We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVE the Oyster House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
50 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-260-9193
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“We LOVE the Oyster House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I have a house in Rehoboth, and we go out in Rehoboth every weekend. The Oyster House has yummy drinks, a great atmosphere, and the best darn creamed corn that I have EVER had! I love the calamari and the shrimp po boy. Hands down, this is our favorite restaurant in Rehoboth!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    110
    33
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great end - or start! - to a vacation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in with my husband and four (adult) children on our last evening of vacation. No reservation policy resulted in a 90-minute wait, but was totally worth it. We sat in the bar, had some drinks and fabulous oysters. Dinner was great - the crab cakes have no filler and are just crabby goodness. Clam ceviche and tuna poke were exceptional. Service in the dining room was fantastic; bar area not so much. A definite must visit if you are looking for fresh seafood and don't mind paying for it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful meal, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I ate here with our 2 girls, age 1 and 3 while vacationing near Rehoboth. We knew they don't take reservations so we arrived right at 5 for dinner. Our goal was to have an excellent meal and avoid the meltdowns that can happen during the witching hour with our baby. We were seated right away and our server was over just as fast. We explained our situation and she took our order for oysters on the half shell, drinks, and the girls' food upon her first visit to the table. The oysters came out lightning fast. They were beautiful, clean, well- shucked ice-cold oysters on a bed of ice. The accompanying horseradish, mignonette, and cocktail sauce were house-made. Delish!! The girls' food came out shortly after. We got standard, but good chicken tenders with house made Mac n cheese and a hamburger with green beans. Surprisingly, the hamburger was the highlight of the kids food. It was very high quality ground beef, tasted like grass-fed. It was tender and well-seasoned, perfectly cooked and came with crisp lettuce and a slice of ripe red tomato, on a tasty bun. The kids ate very well here. For our entrees, I had the lobster roll with ratatouille and hubs had fried scallops on mashed plantains. The scallops were cooked to melt in your mouth perfection and the lobster roll was a classic preparation and very good. Our server was on the ball and we were in and out in about an hour without ever feeling rushed along. There are many other things on the menu that we'd like to try. We'll definitely return next time we are in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, gluten free crab cakes!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We loved this place! The menu had lots of great choices for my husband who eats gluten free, including the first gluten free crab cakes we've ever encountered in a restaurant, which were delicious! I had the blackened Texas drum fish and it was wonderful too. It was a hot day and we wished it had been just a tad cooler inside the restaurant, and the entrees were a bit pricey (in the $30 range). Even so, we would recommend this place to anyone who loves great seafood.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantstic oysters and seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Sadly they don;t take reservations, but they are very efficient in managing the wait time. The oyster were fresh and varied. The seafood was delicious. It is boisterous and full of life, and cocktails are good too. Fantastic food and great experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henlopen City Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.