We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On Highway 1 just north of Indian River” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum at Delaware Seashore State Park

Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum at Delaware Seashore State Park
25039 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
(302) 227-6991
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum is a historic site located within Delaware Seashore State Park. Self-guided tours of the museum are offered year round and provide visitors with the opportunity to learn about the history of the United States Life-Saving Service, precursor to the current day U.S. Coast Guard.Not only is the Indian River Life-Saving Station open for tours, it also acts as the "hub" for all educational and recreational programs held within Delaware Seashore State Park. Programs cover a wide range of topics and activities from local maritime history to guided kayak tours.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“On Highway 1 just north of Indian River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Get info about the Delaware Seashore State Park and learn a little history.
Buy season passes and discount beach passes here.
They also sell some nice souvenirs related to the beach and the profits help maintain the park system.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We toook the guided tour of the life-saving station. our guide was very knowledgable and friendly. Very intersting history of our area. Nice gift shop too! The have many programs here that you can sign up for through the Delaware State Parks.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful historic and fascinating place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We enjoyed the tour in the old life saving station, dialing the special phone number and listening to the descriptions of the furnishings and life in the station for the men who served there. All of the staff in the center and the shop were so helpful. We were happy to have them find for us the old photo of the opening of the inlet by explosives!
Great book selection in the shop. Wonderful to see the turtles up close and personal!

We enjoyed our time so much on Tuesday that we retirned on Thursday of the same week.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had a great time doing a tour of the station in mid-March. Laura was my guide and she was fabulous; upbeat and very knowledgeable! I love how they have incorporated not only artifacts that show more about how amazing, life-saving work was done, but also ones that give you a glimpse into how those who served might have experienced day to day life at the station. I hope to return and take part in other programs that are offered! Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hill, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Coin Beach Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We met at the parking lot at the Indian River Inlet right next to the new bridge. Our guide was Alex, who was phenomenal. He was friendly, pleasant and knowledgeable. We had a great hike from the parking lot along the beach, almost to the Indian River Life Saving station. We were with another couple and their teenage son.

It was great! We had a good breeze blowing and the sun came out a little later. There were loads of sea shells and we practically had the beach to ourselves.

We paid $4 per person and it was money well spent. We were not allowed to give a tip to our guide, which I would have liked to do.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum at Delaware Seashore State Park also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum at Delaware Seashore State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum at Delaware Seashore State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.