We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, a little too crowded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
50 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-260-9193
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business, Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food, a little too crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

My husband and I and our friends had a great meal at the Henlopen City Oyster House. The kumamoto oysters and oysters rockefeller were wonderful. I had the po'boy sandwich, which was packed with fried oysters, clams and shrimp. My only complaint is that the restaurant is so terribly crowded.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    121
    34
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very expensive. Crowded and moisey .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Good seafood but for the price, I would like to have elbow room to eat. We couldn't hear each other so we sat silently.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Get In My Mouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Definitely worth the wait! Wonderful oysters and beverages. Tina did an incredible job behind the bar taking care of all our needs. Everyone needs to eat the Pot Luck. Great sampling of so many things.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First Timers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My husband and I visited for a date night during our recent vacation. We started with the clams casino and steamed clams appetizers and they did not disappoint! We rated the clams casino as the best we've ever had. Next we moved on to the main course. I had the crabcakes and my husband had the Mahi with peach salsa- they were both truly fantastic! I have to admit that I had food envy when I saw my husbands mahi come to the table but my crabcakes were delicious as well. We finished with a chocolate mocha cake that our server recommended. It was delicious, light and full of flavor. We can't to come back! Definitely a restaurant we will return to!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrangeville, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

What a fantastic restaurant! There was about a 45 min to an hour wait but it was well worth it. You give the hostess your cell number and they text you when your table is ready. My husband and I were dining with our 2 and 5 year olds so the wait was a little tough on them. During the wait a waitress saw that our children were getting a little antsy so she brought over crayons and paper for them to color on. The kids food came right out and unfortunately the wait for our entrees took quite a long time. We had to ask the waitress if she could check on the status but then the food came right out and she was very apologetic. ( this is the only reason I gave a 4 out of 5 rating) my husband started with an oyster sampler and then had the scallops as his entree. I had the fish special which they could prepare any way you liked. I chose the Harissa preparation and it did not disappoint. If I'm ever in Rehoboth again I will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henlopen City Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.