We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a gem, ask about their weeknight specials” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Azafran

Cafe Azafran
18 Baltimore Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE
Update restaurant details
Ranked #11 of 219 restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This is a gem, ask about their weeknight specials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wednesday night is paella night - by reservation only in advance. Make your plans around this special!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    55
    36
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for tapas or dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I were recently treated to Azafran for our anniversary. I loved everything from the olives to my entrée which was the crab cake special. The service was excellent and overall we had a great experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Shrimp Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Made reservations for Monday evening (Shrimp Night) in mid-August. The olives are excellent! We shared the Beef Short Rib Sliders - I could have had this as my meal all to myself, the flavors were so good! We also shared the Seared Sea Scallops - though a few were still raw, so that was a disappointment. The 4 of us chose a different shrimp dish, and all were excellent. I had the Spicy Shrimp Saute and it sure had a kick, but was delish as well. Husband got the Shrimp and Chorizo Saute, also very good. Parents tried the Grilled Ginger and Lime Shrimp and the Spanish Garlic Shrimp, both excellent as well. We had the Rioja Vega Tempranillo from Spain - two bottles!! We weren't thrilled with the dessert choices but were quite full anyways! We were seated in the outdoor patio at the back, which was nice until a large, rambunctious group of adult women were brought from the bar inside to a table next to us!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Five of Us Enjoyed Tapas and Full Meals at the Bar on a Busy Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Five of us sat at the bar and dined on a busy Labor Day Friday at Cafe Azafran. We were lucky to get in as the wait was an hour.
The large plate Asiago chicken was melt in your mouth quality. It was HUGE. So was the jumbo lump crab cake large plate. Excellent tapas selections were ratatouille provincial, asparagus a la Plancha, ricotta and spinach gnocchi and a wonderfully warm wilted spinach salad. Specialty martini drinks are a nice size for $10.
It took a while for the food to arrive but we attributed that to the holiday weekend crush. Prices are moderate. The atmosphere is beach casual in an older structure on a cozy street near the boardwalk. It is next to the Clear Space theater. Cafe Azafran takes reservations - rare durning the busy beach period.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A semi-happening spot....put on your list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great clean look and menu. The back room area is the place to be unless you want the more up front and café atmosphere. Prices were all over the place…entrees high, appetizers and salads low/reasonable.

The veal sausage appetizer with white beans was very good but the overcooked sausage took away from an A on that one…white beans and slightly sweet thin base sauce were perfect base for the meaty grilled sausage flavors

Beet salad was nice…not quite enough in the beets dept. tho. And I could always do without mass produced overly candied pecans in my salad. But, nicely dressed and well presented. Spinach salad was also well done, with just enough wilt and lightly dressed

The potato mini casserole type appetizer was a delicate gem. Again, nice balance of flavors and ‘treatments’ to the main event, the well nicely baked or steamed (?) and cubed spuds.

So stop on by and get a bit of sophistication amidst the crowds.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Azafran also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Azafran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Azafran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.