We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oyster Worthy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
50 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-260-9193
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Avon, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Oyster Worthy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were able to score seats at a foyer high top rather than having a lengthly wait for a table in the dining room. Good thing because getting the attention of the bartender was close to impossible in the crowded bar. That said, a roving waiter took our drink order quickly and we enjoyed iced cold beer and spicy Bloody Mary's along with a sampler of some of the best oysters ever -- clean, fresh and tasting just like the sea!! My son raved about the lobster roll. Grilled triple tail and bouiliabase entrees were very good as well. Despite the difficulty in the bar, the rest of our experience was very pleasant. I'll be dreaming of those oysters for awhile!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    298
    82
    24
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
FOREST HILLS
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Ready - set - lineup for "Happy Hour"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The lines outside this restaurant begin forming at 2.45. Happy hour is from 3-5. You want to be gentle yet firm enough to push your way through to claim some of the prized spots around the bar or along the countertops. It's as close as you can get to the Bridezillas picking wedding dresses..
Their beer selection is great, so are the small dishes like the sliders, mini burgers, Oysters at $ 1.00 a piece, steamed clams or Shrimp. We did not have a chance to have dinner as the wait for dinner is long. Highly recommended...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Always delivers the best seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We're not quite locals but visit enough to feel like we are and this is our hands down favorite restaurant in Rehoboth/Lewes, DE. The food is always super fresh and super delicious. I've never had fried clams beside the really bad frozen ones you get in a bad restaurant but they have the most delicious fried clams I ever had. The are so tender and the dipping sauce is wonderful. We also love the constantly changing selection of craft beer on draft. Also if your lucky enough to hit it, they have a 7 day a week 3 - 5 happy hour that is AWESOME!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square PA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Crowded: a tripadvisor effect?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went to this restaurant based on the Tripadvisor rating. The restaurant had an hour wait, which we tolerated. When we were finally seated, the service was spotty and we waited to be served for too long. The food was fine, but nothing special and we wondered how this restaurant was different from the identical looking restaurant down the street. In fact, after my husband paid for parking at a meter about two blocks away, he went into the wrong restaurant and then wanted to know where I was! I should have joined him there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great happy hour and terrific food...so good that the line forms early but worth the wait! If you're an oyster lover, get the Broad Water oysters...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henlopen City Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.