We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Henlopen Oyster House, shhh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
50 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-260-9193
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I love Henlopen Oyster House, shhh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I love this place, but don't want everyone to fill it up so I cannot get in. :-) Owner, Chris, is from Baltimore and on hand doing anything from cleaning glasses, pouring beer seating guests. I adored the tuna sashimi and returned and loved the seafood chowder.
Liked eating in the bar area
Great wines by glass selection.
Cheers

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    121
    34
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Our dining experience at the Oyster House in Rehoboth Beach last week was terrific. Beginning with a wonderful oyster selection and excellent clams we were very pleased. Our main courses, lobster macaroni and cheese and scallop poor boy did not disappoint. When we return to Rehoboth we will surely return to the Henlopen Otster House!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring, md
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Excellent happy hour; very good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Have been to this restaurant very many times. Unfortunately, the excellent happy hour has gotten so crowded that it is difficult to get a seat in the bar area. What I love is that they have a large variety of unusual beers and that the list changes often. The bartenders and servers seem to be very knowledgeable about all of the beers and will happily make suggestions based upon your tastes. They also have a nicely varied wine list. The oysters (and especially the sampler platter) are excellent, as are the calamari and the clams casino. My particular favorite meal is the lobster macaroni and cheese, though every other entree that I have tasted was also very good. The ambiance is very nice and well lit, especially during the daytime because of the large windows running the full length of the restaurant. The service is always friendly and efficient. The prices are pretty high (except for happy hour) but this restaurant is worth the price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Oysters & Black Drum, oh my!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This place is phenomenal! The oysters are so fresh, I ended up eating nearly two dozen on my own. I loved the sampler - it really gives you the chance to try oysters from different regions and compare them. So much fun! The beer list is unique and varied, and the wine list is equally varied. We really enjoyed the happy hour fare.

When our server told us that the Black Drum might not be available because the chef was still filleting it, I was willing to wait. I'm so glad I did because it was probably one of the best fish dishes I've ever had. Service was exceptional. We enjoyed a beautiful Sancerre with our dinner, and loved the oyster bucket used as a wine cooler. Very nice touch! Loved the decor as well: great use of space. The high ceilings and white walls made it feel very open without losing it's charm. We will definitely revisit next time we're in town!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The happy hour specials on beer and food are great. Service is really good even when it is crowded at the bar. They oyster shuckers were very helpful with info and let us try a couple even tho we are not big oyster fans. Great place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henlopen City Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.