We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Seafood Restaurant in Rehobeth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
50 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-260-9193
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Vienna, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Restaurant in Rehobeth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went in March, 2013 for dinner. We didn't have to contend with any crowds as Rehobeth was deserted. The seafood was the best I've had in Rehobeth in over 20 years of visiting.
Each dish is individually prepared, in a creative way. This also takes time, so be prepared to wait.
Staff very nice with excellent knowledge of the menu, wines and beer selection.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    110
    33
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
belmont bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oysters extraordinaire!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We started at their happy hour with fried oysters, steamed shrimp. And craft beers. Then proceeded to dinner with an oyster sampling, and wonderful fish dishes. What a treat, we can't wait for a repeat performance. The clientele, service, and overall ambiance was superb!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Of the THOUSANDS of oysters I've consumed, none have compared to the overall experience at Henlopen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Perfect in every way! Crowded but for an obvious reason. Try the oyster sampler and a vodka oyster shooter. Beer selection is fabulous too.
Andrew & Autumn

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenton, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Assortment of beers, wonderful seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a place I would go back to any time we're in Rehoboth Beach. Excellent selection of beers on tap and bottled, incredible raw bar and extraordinary service. We know there is always a crowd ready to descend upon this place, so we picked an in-between lunch and dinner hour to get there and it was still mostly full, but...no waiting! Had Prince Edward Island mussels, their soup of the day, clams and the delicious fries. Could have done oysters or other raw bar, but portions are great and totally satisfied with what we got. Just down the street from where we stayed, but well worth the trip even if you have to drive in from outside the town.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I found the oyster house on tripadvisor while I was spending a night in Rehobeth Beach. I went alone and was greeted by a very friendly hostess. The waitress helped recommend a beer which was awesome. The atmosphere is cozy with a lot of regulars it seems. The food was incredible. I really recommend the clam chowder. Apparently, though, the menu changes every day. I went at 5 on a Friday in March. There was a wait when I left so go early.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henlopen City Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.