We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than nothing...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Delaware Seashore State Park

Delaware Seashore State Park
130 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE
302-227-2800
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From fishing and boating to surfing and sail boarding, this six-mile stretch of coastline boasts a wide variety of outdoor recreation for people of all ages.
Hamburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better than nothing...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after being unable to book a site at my favorite state park, Assateague, worst idea ever. Bugs, SUN, small and awful shower/bath houses, and I hope you don't like privacy or quiet while camping. Got to hear traffic over the bridge all night a neighbor, puking, etc. You are right on top of your fellow campers and the beach is a long walk away!! And no fires? Seriously, camping with kids and you can't have a campfire. We would t be back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    55
    11
    15
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galion, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Do not camp here $$$$ and lots of horse flys!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This by far is the worst state park I have ever stayed at. Very expensive for a trailer park. There is no shade. The horseflies were terrible! The showers don't last longer than 10 seconds until I had to push it in again. It wasn't very close to the beach unless you drove then had to pay for parking. No grass just a slab of cement to park RV on. No nice lots. Practically sitting on the next lot very tightly packed

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyertown, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Beaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I love the fact that there is a bathhouse at every beach and they are relatively clean. If they aren't clean it is because some people don't understand the system of carry in/carry out. Biting flies were bad this year but that is probably a climate thing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family and I loved this beach more than Henlopen State Park. It's less crowded and such a sleeper. We would pull in everyday around 8:30 and be the first car! Loved it and would go back in a heartbeat. Word to the wise - bring plastic bags with you and bring your trash home!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If all you care about is the beach, stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I just stayed one night. We took a spur of the moment trip to the ocean and needed somewhere cheap to stay. The location couldn't be more perfect. Directly in between Rehobeth and Bethany, not too far from Ocean City. The beach is just a couple hundred feet away and very easy to walk to, but your camping pass gets you free access and parking if you don't want to. The beach is very nice and clean. Even though the entire campsite was packed, the beach was not overly crowded. The bathrooms were nicer than expected...better than the bath house. If you are camping, shower at the campsite. The biggest down side is the campsite itself. It does not look attractive at all and you are crammed tightly next to your camping neighbors. No trees at all (but beach camping is different than woods camping) and no campfires allowed either. It looks like a Hooverville with RVs and tents packed in tight. People seemed nice and weren't being rude, but because you are SO very close even regular conversations sound very loud, especially at 6:00 am when our neighbors packed up to go fishing early. I would definitely stay here again, especially since going to the beach for me is about the beach and it was very close and easy to access.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delaware Seashore State Park also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Delaware Seashore State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delaware Seashore State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.