We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
50 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-260-9193
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gem of a restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

We took our extended family of 12 here for dinner. What a wonderful experience. Maisey, our waitress, was friendly, observant of our needs, and very helpful with ordering. Food was delicious! Everyone concurred. Loved the creamed corn! Special flavor and recipe using fresh corn. Peel and eat shrimp were a hit. So were po boys, fried oysters, lobster rolls and lobster Mac and cheese. If you don't want to wait long, be there at 5 when restaurant opens. Must have entire party there to be seated. Bar area is open during day otherwise. This is a must try restaurant!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    121
    34
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Good food if a bit expensive ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Henolopen City Oyster House has decent food, if a little expensive for what you get. The hot pot was fresh but not particularly flavorful. The other seafood entrees we had were tasty. Overall, good food, great ambiance, and clearly a hot spot in Rehoboth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The crab develed eggs are a delight. They give you four halves and the seafood stew was pungent and delicious. It is worth the long way and the texting makes the wait easier since one can wander about while waiting for the table.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great choice for fresh seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We visited Henlopen City Oyster House based on a recommendation from friends. We arrived around 5:30 on a Saturday evening and were given a wait time of one hour for a table for 2. We appreciated that they asked for our phone number to send a text confirmation and then a follow-up text when our table was ready. We were a bit surprised that the wait was already an hour at 5:30 but we grabbed some seats at the bar and had a drink and appetizer while we waited. It was nice that they had a waiter working the bar area so we didn't have to try to grab the bar tenders' attention each time we needed something. Our wait wound up being more like 40 minutes, and we were shown to our seats. Our waiter was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. We started with the steamed mussels, which came in a delicious broth made with Belgian beer and oranges. I had the lobster mac and cheese and my husband had the wreckfish. I was pleased with my dish as it was loaded with large pieces of lobster (I find that proteins are often skimped on pasta dishes), so I was able to have some lobster with each bite of pasta. His fish was perfectly cooked and the sides complemented it well. Very nice atmosphere, and we were able to take our time and enjoy the meal without feeling rushed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Come for the Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

The lack of reservations is annoying (what to do with a one or two hour wait?). The inability of host staff to estimate wait times is annoying (they usually overstate the wait). And the restaurant in general feels cramped and overly loud.

BUT. The food is consistently tasty and well prepared and most waitstaff are knowledgable and efficient in a way that beats many others in town.

I'm a fried oyster fan, and the consistency of oyster to breading is just perfect. Every time. The steamed shrimp appetizer is great. The fish specials have been great. I love to eat here.

But we haven't tried the desserts. A royal treat ice cream cone and stroll on the boardwalk are always waiting just up the street....

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henlopen City Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.