We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
50 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-260-9193
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Busy spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Lovely service. Really good food but felt the menu was limited for my son. Ideal if it was just myself and my husband

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    110
    33
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Seafood & Drinks, Reasonably Priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

My wife and I ate here twice during one week in September. Food was consistently good and fair priced (disclosure: we live near DC so we're used to paying a lot for decent seafood). We liked the overall feel and decor of the restaurant, and the servers seemed pretty knowledgeable about the food and drinks, and were able to give good suggestions. We plan to visit again the next time we are in Rehoboth!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour Bartender & Staff Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Popped in this Sunday for happy hour. Had the raw oysters (shucked there on the spot) special. $7 for half dozen. House wines just $3 a glass. The oysters were sublime, well, all the food here is! If you are a fan of Oysters this place should not be missed, and the happy hour allows you to enjoy them without breaking the bank.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Scrumptious Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Decided to have my very first oyster experience ever here. Although I was apprehensive, the oysters were super fresh and delicious. great bloody mary's and lovely atmosphere in the restaurant. A truly enjoyable dining experience

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Seafood done the right way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This a new favorite place when I come to visit Rehoboth Beach. They have a large selection of Oysters and the rest of the food is fresh farm to table. They have a great beer selection and a well thought out drink and wine selection.
I had the classic Oyster Stew and my wife has the seafood chowder, both were excellent. We both had the Mahi Mahi and were not disappointed.
There are no reservations here - first come first serve, so there might be a wait. I thought it was worth it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henlopen City Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.