We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
50 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-260-9193
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Millsboro, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I can't believe we just went for the first time this weekend. Excellent food! I got a steak, and my wife got the lobster mac and cheese. Both were amazing. It does fill up fast, and there are no reservations, so if you do check it out, either eat at an off time, or leave plenty of time to wait. There was a wait in the dead of January with snow on the ground, so I can't imagine how packed it is in summer.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    104
    32
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Restaurant in Rehoboth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We love Henlopen City, it is on our "must visit" list every time we are in town. The seafood is the freshest anywhere, the menu is updated regularly, and locally sourced when possible. The servers are polite and knowledgeable, and the venue is attractive. There can be a long wait sometimes, but the answer is to arrive early, put your name on the list and walk around for a bit. It can be a little loud at times, but that is because it is a likely place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor Seating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Like the food but poor seating... Went on a slow slow night only 1 other table. We were sat in a corner which was great for our group... Just completed a nice meal and wanted to have a couple of drinks and talk... and what did the host do sat 2 people right next to us... We could barely get out of the booth due to the people seating so close to us... the restaurant was empty... Why would you do this?... This caused us to leave... The owner was there that night and not overseeing his restaurant... Poor Service and we may not go back due to this... 5 girls night out...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It's good..but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We've gone here a few times being from the area. (I Hate the word 'locals') ..I really do like the Oysters and seafood here. The problem is..the bar. Very uncomfortable. Little half curved stools of wood with no backs. Can't sit for too long. Guess that is their reason behind them..LOL. People in, People out...We are more of a Pub couple and like a warmer atmosphere. But if you want great oysters..this is the place, just go elsewhere for a nice cocktail and some comfy conversation. We found Abbott's Grill up in Milford to fit the bill..Fresh shucked Oysters on Weekends along with Happy Hour prices for drinks and food. Also, cozy and comfortable. Outside patio and bar with outdoor fireplace for the Spring, Summer and Fall season. Worth the short jaunt up Rt. 1.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best oysters and great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

From the time you walk in and get a glass of wine from Amy or Tina chatting with Joe or Chris you know you are the right place. The oysters, WOW and my favorite the lobster mac n cheese !!
Always busy some be prepared to wait, worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henlopen City Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.