We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
50 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-260-9193
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ellicottville, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Please read my other reviews. I don't give 5 stars lightly, unlike many reviewers. This was my second visit here. When I walked in, the owner welcomed me back, having recognized me from a year ago! It's always busy here and there is a wait, but they warn you the wait is longer than it really is, which is a plus in my book. I am an oyster nut. My oysters were superb, and the presentation was simple and ideal. The lobster roll would embarrass most Massachusetts locations The lamb shank, one of several non-seafood items, was bliss. The wait staff is well-trained, a rarity these days. Our waitress could describe every beer to perfection. Who else can say this? The beer selection is remarkable for this small location. Ask for the "special beer list" if you're willing to spend a little more. You won't be disappointed. I will be back here every year. I come to Delaware for the annual Punkin Chunkin World Championship. They know me as "Sir John."

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    306
    86
    26
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Serendipity!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were on an all-expenses-paid trip, but we wanted to sneak away for dinner on our own and by sheer luck, this place was on the same street as our hotel. Sleek and modern look and casual ambiance, but with cloth napkins. Oyster season suggested our meal. My companion had an assortment of raw oysters, the provenance of each explained by the server. I had the fried oyster po' boy and fries. Extensive beer and wine choices. This was a delightful meal, served very well, in a terrific atmosphere. What more could you want?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Modern Decor, Traditional Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Fresh, fresh, fresh! That's the line on the half-shell oysters at this popular Rehoboth Beach place. We had an excellent, relaxed lunch in an airy, modern space with friendly wait staff and well-timed service.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

As a local the only problem is the line. Great people fantastic happy hour. Great beer. Oysters couldnt be any fresher. Joe and chris the owners are great guys.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We often go to Henlopen City Oyster House for happy hour, and have eaten full meals in the bar on many occasions. The bar staff at this restaurant are among the finest I've ever had the pleasure of being served by, and the food served is always top-notch. A variety of fresh oysters are always available; during the season, soft-shell crabs. The other items on the menu including lobster mac & cheese, seafood dishes, salads, and sides have always been terrific. The menu has a range of selections that should satisfy nearly everyone. The one drawback to the place is that it does not accept reservations, so be preapread to wait for a table or even space in the bar -- this restaurant is that popular. It's a high class place that isn't too very expensive; it has energy in the bar area and quiet seating at the tables. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henlopen City Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.