We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
50 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-260-9193
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Westhampton, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

It was very close to The Bellmoor where we stayed. My friend and I enjoyed this restaurant very much. The food was good and prepared beautifully.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    301
    84
    24
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Maybe our mistake in not ordering the oysters...but was underwhelmed by the food. The presentation was just OK. Vegetable side was overcooked cauliflower and broccoli. The white fish was bland. More of what you would expect from a home cooked meal rather than restaurant quality entrees priced in the $25 range. The service was excellent, I'm just not sure the A-team was in the kitchen that night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Delicious Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This local has a popular happy hour with some great deals and absolutely fresh, delicious oysters. Get there by 4 for happy hour, it fills up fast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really Fresh Oysters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Every summer we spend at least a week at Rehoboth Beach and the Henlopen City Oyster House is our top dining spot out. Relaxed and welcoming, we even bring the kids. Great service and really fresh seafood.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went on a busy night. Sat at bar. Service was good. Food was fabulous. Got the lobster Mac and Cheese. It was great.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henlopen City Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.