreational programs held within Delaware Seashore State Park. Programs cover a wide range of topics and activities from local maritime history to guided kayak tours.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What to do on a rainy day?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This little museum was a lot of fun for our two boys. There's an informational video and small museum showing how the brave lifeguards lived at the turn of the century . They were fascinated by the tools, especially the small canons. The audio tour available on your phone is really helpful, especially with impatient boys.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“interesting visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a nice little stop. The history of this station is fascinating and the stories of the people who worked here for all those years saving people from the ocean are amazing. We did the phone-in self guided tour. The information was quite useful and certainly added to the experience. I highly recommend at least doing the phone-in - without that the experience would have been a bit flat. We were not able to do any of the special activities they have as there were none happening at the time we visited - but I think those would have added a lot to the experience. I found the 6 minute intro film a bit dull - there was some good info there but I think they could have done a lot more with that. [Quick suggestions: add more narration, consider some live action reenactments mixed in with the historical stills.] Overall, this is quite an interesting place and worth the stop. The admission price is quite reasonable. It also has a nice gift shop with some unusual objects. I'm glad we visited.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very nice daytime and nighttime activities for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

this museum has a night time program where it traces the path of the guards watching for ships passing by as they did a century ago. the use of lanterns enhances the experience and tales of the sea mariners. wonderful for all ages.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Incredible history at the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

So very glad my husband and I decided to stop at the IRLSS! The quality of the restoration, the displays, and the information presented was top-notch! We had the good fortune of a guided tour by a retired Navy/Coast Guard officer the morning we were there. The life-saving work done a hundred years ago by these men is well worth sharing. Thank-you!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Indian River Life Saving Station Museum in DE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have passed by this place many times but this is the first time I stopped. I did not visit the museum but was pleasantly surprised by the wonderful gift shop there. The prices were affordable; many unique items were available. The staff was very friendly and exceedingly helpful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum at Delaware Seashore State Park also viewed

 

Been to Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum at Delaware Seashore State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum at Delaware Seashore State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.