We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
50 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-260-9193
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The restaurant we nice and clean and the food was good; however the portions were small and I felt overpriced. Their specialty was crab cakes, they were good, but better ones could be found elsewhere for less money.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    298
    82
    24
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Drove over for break heading to Pennsylvania. I had a delicious Bloody Mary. Clams casino a must for appetizer. We split a lobster roll and the scallop poboy. All very worth a stop. Cute atmosphere. They offer a sampler of oysters. If you love oysters, this is your destination

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

our hotel in dewey beach, hyatt place, had suggested this place so after a morning of outlet shopping we stopped by for lunch. the soups, clam and seafood chowder would good, loaded with fresh items. the lobster mac was awesome so much lobster! my friend had the blackened mahi mahi which was large enough for dinner. the service was also terrific. the restaurant is small so it is best to go for lunch or have a reservation. this will be one place i will be going back to when i am i the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC mtns
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous Clams Casino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Bob-the-Foodie recommended the Henlopen City Oyster House for clams casino -- and he hit the nail on the head! We ate plate after plate of these delicious mollusks, perfectly seasoned and perfectly cooked. The rest of the food was very good, the service was perfect, and the Clams Casino were outstanding.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you love oysters, you'll love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

service was great
learned a lot about different kinds of oysters from an extremely knowledgeable staff
roasted beet salad was delicious and the tuna tartare awesome
the oyster sampler is a MUST!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henlopen City Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.